• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 9, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
Parks and Recreation Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Leslie visits Washington, D.C. as Lucy Lawless, Glenne Headly and Jonathan Banks guest star on the fifth season of the comedy.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Sep 21, 2012
    100
    Parks and Recreation is a rare gem--a TV comedy that's sweet, good-hearted and even inspirational, but also completely hilarious.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 19, 2012
    91
    Parks and Rec remains funny, sharp and inventive.
  3. Reviewed by: Daniel Goldberg
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    While it's impossible not to love the competent and principled new Leslie, the character is at her funniest when she breaks from the show's easygoing pace and frenetically attempts to discharge her own anxieties by talking at the camera and protesting too much that her idealism is intact.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Parks and Recreation keeps it AMAZINGLY FUNNY! I love this TV show, it has become my favorite sitcom. It is smart, creative and, most important, funny!! Please watch this piece of art, you won't regret it! Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Parks and Recreation is one of the best comedy's on NBC, along with a great cast. Each season gets better and better. This season is gonna get some more Emmy award nominations. Collapse
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    This show has to have the funniest cast on TV. It is hilarious, heartfelt, original. In the coming seasons I hope it can keep its stride and sustain it's position as, arguably, the funniest show on television. Expand
  4. May 28, 2013
    10
    TV's funniest ensemble cast anchored by Amy Poehler and Nick Offerman delivers... SURPRISE: The best show on television. What more can you say? Unfortunately, Parks and Rec has struggled in the ratings like most NBC sitcoms. However, adding insult to injury, it has been consistently denied countless honors that were once given to and equally funny 30 Rock. Unlike 30 Rock and The Office, Parks and Recreation is still at the top of its game as it heads into its sixth season. I expect that audiences and academy members alike will finally realize that Parks and Rec is one of the best shows on TV and give it its due recognition before it says goodbye in...2091. (please.) Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    For me Park and Recreation’s Fourth Season, while still fairly funny, wasn't quite as sharp as the previous two but any thoughts that the show may be on the decline can be well a truly put to bed thanks to this superb Fifth Season. From the very first episode the employees of Pawnee’s local council had me laughing consistently and the show even found time for some genuinely emotional moments. In fact I enjoyed this season so much that I watched the entire twenty-two episode run in just three days. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    After being underwhelmed in Season one, I grew to really love this show. The characters are somewhat predictable, and most of them have certain catch-phrases or quirks, but somehow it's done in a way that is fresh and lovable. The series I feel just keeps getting better, where other shows fall, or limp on. This season has interesting relationship issues, very funny scenes and dialogue, and leaves me wanting more. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    One of the best shows on TV. I know many people gave up after the first season, but season 5 proves time and time again why it should be watched. The writing is wickedly funny and Amy Poehler consistently makes me laugh. Great show! Expand

Related Articles

  1. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  2. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  3. 2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11]

    2011 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 11] Image
    Published: December 13, 2011
    Throughout the coming weeks, we
  4. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.