• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 9, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 257 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 257

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2014
    5
    Well, you can't judge the quality of the show solely based on season one. In my opinion, the first season is bad. But the show gets better every time. Now it's one of my favorite.
  2. Nov 20, 2014
    6
    The people who brought us the U.S. version of The Office bring us this new sitcom with the hopes of achieving those same heights. While it seems they succeeded with the later seasons, this first one falls short. For one thing it basically feels way too much like The Office. Only instead of a paper company you get a political/government agency.

    The mockumentary style feels very familiar
    The people who brought us the U.S. version of The Office bring us this new sitcom with the hopes of achieving those same heights. While it seems they succeeded with the later seasons, this first one falls short. For one thing it basically feels way too much like The Office. Only instead of a paper company you get a political/government agency.

    The mockumentary style feels very familiar and main character "Leslie Knope" is basically just a female Michael Scott. None of this would be a very big deal if the show was funnier. It's not a bad first season, but it is a very disappointing one. One that doesn't provide enough laughs and feels too familiar. However there is still some entertainment to be found here. I just hope the next season is as much of an improvement as it's said to be.
    Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2014
    7
    Definitely seems inspired by The Office with the way they shoot their scenes and the constant cut away to a single character talking to the camera. That being said, As a whole it isn't bad. A few laughable moments through out, Just a fun show to watch. A little rough through out season 1 but it's only 6 episodes so it's bare-able. If you are going to give it a shot, At least sit throughDefinitely seems inspired by The Office with the way they shoot their scenes and the constant cut away to a single character talking to the camera. That being said, As a whole it isn't bad. A few laughable moments through out, Just a fun show to watch. A little rough through out season 1 but it's only 6 episodes so it's bare-able. If you are going to give it a shot, At least sit through the whole first season before deciding to give it up or not. It's really not that bad of a comedy, Just a bit rough around the edges. Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2014
    10
    This show is hilarious. It will put you in a good mood, and help to see government in a positive light (which we could use these days.) It is fun and entertaining.
  5. Aug 17, 2014
    4
    Very good ideas but terrible main character. I only heard of this show in the US and it's completely unknown elsewhere. This is the "saturday night live" effect. Somehow, actors out of "saturday night live" are supported by american critics. In my opinion, Poehler is unbearable and she is destroying the show despites the very good secondary characters. I'm already not an addict of theVery good ideas but terrible main character. I only heard of this show in the US and it's completely unknown elsewhere. This is the "saturday night live" effect. Somehow, actors out of "saturday night live" are supported by american critics. In my opinion, Poehler is unbearable and she is destroying the show despites the very good secondary characters. I'm already not an addict of the office, so I shouldn't have tried this. Expand
  6. Aug 11, 2014
    8
    This show is just as good as any other comedy on television. Amy Poehler is great in the lead role. I get a big kick out of Chris Pratt, he is probably my favorite character on the show and overall the premise is very original and funny. I'm going to check out the next season for sure!
  7. May 6, 2014
    10
    I love Parks & Rec. Amy Poehler is hilarious and lovable in her role as Leslie Knope. I ended up loving many of the P&R characters. Actually, that's what makes it unique as a sitcom. I grew really quite fond of the characters along with being very funny. I cried during some episodes, happy tears, sad tears. How many sitcoms can carry that off?

    Wow! No wonder Parks & Rec hasn't won
    I love Parks & Rec. Amy Poehler is hilarious and lovable in her role as Leslie Knope. I ended up loving many of the P&R characters. Actually, that's what makes it unique as a sitcom. I grew really quite fond of the characters along with being very funny. I cried during some episodes, happy tears, sad tears. How many sitcoms can carry that off?

    Wow! No wonder Parks & Rec hasn't won awards. The critics don't like it. Boo critics!
    Expand
  8. Apr 30, 2014
    1
    Let me guess Poehler and Offerman do a show about their comedy on drugs . is'nt what the show is about? . the show is an insult to People's addictions of drugs but adding Poehler and Offerman just made it worst by their dumb comedy . They can not make thier hometown any better with their dumb ass comedy ?
  9. Apr 27, 2014
    5
    Taking into consideration the short, dorky first season, Parks and Recreation is a dumber, toned down version of The Office. Amy Poehler on the lead tries everything she can but in the end, the result is a mixed bag of childish jokes, political innuendo that comes out rather flat and an extremely short range of characters that have lots of screen time but little background knowledge.
    The
    Taking into consideration the short, dorky first season, Parks and Recreation is a dumber, toned down version of The Office. Amy Poehler on the lead tries everything she can but in the end, the result is a mixed bag of childish jokes, political innuendo that comes out rather flat and an extremely short range of characters that have lots of screen time but little background knowledge.
    The first season is not entirely bad. The pilot, unfortunately, gives a bad first impression. Is silly, way too mild, with no sharp Poehler humour to be found. Chapter 2 is also something of an abomination. Then the show starts to picks up, finding more love in the characters and taking advantage of the Mockumentary formula. It is a skippable season, due to length and quality, and to say its the worst of the 6 its an undeniable truth.
    Expand
  10. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    Cannot get enough of this show! Finally, a sitcom on TV where all the jokes are not about people being mean to each other. Great diverse cast. Keep in coming!
  11. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    This show is depressing to watch in bulk after 5 seasons. The first three seasons are great and easily the best American comedy, along with The Office, since Arrested Development was cancelled because of the low IQs of US TV watchers. But then season 4 and 5 are partly average and partly unwatchable porn gossip, with the until then interesting lead character being reduced to perving overThis show is depressing to watch in bulk after 5 seasons. The first three seasons are great and easily the best American comedy, along with The Office, since Arrested Development was cancelled because of the low IQs of US TV watchers. But then season 4 and 5 are partly average and partly unwatchable porn gossip, with the until then interesting lead character being reduced to perving over her stick insect boyfriend`s butt constantly. The funny part of the show was that Leslie Knope was utterly delusional but somehow managed to cram her delusions down people`s throats with her relentless optimism. The counterpoint to her anti government boss was perfect and produced almost all the comedy this show managed to generate. But when the pathetic script writers started turning her into a success, thereby confirming her delusions, they killed the heart of the show in a similar way that fat Chandler dating dull Monica did to Friends. And it didn`t help much that Ron Swanson had his character destroyed at the same time, leaving an otherwise uninteresting cast of unfunny people doing cheap sex gags to pick up the slack. This is not a comedy after season 4. Why anybody would think it is comedy I have no idea. The same kinds of people who laughed at dwarf tossing in the Middle Ages I guess, and to me all I can think of by way of comparison is the guy watching Ow My Balls! in Idiocracy all day long.

    The second problem seems to be that political satire is apparently banned in the USA, or perhaps Americans are just too sanctimonious about their government to get it. Either way what careful doses of it there were on this show get replaced with more and more crude propaganda in the fourth and fifth seasons; Elections aren`t rigged, bought out and controlled at all in P&R which they most certainly are in real life, taxes are good and not at all funneled into the endless pit of the Federal Reserve and local politicians make decisions as opposed to rubber stamping federal and UN "legislation". If a comedy show can`t tackle this satirically, and instead rah rahs about how wonderful Obama and Hitlery Clinton are, it needs to avoid the topics altogether. But P&R did not and destroyed itself in the process. Season 5 might as well have been written by John McCain or some other Washington parasite. Indeed the ghastly McCain even makes an appearance in season 5, setting his stamp of death and decay on this ruined "comedy" show. If any poor Americans want an example of what real political satire looks like I recommend either the old BBC show Yes Minister or the movie Brazil.

    I would advise people to get the three first seasons of Parks and Recreation and then pretend it got cancelled, which in some ways it did since it`s not much of a comedy after this point. Seasons 1-3 I would rate a 9, season 4 a 5 and season 5 a 1. Watching beyond this point seems highly pointless.
    Expand
  12. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    My favorite comedy sitcom. I love all the characters and every week I smile after watching an episode. Looking forward to the new season and more Bert Macklin.
  13. Jul 17, 2013
    4
    Parks and Recreation used Season one as a way to establish how the characters will be they also needed time to find their voice, but did quite the opposite. The show wasn't trying at all to be unique, in fact, it was too similar to The Office. They need more time to hone their voice.
  14. May 26, 2013
    6
    Parks and Recreation was created by a number of the people behind the US version of the office. Anyone that has seen the US Office, or the British version for that matter, will be immediately familiar with the shows ‘mockumentary’ style presentation. On this occasion however the focus is on the Parks and Recreation department of local government and Leslie Knope (Amy Poehler) inParks and Recreation was created by a number of the people behind the US version of the office. Anyone that has seen the US Office, or the British version for that matter, will be immediately familiar with the shows ‘mockumentary’ style presentation. On this occasion however the focus is on the Parks and Recreation department of local government and Leslie Knope (Amy Poehler) in particular. Poehler is certainly the star of the show and it is impossible not to feel sympathy for the ever optimistic Knope as despite her best intentions things never quite seem to go her way and her character certainly went a long way to drawing me into the show.

    Fortunately, for the most part anyway, it is also fairly funny. Seeing as this first season is only six episodes long it is difficult to judge just how funny it will become, as all sit-coms need time to allow audiences to understand the characters, but it certainly has potential and I am very much looking forward to watching the full twenty-two episode second season.
    Expand
  15. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    This review and gangster squad review confirm critics know nothing about anything. This is the best show on TV, you need to watch a couples of episodes before you really appreciate it. Who cares if it's "the same" as the office? And its not!
  16. Oct 19, 2012
    5
    I used to love this show when it came out all through the last season. It was funny and campy and it had a very small-town feel to it. It was just about a woman trying to make a difference in her community.

    Sadly, the show in the currently running season, has turned into a game of partisan politics. It's essentially about mercilessly savaging strawmen of one side of American politics. I
    I used to love this show when it came out all through the last season. It was funny and campy and it had a very small-town feel to it. It was just about a woman trying to make a difference in her community.

    Sadly, the show in the currently running season, has turned into a game of partisan politics. It's essentially about mercilessly savaging strawmen of one side of American politics. I am sure that if you have a brain between your ears you can figure out which side of the political spectrum this show is assailing.

    It was still mildly funny at first, but after a while this became the central theme of the show. It's very much about 'wow look at how stupid and domineering and vile this side is!' and is turning into a real circle-jerk where certain types of people are going to watch is and get giddy that their political beliefs are (yet again) reflected so accurately on the big screen.

    Shame to see this happen to a genuinely good show.
    Expand
  17. Jul 3, 2012
    7
    The first season of Parks and Rec. doesn't make justice to the tv show. After season one, the other four season are HILARIOUS, best sitcom I have seen for a long time. If you start seeing this tv show don't give up one the first season, because the other seasons are a masterpiece
  18. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This show is amazing. Beyond amazing. This show is the best comedy on television. Bow down to the queen, and for once, I don't mean Tina Fey. Amy Poehler kills it. The supporting cast kills it. Ron Swanson might be the best supporting character on television. Every week this show is solid. I hope it goes on forever. I want to grow old with this show.
  19. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    My wife and I started the show early on. I quit for awhile but the current material is so much better. The quirky ongoing inside jokes such as 'little sebastian' the horse, Ron Swanson's ex wife Tammy 2 and Ron's fear of the Government make she show very funny for followers. The dark humor of April is a special jewel for the show. Definitely check this out.
  20. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is simple one of the best show i ever watch! Every character is so well done. I think a lot of people is judging the show just for the first season. But the beauty of this show is that every season gets better and better! 10 / 10 !
  21. Nov 1, 2011
    1
    How can this even be classed as comedy? Clearly a cheap rip-off of The Office (as with nearly all 'mockumentary' shows). I can understand the premise behind it but if people were actually this inept at what is supposedly their job they wouldn't work for more than a week at best in any job. I can't watch a full episode, it's just cringe-worthy stuff
  22. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    A comparison with The Office is completely understandable since both shows are filmed in a similar way. Amy Poehler is a comedic genius surrounded by a cast that definitely know their art and know how to be supporting actors. I can understand that this type of humour is not for everyone but I can honestly say that this show is one that keeps you coming back and has you asking for more.
  23. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    Next to Bored To Death, this might be the funniest show on television. Nearly every character is a riot, and the writing keeps getting better and better.
  24. May 22, 2011
    10
    I started out watching this show thinking it was an Office rip-off, and in the first few episodes it definitely feels like that. I mean, many of the people who worked for The Office migrated to this show, and it's got the same talking head format. So of course I made that immediate comparison, which turned me off to it initially. But the places they have taken all of the characters, andI started out watching this show thinking it was an Office rip-off, and in the first few episodes it definitely feels like that. I mean, many of the people who worked for The Office migrated to this show, and it's got the same talking head format. So of course I made that immediate comparison, which turned me off to it initially. But the places they have taken all of the characters, and the stories they've woven around them are just fantastic, engrossing and entertaining. After a while you feel like these people are your good friends and you're peeking in on drama in their lives. That's how it was with The Office at first, but ever since about the end of the 4th season it all started feeling really contrived and I stopped caring about the characters, and they haven't been developing them with the kind of depth that they are developing the characters in Parks and Rec. I love everyone in this cast! Ron and April really stand out to me. Also, while we're making Office/Parks comparisons, one thing that stands out about Parks is that they don't focus on just one central character like in The Office with Michael. I mean, Leslie is the central character but she does not dominate like Michael does. It really feels like an ensemble cast, rather than a lead actor and supporting actors. SO! If you were put off by the first few episodes, or even just the first season, give it another chance, you will NOT regret it. Expand
  25. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    'Kay, here's the deal: if you like intelligent comedy featuring more than two female characters who *gasp* don't exist solely to provide naked scenery, you will probably love Parks and Rec. If you want something more Married With Children, go watch Married With Children.
  26. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely love this show. It is always so funny and I love the cast. Amy Poehler is so cute and hilarious. The show is always fun and is great on the NBC Thursday night lineup. I hope we continue to see this show on for along time to come.
  27. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Liked it immediately. The cast is well-chosen and the comedy they present to the viewer is maybe something of an acquired taste for some (considering the negative reviews), but still, to me it's very funny in its own left-field way. The Ron Swanson character is a future cult-classic. Other favourite series (for reference): Arrested Development, Community, Curb Your Enthousiasm, Louie, 30Rock, ...
  28. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    Parks and Rec is incredibly well-written, acted, and produced. It is hilarious. The characters are great, and the actors that play them our outstanding. I'm so glad NBC brought this show back.
  29. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Parks and rec is vastly superior to the office in every way. This show is absolute perfection and comedic genius. You really must give it a chance, and if you are a fan of TV which i know you are, you will do yourself a favor and watch this. Great acting, writing and just plain hilarious this show has everything going for it.
  30. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    This show really hits its stride later on. I suggest starting with Season 2, then watching Season 1. It's impossible to not draw comparisons to The Office since they're practically identical in format and share writers, but the formula works as beautifully in a public works setting as it did inside a stuffy office. Each of the characters in this ensemble cast are funny and unique; RonThis show really hits its stride later on. I suggest starting with Season 2, then watching Season 1. It's impossible to not draw comparisons to The Office since they're practically identical in format and share writers, but the formula works as beautifully in a public works setting as it did inside a stuffy office. Each of the characters in this ensemble cast are funny and unique; Ron Swanson and April Ludgate possibly being the funniest of the bunch. Watch this show! Expand
  31. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    The very short first season was a disappointment. With the creators of The Office and the comedic talent in front of the camera, it simply did not live up to its pedigree. That being said, I was rooting for the show throughout the season, and there were certainly glimmers of hope and was worth watching. The episodes were very inconsistent, but Amy Poehler can make anything worth watching.
  32. nbc
    Aug 17, 2010
    10
    Parks and Recreation has soared above and beyond The Office creatively and comically wise. Amy Poehler is perfection as Leslie Knope and Aubrey Plaza is a scene stealer as April Ludgate. If you didn't like it at first, check it out once more. It has improved tremendously. You have to watch this show!
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    50
    Series creators Greg Daniels and Michael Schur provide the show with moments of dry wit, and Poehler certainly has acting oblivious down to a wide-eyed science. Yet there's no escaping that this feels like "Office Lite," thrown together as a vehicle for the star rather than out of any grand inspiration.
  2. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    63
    All in all, it might be worth sticking with Parks and Recreation, because there are lots of funny little moments that could add up to a great series.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    75
    While I laughed out loud only a few times during Parks' pilot, I dug the performances, the attitude, and the atmosphere that's being created.