• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 26
  2. Negative: 11 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 24, 2012
    30
    This celebration of friendship feels so sour and joyless.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 24, 2012
    30
    This buddy sitcom feels contrived, derivative (instead of Megan Mullally, we get a stereotyped sassy and buxom Latina secretary) and sadly lacking in essential chemistry.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Abernethy
    Sep 24, 2012
    30
    It isn't just the concept that's unoriginal, but also the scripting. The show has an abundance of jokes, but few elicit more than a grin.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 24, 2012
    30
    I'd have expected that show, groundbreaking in 1998, would have paved the way by 2012 for a far smarter series than Partners.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 24, 2012
    25
    The show around Louis is filled with a lot of creaky set-up/punchline humor, much of it based around forced double entendres.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 24, 2012
    25
    The problem with Partners, as you'll discover if you watch the first two episodes, is that they already made that show years ago and it was called "Will & Grace."
  7. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Sep 28, 2012
    20
    The creators can be held responsible for enlarging the quantity of execrably written works on this theme [gay-themed sitcoms].
  8. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 17, 2012
    20
    CBS programs generally display a level of basic competence that this "comedy" falls woefully short of.
  9. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Partners plays like an idea written on a napkin, if that, and looks like it's from another era (a long past era, if that wasn't clear).
  10. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 24, 2012
    10
    Partners is witless, predictable and much closer to creepy than funny.
  11. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Sep 21, 2012
    0
    The plastic "punch lines" grow more contrived. The tired stereotypes feel more offensive.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    it's hard to judge a show on how well or smartly written it is in just 22 minutes. The reviews of this show has been poor but I hope that this show picks up because Michael Urie is a comic genius and the rest of the cast on the show is coming together very beautifully. I admit the first episode was a bit dry but after a couple of weeks, the beauty of the writing and creators of Will & Grace is coming out on this show as well. I'm hoping the network gives this show a chance to grow and build its fan base because it has the potential to be great. Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    I loved this show! So sweet and really funny. I also saw the second episode which was even better than the pilot. Much better than the crass crap on after it. I'm gonna give this a shot for awhile. I have a feeling this is going to be the next Will and Grace. Full Review »
  3. Oct 1, 2012
    8
    This is a great show. Although the story might not be as original as it seems, the characters and the dynamic are well built. I particularly think it would do better throughout his first chapters. Great hopes for this series! Full Review »