• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Partners (2012) Image
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Best friends Joe (David Krumholtz) and Louis (Michael Urie) work at the same architecture firm and help each other with relationship issues with their respective partners, Ali (Sophia Bush) and Wyatt (Brandon Routh) in this comedy from the creators of "Will & Grace."
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 26
  2. Negative: 11 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 19, 2012
    67
    Urie's mostly a hoot, with his inflections infectious and his comedy timing a thing of beauty. Krumholtz offers sturdy enough support, but his co-star does most of the heavy lifting.
  2. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Sep 21, 2012
    58
    Michael Urie elevates the show out of mediocrity with his comedic power. [28 Sep 2012, p.63]
  3. 50
    With its stock supporting characters (Ali and Wyatt are attractive blanks) and its lame central contrivance, this is not a great pilot, but it's far from an awful one.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 24, 2012
    40
    The stubbornly conventional scripts, the overfamiliar characters, and the old-fashioned, machine-gun comic timing undermine any possibility of freshness.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 24, 2012
    30
    This buddy sitcom feels contrived, derivative (instead of Megan Mullally, we get a stereotyped sassy and buxom Latina secretary) and sadly lacking in essential chemistry.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 24, 2012
    25
    The show around Louis is filled with a lot of creaky set-up/punchline humor, much of it based around forced double entendres.
  7. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Sep 21, 2012
    0
    The plastic "punch lines" grow more contrived. The tired stereotypes feel more offensive.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    I don't care what the critics or other people are saying, Partners (sadly) was the funniest new comedy on TV last year! Michael Urie mightI don't care what the critics or other people are saying, Partners (sadly) was the funniest new comedy on TV last year! Michael Urie might exaggerate things here and there, but the whole dynamic of the show is just working at its best. I can't even believe that people think the show is bad because the critics say so. Shame on CBS for cancelling the show! Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    I loved this show! So sweet and really funny. I also saw the second episode which was even better than the pilot. Much better than theI loved this show! So sweet and really funny. I also saw the second episode which was even better than the pilot. Much better than the crass crap on after it. I'm gonna give this a shot for awhile. I have a feeling this is going to be the next Will and Grace. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    it's hard to judge a show on how well or smartly written it is in just 22 minutes. The reviews of this show has been poor but I hope that thisit's hard to judge a show on how well or smartly written it is in just 22 minutes. The reviews of this show has been poor but I hope that this show picks up because Michael Urie is a comic genius and the rest of the cast on the show is coming together very beautifully. I admit the first episode was a bit dry but after a couple of weeks, the beauty of the writing and creators of Will & Grace is coming out on this show as well. I'm hoping the network gives this show a chance to grow and build its fan base because it has the potential to be great. Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    From the moment I laid eyes upon this sitcom, I couldn't help but think to myself, "Man, this tries so hard to be like 'Will & Grace'!" andFrom the moment I laid eyes upon this sitcom, I couldn't help but think to myself, "Man, this tries so hard to be like 'Will & Grace'!" and guess what? I WAS RIGHT!

    Look, we all admit that we loved kitsch stereotype humor when being gay and on television was a career ending thing, but was our little guilty pleasure because everyone just loves an underdog, and no one does underdog better than a flamboyant, gay character.

    I agree that Michael Urie is comedic genius whose portrayal as a gay man all but validates me as a gay man, but I didn't read a single review and I too thought "Wow, there is just no chemistry between the gay characters (Wyatt's Brandon Routh...and who didn't LOVE the Superman/Clark Kent reference in Episode 2? It's just too bad Brandon bases Wyatt on Christopher Reeve's Clark Kent...pretty sad when you think about it) and when the straight characters have to work at chemistry....well that says it, doesn't it?

    At least in "Will & Grace", Grace had a crush on Will, who is gay, and what **** hasn't crushed on her best gay pal? And really...does EVERY gay themed sitcom HAVE to have the Sklar Brothers?

    This show preys upon the most annoying gay, straight, and Jewish stereitypes (again...the Sklar Brothers...need I say more?). I mean really? Schmekle (penis)? This show needs to find its individuality fast, or it will be just another bad sketch-comedy-that-would-have-worked-better-as-a-stage-play that finds itself on the cancellation list.
    Expand
  5. Sep 25, 2012
    4
    It's charming on the outside, but you see that charm become irritating on the inside.
    The latest tv show by once acclaimed writers& creators
    It's charming on the outside, but you see that charm become irritating on the inside.
    The latest tv show by once acclaimed writers& creators David Kohan and Max Mutchnick tries so hard to live up to a show that was royalty years ago - Will & Grace. The thing that's possibly most insulting in this pilot is how these two writers try to put into one of the main characters "Louis" so many attributes that BELONGED to characters of Will &Grace - Will's consistent control over every situation, and his need to show off and embellish his boyfriend; Jacks quirky comebacks, including lines that were used on W&G, This characters relation with his secretary overly similar to Jack's and Karen, and Graces constant need to attract attention to herself. All of these are tightly contained into one big, over-the-top irritating character.
    The writers try so hard to make the relationship between these protagonist cute and fun, but it turns out to be overacted by both actors, and just seems to have 'fake' spread all around it.
    Expand
  6. JBM
    Oct 19, 2012
    4
    David Krumholtz alone is holding the audiance for this show. For a show to be successful, the characters have be likeable. Krumholtz is butDavid Krumholtz alone is holding the audiance for this show. For a show to be successful, the characters have be likeable. Krumholtz is but that is about it. He is the only one on the cast that seems at ease with actually acting. The first episodes so far have the rest of the cast mugging and shouting their lines. The obnoxious laugh track and end of scene clapping only makes it harder to give this mess a chance. This show might be fixable because the dialog is cleverly written at times. But they have to calm this train wreck down and quit being a gay pride parade only. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    0
    First of all, I really like David Krumholtz, that's why I checked out the show in the first place, but I barely managed to make it through oneFirst of all, I really like David Krumholtz, that's why I checked out the show in the first place, but I barely managed to make it through one and a half episodes of it. To make it short: This is one unfunny show. I didn't laugh once.
    There is one question that's bothering me: Who green-lit this? It's just mind boggling.
    Krumholtz may be a good actor but he's no comedian, so why cast him for a lead role in a sitcom?
    Michael Urie is doing a pretty stereotyped and slightly annoying version of a gay guy and his attempts at making his character "flamboyant" mostly look like overacting.
    At least the laugh track is not too terrible but most of the times I heard the laughter I asked myself who would find those lines funny?
    The other characters in the show are forgettable. And we know that Krumholtz's character is engaged to a woman he doesn't love. He even wanted to break up with her but got weak and actually proposed (!!) to her instead. That's one depressing setup for a sitcom.
    Don't waste your time on this show, it's going to be cancelled anyway. Why Krumholtz took that role escapes me. If it's just because of the paycheck, I wonder what he blows all his money for.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews