• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 20, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Party Down Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Starz comedy explores the lives of six waiters working for a catering company in Los Angeles.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 88
    There is bitterness aplenty, but Party Down didn’t create these characters simply to mock them. There is also bittersweet sadness lurking behind these droll, incisive portraits of failure and self-deception.
  2. 80
    All of the characters are misfits, and the pleasure of Party Down is watching the actors riff off one another as they go to extremes.
  3. It is a smart, affable, mostly unpredictable ensemble comedy that reminds us that in the 500-channel universe, fine things can happen in unlikely places, as long as you are clever about budget, commit to a sensible number of episodes--in this case 10--write well and cast right, and that what matters ultimately to heaven is not the eminence of the venue but the quality of the work.
  4. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    70
    Party Down’s satirical aim is unsteady, and the second episode (featuring Young Republicans) is so dated it’s practically unwatchable. But there’s sharp dialogue and insight into the nature of snuffed ambition.
  5. The warning bell is that since the team begins as caricatures, the show could become a string of situation jokes. There's room for growth, though, as they say, and the creators wisely mixed up the cast.
  6. Tone--and we're talking cringe humor here--only takes you so far, and those looking for "Mars"-like subtlety should look elsewhere. But those who miss Veronica and company might want to tune in for the reunions alone.
  7. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    40
    There's no shortage of comedy with a semi-improvised flair trafficking in detached irony, but by the end of three catered affairs, I felt every bit as bored and blase about life as Henry.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love Party Down. This show is so hilarious and I love the cast. The cast has great chemistry and are likable and fun. This show always keeps me laughing. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    Excellent overlooked comedy series that should have been more successful. Witty, dry humor, and great actors. Not for everyone though, lots of mature content.
    "Are we having fun yet?"
    Collapse
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    I seem to have a 'thing' for cancelled comedies and it astounds me that some managed to pass me by - thankfully I took a gamble on a recommendation from a site that said 'if you like this, you'll probably like this'. Two perfect seasons. Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    Love this show. Straddles the line between absurdism and reality pretty well, although the focal romance is more than a bit cliche, as well as unnecessary in my opinion. Too often Ron is swapped from being human to strictly a caricature, with mixed results, but all the other characters stay just grounded enough to be believable. Excellent cast and cameos, and think the venues were all quite interesting. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    An overlooked comedy. Too quirky and too unafraid of showing adult content to be a mainstream hit, it has established a cult following with its spectacular cast, cool premise, and creative writing. 8.3/10 Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    A solid season with great turns from Jane Lynch, Adam Scott, and Lizzy Caplan, but the show suffered a little from clear budgetary restraints and inconsistency, making it simply a very good comedy, not a great one. Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    5
    This show has very intricate and intriguing story of the week that doesn't focus on the main characters. The stories that do are just bad but I have to admit not too bad the thing I can't get over is how bumbling, self-centered, and whiny these characters are. I can't believe the creators of this show expect us to feel sorry for these people for not making it in the media. These people are good looking and one is even Jewish and they expect us to believe these people have it really tough gaining success in the media and if they do then boo hoo hoo who gives a **** there are plenty of people who have it tougher than these people from minority races, to elderly people, to gay people, and average looking people. I can't give a bleeding **** for these whiny losers who cry over the fact they didn't make it there are thousands of people who don't make it my advice is get over it!!! This show if it wants to stop being mediocre and start being great should focus less on the main characters I didn't become famous sob story to the great comedic storylines each week that comes due to the catering business these people work for. If it wasn't for Ken Marino's character Ron Donald for being the everyman that just wants to make something of themselves and the acting of not just Ken Marino but also Adam Scott, Jane Lynch, and Jennifer Coolidge I would've never even given this show a 5. Although Adam's acting is GREAT his character's story is just plain bad. But I have to say the truly horrible part of this show is the acting of Lizzy Caplan and Martin Starr and their characters along with Ryan Hansen's character. Although for Ryan Hansen I have to say his acting wasn't bad thou he wasn't bad but he wasn't good either he was just mediocre in this but when it comes to Veronica Mars he was PLAIN AWESOME!!! and in Friends with Benefits he's also surprisingly Fantastic!!! I now in one final say I **** HATE LIZZY CAPLAN AND HER CHARACTER PLUS MARTIN STARR'S CHARACTER SHOULD JUST **** STICK A SOCK IN IT OR I'LL PUNCH THE **** OUT OF HIM!!!â Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.