• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 4, 2006
  • Season #: 1
Pepper Dennis Image
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 105 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 12 out of 21
  1. 75
    As a whole, the show is as cute and easy to like as its star, and that's saying something.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    60
    Think "Ally McCouric" in a bubbly slapstick trifle that plays like David E. Kelley lite: less offensive, also less original.
  3. Romijn can't be blamed for the misfire... No, one must blame the rush this unimaginative series is in. [7 Apr 2006, p.52]
  4. 38
    The show is just as bad as several other recent WB shows (Modern Men, The Bedford Diaries), neither cartoonish enough nor realistic enough to register as anything more than a conceptual shell with a handful of dried peas rattling inside. [24 Apr 2006, p.39]
  5. Next week's episode comes across a lot like the part of the porn script that begs for the fast-forward button. Seriously, it's all there -- beautiful women in tight outfits, thick innuendo, weak setups and thin plot progression.
  6. 30
    One view of the skyline against Lake Michigan is breathtaking. It's kind of a bad sign when you wish there were more scenery in a show and fewer scenes with characters and dialogue and stuff like that.
  7. 10
    The WB is lying when it boasts that Pepper Dennis signifies a new television life form, the one-hour comedy. Boring, yes; witless, definitely; trashy, oh my God yes. Comedy? Dream on, guys.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 5 out of 86
  1. EllieB
    May 3, 2006
    10
    Dispite bad critic reviews, this show has me rolling in laughter. I think the acting is wonderful and the script is entertaining as well. It Dispite bad critic reviews, this show has me rolling in laughter. I think the acting is wonderful and the script is entertaining as well. It gives you a bit of everything comedy romance drama and even a little adventure. I can see the show getting better and better. Expand
  2. KavinT
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    the best show of the year, the one that people couldn't stop watching.
  3. KatH
    Jul 25, 2009
    10
    I absolutely loved this show and am still mourning the loss. I have also boycotted the CW and will continue to do so. even if it came back I absolutely loved this show and am still mourning the loss. I have also boycotted the CW and will continue to do so. even if it came back now there would still be a fan base. Expand
  4. AbbyM
    May 30, 2006
    10
    I watch the show religiously and find it very amusing. The idea of Rebecca Romijn in a comedy took some getting used to but once you do it is I watch the show religiously and find it very amusing. The idea of Rebecca Romijn in a comedy took some getting used to but once you do it is great! I think this show appeals more to women and unfortunately all the critics quoted are guys who cant accept Rebecca Romijn's fall from 'femme fatale' dom. Expand
  5. RosemaryW
    Jul 18, 2006
    10
    This show is so awesome! It is really funny and pepper and charlie are really cute together.
  6. JamieH
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    I loved this show. I can't believe they cancelled it! It was a great laugh, and so incredibly real life- don't we all have such I loved this show. I can't believe they cancelled it! It was a great laugh, and so incredibly real life- don't we all have such stupid moments, and do such dumb things? Expand
  7. RJVommit
    Apr 26, 2006
    1
    The absolutely ONLY reason I gave any points at all is because Rebecca is hot & I enjoy looking at her as well as some of the other women. The absolutely ONLY reason I gave any points at all is because Rebecca is hot & I enjoy looking at her as well as some of the other women. That being said, I have to hit the mute button so the dialogue doesn't obliterate this show's only positive attribute. Jenny McCarthy didn't do herself any favors by successfully waging war on her looks with stupid humor and being generally disgusting - neither does Rebecca Romijn. Bottom line, it sucks - and it sucks badly... Expand

See all 86 User Reviews