• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 20, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Perfect Couples Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Julia (Christine Woods) and Dave (Kyle Bornheimer) are the stable couple of the three couples in this NBC comedy. Dave's best friend Vance (David Walton) is on and off with Amy (Mary Elizabeth Ellis); and Leigh (Olivia Munn) and Rex (Hayes MacArthur) believe they know everything about relationships.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Health & Lifestyle
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Jan 19, 2011
    75
    Perfect Couples is almost there; "Better With You" is almost there. Maybe if the shows conjoined, the chemistry would be right.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Jan 4, 2011
    60
    While the show is clearly still finding its footing, there looks to be enough raw material there to make Perfect Couples, if not an instantly vital cog in NBC's Thursday comedy lineup, at least a reason to stay put between "Community" and "The Office."
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 24, 2011
    50
    It's well cast but conceptually unadventurous. [31 Jan 2011, p.39]
  4. Reviewed by: Archana Ram
    Jan 18, 2011
    42
    Between the formulaic nature of the show, the totally exaggerated characters, and the forgettable, mediocre one-liners, we're struggling to find many laughs.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 19, 2011
    40
    The three couples featured on Perfect Couples take on predictable lifestyle issues such as mancaves and game night with all the spark of a wet matchbook.
  6. Reviewed by: Kris King
    Jan 20, 2011
    38
    The series has a decent cast, a solid premise, and it's in the middle of the best block of comedy on television; how, then, did the show turn out to be so woefully bland?
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 20, 2011
    0
    Unfocused, unfunny and all together unbearable, Perfect Couples at least affords NBC a chance to hit rock bottom before the new owners begin their massive cleanup effort.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    Love this show! I don't know if I would say all of it's plot lines are original , but we see recycled plot lines all the time in the sitcom world. So when plot lines give you deja-vu, you have to rely on how likable the characters are and the actors portraying them. Perfect Couples is perfect in this sense. The characters/actors make it all worth watching. I haven't been this bummed about a show that (may or may not) be canceled since Better Off Ted. It's a shame because of all the other new couples shows out right now (Traffic Light, Mad Love etc), can't hold a candle to the Perfect Couple cast. Well, Judy Greer is the only good thing about Mad Love. Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    It's DEFINITELY worth a watch and this show seems to be gaining a lot of momentum among my friends. The casting was done extremely well and just watching the characters facial expressions and interaction with one another is quite amusing. This seems like another 'Arrested Development' case where the severe lack of advertisement will get this wonderful show cancelled. Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    My husband and I love this show. The characters are hilarious and play off of each other so well! It did not take us long to catch on to the personality types and even relate them to people we know. This show is easy for us to catch when we can and still appreciate it. We do not always have Thursday nights free but when we do this is the show we watch to unwind and kick off Friday. Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2011
    7
    I tend to judge sitcoms by the writing. Is it funny? Is it clever? Admittedly this genre has been done to death but it made me laugh so...... . It's also nice to see Kyle Bornheimer back after the unfortunate cancellation of Worst Week. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2011
    7
    Perfect Couples offers laughable insight into the fairly mundane issues that middle-class (and mostly white) Americans wake up and fall asleep to everyday. It could benefit from a bit more diversity and is still finding the right balance between absurdity and realistic situational humor, but all told these half hour installments are fresh and enjoyable. There are some original characters written here, most notably a former college lacrosse athlete working as a struggling luxury car salesman and his Vietnamese wedding planner perfectionist wife, who stand in stark contrast to the appropriately mundane "everyman" couple and the goofy and harebrained couple. Despite varying levels of material to work with, all six actors handle their part nicely. All told, this show channels Griswald-era National Lampoon stylings while breaking free from the recent mockumentary mold framing contemporary primetime comedy. Worth a watch! Expand
  6. Feb 18, 2011
    7
    The premise sucks, we have seen this a thousand times before, but there is something about the cast especially Olivia Munn's character and the goofy guy with the blond chick that make this show watchable and even funny at times. The pilot sucked, so don't be afraid to start with the second episode. Expand
  7. JMT
    Jan 28, 2011
    0
    I was initially excited when I heard about the new NBC comedy, Perfect Couples. I thought the premise was intriguing and had potential for some funny situational humor. How blatantly wrong I was...! This show is absolutely horrible. Olivia Munn has quite a buzz around her right now, and she is very funny on her Daily Show appearances, however in Perfect Couples she is shooting herself in the foot regarding career advancement. She is capable of so much better work than to be affiliated with such a lame attempt at comedy. NBC is suffering, and Perfect Couples continues that overall trend for the network. I've watched the first two episodes and cannot recall laughing more than once, and that was a bit of a stretch. The show is so over-the-top and exaggerated that they destroy any chance it has at being funny. The idea behind the show had merit, but NBC and the writers managed to turn it into simply a ridiculous, unreal, farce of a storyline that I predict has no chance of survival. I don't think they could salvage it at this point, because for myself and many others it's just not likely we can force ourselves to watch another minute of it. Comedy is supposed to be an exaggeration of real life, but this show goes so far beyond that it leaves you feeling uncomfortable even trying to imagine such stupid people walking amongst us. I would honestly rate the writing and creativity to be on par with the now pathetic SNL, which clearly has lost its way in recent years. Perfect Couples is a perfect example of what NBC should want to avoid becoming. It's much more the type of show you'd expect to see on The WB, or CW, or whatever other amateur network you can think of... Fail!â Expand

See all 10 User Reviews