• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 351 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 351

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Fantastic show. There is a lot of action. The characters are also well developed. If you like 24 then this show is great for you. If you like shows with action then this is a must watch.
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Great Show! Now let's rate the critic:

    Slant Magazine
    Aaron Riccio; is a r-tard!!!!! He has not even watched an episode with a review like his.

    Wow, look at the title of his magazine - Slant? looks like he is paid to write with a slant in favor of the ones paying. Gotcha!
  3. CRL
    Oct 23, 2011
    10
    Person of Interest has gotten consistently better every week, so much so that I think it deserves a 10. Michael Emerson is amazing as the software genius Finch, and though I originally thought Jim Caviezel was seriously underacting in his role, now I realize he's just playing Reese (his character) the way Reese is meant to be played: dark, brooding, and with some insane fighting skills.Person of Interest has gotten consistently better every week, so much so that I think it deserves a 10. Michael Emerson is amazing as the software genius Finch, and though I originally thought Jim Caviezel was seriously underacting in his role, now I realize he's just playing Reese (his character) the way Reese is meant to be played: dark, brooding, and with some insane fighting skills. Even the cops have gotten a bit larger in their roles, and the character development has been stellar. This is easily the best new show of the year, and I hope CBS keeps this one going for a long time. Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Great new show! Good acting, characters and plot. Might make some paranoid about "Big Brother" watching them, but it's a realistic twist on the invasion of privacy program started by the NSA after Bush okayed spying on everyone.
  5. Jan 12, 2015
    10
    A very, very, very good show! The acting is spot on and credible. The plot has many underlying stories which keeps it interesting. I'm hoping this series sticks around for a very long time.
  6. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    I Absolutely Love this new CBS serries it has everything going for it, Suspense, alot of action great plots for each episode, my question is why somebody wouldn't like it lol I Love it and keep it coming .
  7. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    The best new show on TV and there's many reasons why. First, the two lead actor are great alone but even better as an acting duo. They play off each other well and the supporting cast stands up well against them. The action is the best I've seen since Human Target and maybe even better. The first episode was written by Jonathon Nolan, brother of Christopher Nolan, and it was really good.The best new show on TV and there's many reasons why. First, the two lead actor are great alone but even better as an acting duo. They play off each other well and the supporting cast stands up well against them. The action is the best I've seen since Human Target and maybe even better. The first episode was written by Jonathon Nolan, brother of Christopher Nolan, and it was really good. I'm not sure who wrote the second, but it was just as good. I do hope the series continues as it is a real enjoyment to watch. Expand
  8. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    I loved this show. I find it entertaining and intelligent. The acting is excellent and awesome casting. I look forward to the next episode. The writers know how to entertain just as the acting in the show. I can't tell you how absorbed I am that I do not even notice the end of that evenings episode. I give it a twenty out of ten. Its about time we have another hit show.
  9. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    I just saw my first episode, and I like it immensely. I have been a fan of Jim C. for years. Unfortunately, I don't think it will last for the average viewers, but I hope I am wrong. I will not miss it, and I do not watch many shows.
  10. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    I love this show. The characters Reese and Finch are great and I like Carter too. Reese is an absolute badass played against type. Soft spoken, well dressed. The dichotomy is wonderful. It is by far my favorite new show this season.
  11. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Great show with 2 great actors. Most enjoyable new show of the year. Interesting concept and good story lines with great acting. Use of technology adds a nice touch.
  12. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    Great new idea for a show. Reminds me a little of Homeland. Unfolds smoothly as the kind of show that even those who couldn't care less about it will find engrossing.
  13. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Excellent acting and good story line. A tv version of Jason Bourne with a helper. Also reminds a little of the movie "The Shadow" where the good guy recruits people to help. The best new show since "The Mentalist"
  14. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    I LOVE this show. It's a change from all the cop shows and CSI shows. Jim Caviezel is such a sexy guy I could just watch this show for him but that aside the show is just very cool and Finch is such a different character. I love the whole concept of this show.
  15. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Has quickly become my favorite tv show - great acting, suspense, and surprises. It keeps your interest through the whole show. Nice change from all the standard mystery shows.
  16. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Great story line. Jim C makes a great tv Jason Bourne and Ben was the best actor on Lost. Quickly becoming my favorite show because of the acting, story lines and the introduction of a series of new characters that reappear.
  17. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Firstly, take MetaCritic's rating of this show with a grain of salt! 'Person of Interest' is the BEST show this Season 2011. Why? The Writing is BRILLIANT! The Casting is EXCEPTIONAL! It is UNCONVENTIONAL! It pisses-me-off when Websites such as Metacritic are PAID to tilt the scale in the direction of 'Homeland' which is just another BORING show on TV; 'bin der dun dat' type show. 'PersonFirstly, take MetaCritic's rating of this show with a grain of salt! 'Person of Interest' is the BEST show this Season 2011. Why? The Writing is BRILLIANT! The Casting is EXCEPTIONAL! It is UNCONVENTIONAL! It pisses-me-off when Websites such as Metacritic are PAID to tilt the scale in the direction of 'Homeland' which is just another BORING show on TV; 'bin der dun dat' type show. 'Person of Interest' ROCKS and ROCKS seismicly = 10! Congratulations to the entire 'Person of Interest team; you are PHENOMENAL! Expand
  18. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    At first i wasn't to excited about the show promised my self to give it another chance and i did, i love it and kept me hooked and I'm still not bored! .... its different and we all needed a little change from the reality trash that's out there now.
  19. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    This is by far the BEST NEW show of the season all channels together. Let s hope that CBS will get all the potential of the show. the ideas and the writing for this show is strong and there has been already some outstanding episodes. Hopefully CBS will give time for this show to reach its full potential and not just look at ratings variations from one episode to the next
  20. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    Best new show on tv. Intelligent, well acted, suspenseful. Makes u want more. Kinda james bond and jason bourne all wrapped into one.. Not to many shows on tv that are this well done. What else do u expect from abrams n nolan. It's so entertaining I can't wait till the next weeks episode.
  21. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    This is only new television program that is well written and well acted. Michael Emerson and his limp are perfect for Finch. Jim Caviezel's understated portrayal of Reese is magnificent, especially since he occasionally doesn't win the fight. Enough violence to be an action adventure, but nothing too gruesome to make anyone turn away.

    We watch as much for the little clues about Finch
    This is only new television program that is well written and well acted. Michael Emerson and his limp are perfect for Finch. Jim Caviezel's understated portrayal of Reese is magnificent, especially since he occasionally doesn't win the fight. Enough violence to be an action adventure, but nothing too gruesome to make anyone turn away.

    We watch as much for the little clues about Finch and Reese, their relationship development, and hints of their past as we do for the story of the week. As a matter of fact, it is almost important to catch every episode in sequence to learn the history of the two men.

    Sure, some of it is far fetched, or so I think, but then again I am reminded of George Orwell's 1984. If Big Brother is going to be watching me, I would just as soon it be Finch and/or Reese.

    Terrific show!
    Expand
  22. Jan 12, 2012
    10
    Play "I Always Feel Like Somebody's Watching Me!...Caviezel & Chapman are Watson and Holmes for 21st Century. I love T Henson but her role is too modest and not her style. Don't get caught with your pants down!
  23. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    Great, Great, Great Show! A mix of science fiction, drama, action, espionage, etc., etc. I'm sorry for those of you who don't get it. There are no show like this one. Basically you have "at least" one imperfect person helping others.
  24. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    This programme is brilliant a must watch every episoes just gets better great story and action very clever concept a real joy to watch i cannot wait until the second season do not miss out on this series.
  25. May 27, 2012
    10
    SIMPLY THE BEST TV SHOW SINCE PRISON BREAK..... i'm amazed by the tiny (almost zero) amount of shallow things that we watch today in this ocean of silly-shallow-not funny-not interesting-crappy show that is going on in TV nowadays...

    I'm truly sad for people that can't see the magic in this show, in the DIALOGUES!!!! I recommend to EVERYONE I can ALWAYS, friends who watch TV Series...
    SIMPLY THE BEST TV SHOW SINCE PRISON BREAK..... i'm amazed by the tiny (almost zero) amount of shallow things that we watch today in this ocean of silly-shallow-not funny-not interesting-crappy show that is going on in TV nowadays...

    I'm truly sad for people that can't see the magic in this show, in the DIALOGUES!!!!

    I recommend to EVERYONE I can ALWAYS, friends who watch TV Series... but it's difficult to get people to understand things like this... people are accommodate with silly/shallow stuff... and they enjoy crap...

    This is the kind of show that makes me LAUGH in the INSPIRING WAY... like, laughing when the plot unrolls... and lots of times with the interesting dialogues...

    AMAZING!!!
    Expand
  26. May 4, 2012
    10
    i love this show. It reminds me of a show from about 20 years ago called The Equalizer. Whenever justice is served and in this case with creative ingenuity I relish the outcome. The bad guys are dealt with and the good guys are the winners albeit some grey is tossed in to heighten authenticity.
  27. May 6, 2012
    10
    Great show, one of the BEST show today.

    The story and the idea itself is quite interesting as well as the act well done !

    Keep up the good work.

    C.
  28. May 18, 2012
    10
    Person of interest has to be the best that I have seen in a long time. I have been waiting for something like this. Great show. I can hardly wait until next season. I liked the way this season ended. It kind of left things hanging but not like a lot of other shows do. At least I was not mad the way this season ended. I always get frustrated the way NCIS ends thier season. Again ExcellentPerson of interest has to be the best that I have seen in a long time. I have been waiting for something like this. Great show. I can hardly wait until next season. I liked the way this season ended. It kind of left things hanging but not like a lot of other shows do. At least I was not mad the way this season ended. I always get frustrated the way NCIS ends thier season. Again Excellent show. As you can see 35 great reviews and only 5 bad reviews. The bad reviews must be from some really boring people. Expand
  29. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    Person of Interest found a way to bring action packed fun with a riveting, entertaining, and fast paced story to close everything out. Sure, the season was not without its imperfections, even starting rather slow before finding its groove, but once it hit its stride, there was no slowing down.
    The finale delivered a fantastic cap to that season illustrating everything that's great about
    Person of Interest found a way to bring action packed fun with a riveting, entertaining, and fast paced story to close everything out. Sure, the season was not without its imperfections, even starting rather slow before finding its groove, but once it hit its stride, there was no slowing down.
    The finale delivered a fantastic cap to that season illustrating everything that's great about the show, while simply turning it on its head, incorporating clever twists, and showing that it's only scratched the surface of its capabilities.
    Expand
  30. May 21, 2012
    10
    This is an excellent show with much potential. Already in the first season the writers have exposed new layers of intrigue and I was already happy with the layers they'd been working with. The characters and cast are superb. Person of Interest deserves continued support by CBS and the opportunity to grow its audience, which it surely will. This is my first time registering a comment onThis is an excellent show with much potential. Already in the first season the writers have exposed new layers of intrigue and I was already happy with the layers they'd been working with. The characters and cast are superb. Person of Interest deserves continued support by CBS and the opportunity to grow its audience, which it surely will. This is my first time registering a comment on a TV show. But, I'm frustrated that so many excellent shows that I really like didn't make it past their first season because the networks aren't willing to nurture them along and give them a chance to develop an audience. So, POI gets my vote of support. Expand
  31. May 28, 2012
    10
    I am rarely influenced by a television show to alter my schedule so that I am home to watch it - even though I record it. Person of Interest has made Thursday evenings a night to look forward to. The intricacies and subplots keep me riveted. I love the interaction of the characters. Each episode is fresh and intriguing.
  32. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    This is a really great TV show that you have to watch from beginning to end in order. This isn't a show where you come in half way through the season and expect to understand what is going on. Each episode builds off several previous episodes. As you continue to watch the series, every character gets more and more interesting with not only there current character development but theirThis is a really great TV show that you have to watch from beginning to end in order. This isn't a show where you come in half way through the season and expect to understand what is going on. Each episode builds off several previous episodes. As you continue to watch the series, every character gets more and more interesting with not only there current character development but their back stories as well. You start caring more and more what happends to the characters. A good mix of action, suspense, character development and story. Expand
  33. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    A bit slow to start with but the more the serie go the more it becomes very interesting !
    The only problem is that every episodes must be watched understand the show. As everyone of them show a piece of the past of the two main characters.
    Jim Caviezel and Michael Emerson are both really good. None of them are boring to watch.
    Very entertaining, keep up the good job !
  34. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    One of the great shows out there. The premise is intriguing. The story is captivating. The characters are holding. The performances are simply great. With slippery twists and turns in every episode, if you don't hold on tight, you'll fall on the ground. Hard. The entire show is remarkable.
  35. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    An awesome new show on network TV that is really interesting and just great to watch. The show knows what it's doing and network TV doesn't get better than this
  36. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    I really like this series. One of the best TV shows on TV at the moment. great ideas and an excellent TV series would reccomend for anyone to watch this. It is brilliant.
  37. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    Where to start. First, if you have not watched this show GET ON IT you're missing out, second, Jim Caviezel is a gorgeous talented actor and plays an amazing kick ass hero. I really like how Finch and Reese don't know if the person or people they are saving is a victim or a threat. The story lines for this show could be or are endless, I can honestly say there hasn't been an episode IWhere to start. First, if you have not watched this show GET ON IT you're missing out, second, Jim Caviezel is a gorgeous talented actor and plays an amazing kick ass hero. I really like how Finch and Reese don't know if the person or people they are saving is a victim or a threat. The story lines for this show could be or are endless, I can honestly say there hasn't been an episode I haven't enjoyed. All the characters in this show have such strong parts and are great actors. Currently the show is finishing its third season and has been renewed for a fourth (March/2014). Cant wait to see what the writers have in store for us viewers or in my case FAN! Expand
  38. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Person of Interest is like the most beautiful woman in the entire world, if she were a TV show. You can't stop watching it. It's amazing and you can't even fathom how such perfection could be a reality. Well it is, and it's Person of Interest. Not only is it the best TV series i've ever seen in my life (and I've seen a LOT), but I would be very surprised if there was ever one that couldPerson of Interest is like the most beautiful woman in the entire world, if she were a TV show. You can't stop watching it. It's amazing and you can't even fathom how such perfection could be a reality. Well it is, and it's Person of Interest. Not only is it the best TV series i've ever seen in my life (and I've seen a LOT), but I would be very surprised if there was ever one that could match it, given all the shows of the future. Why is it so good? Well, The main character, John Reese, played by Jim Caviezel, is, not "is like", "is" the most badass guy, pretty much ever. Have you ever seen A Jason Statham movie? Well, he's Jason Statham, and he's got his own TV show. And his TV show is a Science Fiction Drama about an all-knowing super computer that has eyes everywhere and the power to do anything. John Reese essentially works for this computer, or, the man who built it, eliminating threats to citizens it has marked as being in imminent danger. The catch is, John and his boss, Mr. Finch, don't know whether that civilian is going to be a victim, or the perpetrator. Person of Interest is a high octane Syfy surveillance and action drama that features unbeatable action sequences, brilliant writing, fantastic characters and great plots. It feels very Whedonesque at times. It also features Angel and Dollhouse's Amy Acker as Root, perhaps the shows primary antagonist. And she's as deadly as she is hot. Expand
  39. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    I really appreciate the premise of this show. In this day and time, I can actually see what this show represents happening, in fact, I'd say it's more likely than not! It's really nice to think that there would be someone out there playing the "game" for all of us "unimportant" people! And Jim Caviezel....he's just a plus!!!
  40. Oct 11, 2014
    10
    In 2014, after 3-4 seasons, the show is still going strong. What's outstanding here for an action-procedural show is the writing, plotting and character development backed up by wonderful actors and fresh faces never seen before on TV.

    Again, these are seasoned writers working at the top of their form. This shows up in their courage to break their own rules; and, write them selves
    In 2014, after 3-4 seasons, the show is still going strong. What's outstanding here for an action-procedural show is the writing, plotting and character development backed up by wonderful actors and fresh faces never seen before on TV.

    Again, these are seasoned writers working at the top of their form. This shows up in their courage to break their own rules; and, write them selves deliberately into a corner just to see how they will write themselves out of it. I can't recall this level of writerly courage since X-Files.

    Let's also acknowledge POA was probably the inspiration for the video game WatchDogs and remains unusually timely for network drama.

    I understand this urban legend fantasy is not for everyone. It speaks directly to my unconscious superhero fantasy tho.
    Expand
  41. Nov 26, 2014
    10
    The best show ever!!!!! No serious speaking I'm someone who's watched many anime, movies and prime-time television shows, and this show really delivers as the most exciting, dramatic, and action-oriented ever. Its story-line and screenwriting can't be matched there is absolutely no show that has better villains and twist than this show. I can truly see why Joker was so popular from Th DarkThe best show ever!!!!! No serious speaking I'm someone who's watched many anime, movies and prime-time television shows, and this show really delivers as the most exciting, dramatic, and action-oriented ever. Its story-line and screenwriting can't be matched there is absolutely no show that has better villains and twist than this show. I can truly see why Joker was so popular from Th Dark Knight it was all thank to Jonathan Nolan and his brother Chris Nolan. Elements of the perfect enemies being embodiment of personified themes is truly an art that the Nolan brothers have mastered and this show is the proof. To all the haters: " Truly what show has better a story-line, entertaining characters, juicy twists,and genius screenwriting than this show? I mean come on Seriously a "0" score? The lowest score this show a critic should give is "7" Expand
  42. May 13, 2015
    10
    Love the show and will watch it forever. My whole family watches (my married children who are living in other states). Covering different ages ! So this proves ages range from 27-81 yrs of age
  43. Sep 24, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing , Awesome , Wow ..... This is what the Nolan brothers are about ! they know exactly how to shock you ! Person of Interest is really a Show of Interest ! & undoubtedly the best Pilot of 2011-2012 season !The writing , acting , action awesome ! Expand
  44. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    Finally a prime time winner! Was watching the laughable Charlie's Angels, That will never happen again! glad I taped (Person of Interest.) A good premise of no visible killing shades of old Cowboy movies. Good luck...
  45. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    I've watched two so far and am definitely liking this. Wasn't sure if the premise was something that would interest me, but the show is compelling. I'm not a comic book aficionado, but even I can tell that this show has all the ingredients of a great comic book - interesting, quirky good guys; a bad cop; a good cop that gets the benefit of the work of the "superheros;" mysterious pastsI've watched two so far and am definitely liking this. Wasn't sure if the premise was something that would interest me, but the show is compelling. I'm not a comic book aficionado, but even I can tell that this show has all the ingredients of a great comic book - interesting, quirky good guys; a bad cop; a good cop that gets the benefit of the work of the "superheros;" mysterious pasts for the main characters. Satisfying episodes - good story telling. Expand
  46. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    An excellent premise that spins into unpredictable storylines and a couple of top-flight lead actors make this a winner. Check out the pilot, which provides excellent character background and motivation. Target audience is anyone who enjoys action-heavy thrillers like ''24'' and ''The Bourne'' movies. Each week a massive Big Brother-like computer grid spits out a Social Security number ofAn excellent premise that spins into unpredictable storylines and a couple of top-flight lead actors make this a winner. Check out the pilot, which provides excellent character background and motivation. Target audience is anyone who enjoys action-heavy thrillers like ''24'' and ''The Bourne'' movies. Each week a massive Big Brother-like computer grid spits out a Social Security number of someone who is likely to be involved in a violent crime. But are they the victim? The criminal? Something else? An investigation follows, then a Star Chamber-style decision is made to try and stop the crime before it happens. Exciting and well executed. Expand
  47. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    Always look forward to this show because it shows cutting edge spy technologies. It helps me realize how much I am spied on by those who may not have my best interests in mind. It also shows how ones privacy is a thing of the past. A person in the last episode lived in a town that had no internet or cell service so she could feel a little bit safe. Carry on with a great TV thriller,Always look forward to this show because it shows cutting edge spy technologies. It helps me realize how much I am spied on by those who may not have my best interests in mind. It also shows how ones privacy is a thing of the past. A person in the last episode lived in a town that had no internet or cell service so she could feel a little bit safe. Carry on with a great TV thriller, for the information everyone should be aware of. Expand
  48. May 30, 2012
    9
    This show started quite slow. It didn't offer anything special, but for some reason I kept coming back, and now it's one of my favorite shows. It is a very simple concept, but they really do make the most out of it. Characters grow on you, the storyline is well respected, and the direction is top notch. This show is not exceptional by any means, but very well written and directed.This show started quite slow. It didn't offer anything special, but for some reason I kept coming back, and now it's one of my favorite shows. It is a very simple concept, but they really do make the most out of it. Characters grow on you, the storyline is well respected, and the direction is top notch. This show is not exceptional by any means, but very well written and directed. Conclusion: very entertaining Expand
  49. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Love it, love it, love it. The plot is interesting, the acting is great, and the mystery surrounding the characters is beyond intriguing. Highly recommend.
  50. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Awesome show. Jim Caviezel has found his calling as the quiet, but deadly John Reese; a former spy who has decided to help people in his own way. John is joined by Finch, a recluse techie who has created a way to help people about to be the victim of a crime. With Finch as the 'Penelope Garcia/Charlie from Charlie's Angels' cross, and John as his own personal 'Jason Bourne', they try toAwesome show. Jim Caviezel has found his calling as the quiet, but deadly John Reese; a former spy who has decided to help people in his own way. John is joined by Finch, a recluse techie who has created a way to help people about to be the victim of a crime. With Finch as the 'Penelope Garcia/Charlie from Charlie's Angels' cross, and John as his own personal 'Jason Bourne', they try to save people in any way they can.

    Excellent storylines, mysterious characters, and lots of back story woven in. Great new show, easily one of the best things starting last season.
    Expand
  51. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    This Show is one of my favorites. The concept behind it is brilliant and the actors are all amazing. The only problem is that the writing is not as good as it could be, but it is still better than most shows.
  52. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    It took me a couple of episodes to warm up to this show but now I love it! I think Jim Caviezel and Michael Emerson are excellently paired and although it is hard to imagine "the machine" in real life, they make it very enjoyable to watch. I look forward to each new episode!
  53. Apr 28, 2015
    9
    A refreshing and thought-provoking commentary on government surveillance and privacy, Person of Interest started out as a pseudo-CSI procedural and has slowly turned into an exciting cyber-thriller with a great central storyline. It's got some great actors (Jim Caviezel, Micheal Emerson) and writers (John Nolan), and has easily become the best show on network television. If you haven'tA refreshing and thought-provoking commentary on government surveillance and privacy, Person of Interest started out as a pseudo-CSI procedural and has slowly turned into an exciting cyber-thriller with a great central storyline. It's got some great actors (Jim Caviezel, Micheal Emerson) and writers (John Nolan), and has easily become the best show on network television. If you haven't seen this in a while, or were turned off when you first saw it three or four years ago, you should definitely try this show again. It's totally worth it. Expand
  54. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    Strangely enough what endeared this show to me was the violence. I was sure the show would resort to clever way's to avoid killing. The deaths add authenticity. I thought the transformation from homeless person to CIA operative was a bit too fast (I guess it's like riding a bike) but I did enjoy the confrontation on the subway. This looks like one of the more interesting new shows.Strangely enough what endeared this show to me was the violence. I was sure the show would resort to clever way's to avoid killing. The deaths add authenticity. I thought the transformation from homeless person to CIA operative was a bit too fast (I guess it's like riding a bike) but I did enjoy the confrontation on the subway. This looks like one of the more interesting new shows. I'm surprised CBS picked this one up. It seems better suited for FOX. Expand
  55. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    Extremely promising show, thoroughly enjoyed the season premiere wasn't what I was expecting at all. Think of it as Minority Report meets Bourne and you wont be far wrong. :)
  56. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    I like this series better, after 8 episodes, than I did at the beginning. I'm no longer much bothered by its premise: a terror-sniffing machine so sensitive that it predicts ordinary homicides but not sensitive enough to distinguish murderers from victims. I no longer wonder how even the world's least competent security agency could be induced to throw out data that would save police,I like this series better, after 8 episodes, than I did at the beginning. I'm no longer much bothered by its premise: a terror-sniffing machine so sensitive that it predicts ordinary homicides but not sensitive enough to distinguish murderers from victims. I no longer wonder how even the world's least competent security agency could be induced to throw out data that would save police, courts, and emergency services billions of dollars, not to mention saving innumerable lives. Instead, I now focus on what the machine represents: vigilance without discernment, an omniscience that becomes an end in itself, rather than a means of preserving life and liberty. In that regard, "Person of Interest" seems one of the few 21st-century series to grapple with the effects of 9/11. For that and other reasons, the series now strikes me as fresher and more interesting than others devoted to the pursuit of justice. Where CSI and its spawn celebrate forensic technology as the fastest and purest route to truth, POI takes a more complex view, one focused on the powers, the limits, and the dangers of a technology that can only gesture in the general direction of truth but cannot make crucial distinctions, such as the one between murderer and victim. The contrast is everywhere, from acting style to soundtrack to cinematography. Compared to the luminous pastels and driving rock soundtracks of the CSI's, POI appears ominous and grim: blue-grey establishing shots with faux-CCTV effects, digital framing of random heads, the subtle foreboding of an orchestral score. POI's two principal characters are not heroes but anti-heroes; they are flawed, injured, even knowingly doomed. Both Reese and Finch hide almost everything about themselves, and their tendency to conceal their feelings has alienated some viewers, who feel deprived of an emotional connection to the protagonists. Again, however, I find their formality and circumspection interesting, their oblique dialog a refreshing break from the improbable self-revelation of the average TV crime-fighter. I now hope that other viewers who were, like me, on the fence are starting to appreciate the show. Expand
  57. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    first great show on network television in a while. TIVO it if you can, 'cause if you miss something you'll get confused pretty fast and find the show unenjoyable since so much information is important to understanding the plot. good cast, great writing (john reese can be a bit over-the-top at times), relevant plot about government surveillance and big brother in afirst great show on network television in a while. TIVO it if you can, 'cause if you miss something you'll get confused pretty fast and find the show unenjoyable since so much information is important to understanding the plot. good cast, great writing (john reese can be a bit over-the-top at times), relevant plot about government surveillance and big brother in a 'post-9/11-[false-flag]-world'. good casting of babes to keep a desperado like me interested. really no complaints, besides the identity theft episode which kinda sucked. also, the tracks at the end of the episodes are usually well selected (credit to whoever selects them for the show).

    jonathan nolan is a boss. don't let anyone mess w/ your show!
    Expand
  58. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    Very original new series, I believe is going to be a full potential show, and hoping that the rest of the viewers think that to, Jonathan Nolan created an amazing and very interesting new show. The Casting is amazing and as I already said the concept of the show is so damn good, if every single episode, takes the format of the 1st one, this show is going to make success guaranteed.
  59. Oct 11, 2011
    8
    Great atmosphere and writing for a serial drama. Has a lot of potential. I Love the batman-like appeal of the main characters. Episode 3 gives a little hope for a continuing story line.
  60. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    I think this show has been perfectly cast. Jim Caviezel does very well playing the brawn while Michael Emerson is clearly one of the best cerebral actors around at the moment. Each episode is separate and only the back story carries over from one to the next, but i'm sure it could be adapted easily to make it more serial if need be (without it just being an extra long episode spit up).
  61. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    Would be so happy to be wrong. Person of Interest has to Jonathan Nolan after racks, everyone should remember his work along with his brother Chris. The idea of the show is exceptional, but like almost all the series in the U.S., are subject to sales. In the second season I am more attracted the flashback that the series itself. I mean, in short, without the pressure of the CBS network,Would be so happy to be wrong. Person of Interest has to Jonathan Nolan after racks, everyone should remember his work along with his brother Chris. The idea of the show is exceptional, but like almost all the series in the U.S., are subject to sales. In the second season I am more attracted the flashback that the series itself. I mean, in short, without the pressure of the CBS network, each chapter would be better. Expand
  62. Dec 19, 2012
    7
    I'm torn between giving this show a 7 or a 8. I do like this show. Sometimes the episodes are really great. But sometimes the stories are very boring. I wonder how many writers are on this show & maybe I just prefer one writer's style over another. There is an awful lot of killing in the show though. John Reese doesn't seem to care who he kills & his character is one messed up dude. FinchI'm torn between giving this show a 7 or a 8. I do like this show. Sometimes the episodes are really great. But sometimes the stories are very boring. I wonder how many writers are on this show & maybe I just prefer one writer's style over another. There is an awful lot of killing in the show though. John Reese doesn't seem to care who he kills & his character is one messed up dude. Finch is messed up in a different way. I still don't buy his reason for faking his death & yet he keeps stalking his wife. I'm hoping they pull the storyline together because the cast is great but you gotta give them something solid to work with. Expand
  63. Apr 18, 2015
    7
    It started out strong a few years ago and continues to be of interest. Caviezel is a great actor. But I think it has strayed too much into the intrigue of the machines instead of delving into numbers of even more complex characters (political figures, media reporters, etc?) creating some pseudo-lesbian theme between two of the leading female characters just shows the writers are reallyIt started out strong a few years ago and continues to be of interest. Caviezel is a great actor. But I think it has strayed too much into the intrigue of the machines instead of delving into numbers of even more complex characters (political figures, media reporters, etc?) creating some pseudo-lesbian theme between two of the leading female characters just shows the writers are really stretching the imagination. What, two strong women can't be straight any longer? That really is a turnoff for women who believe they are as capable as the ones portrayed here. It's obvious the show's basic premise is still popular but it needs to go back to the basics and expand on that instead of trying to appeal to a different audience than the original. Expand
  64. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    The second season starts faster. And I believe it is going to be much more faster than the faster start. However, They must fail sometimes to make the series more likeable. They are always winner why?
  65. Sep 25, 2013
    7
    A mix of science fiction, drama, action, espionage, etc, The characters Reese and Finch are great, Extremely promising show

    Pilot 10/10
    rest of season 7/10
  66. May 14, 2013
    6
    Basic Plot: Computer system genius invents a machine that can detect crimes. It predicts them and its up to the Genius and his marine side kick to stop them.
    The plot above does not really do the series justice as it does have some decent moments and I found it to be enjoyable. It took me a few episodes to decide I liked it. Which may put people off. It just was a little average. Think it
    Basic Plot: Computer system genius invents a machine that can detect crimes. It predicts them and its up to the Genius and his marine side kick to stop them.
    The plot above does not really do the series justice as it does have some decent moments and I found it to be enjoyable. It took me a few episodes to decide I liked it. Which may put people off. It just was a little average. Think it decided it would develop the characters a little too much and had a bit too much going on. But it did find its feet. I thought that the casting was good and the direction is solid.
    Some of the plot is a little bit loose. A man blows stuff up etc and no more than one person is involved in apprehending them?
    You have to let this go but that can be said for many programmes.
    give it a shot but remember to give it a few episodes before drawing a conclusion.
    Expand
  67. Sep 23, 2011
    5
    A welcome change to TV's lineup. The pilot was by no means mind blowing but the show has potential. Here's to hoping a bigger plot line is revealed soon.
  68. Sep 23, 2011
    4
    The plot idea itself is quite interesting, but the execution not so much. The two get the social security number of someone who will become the victim or perpetrator of a future crime, and then the CIA Agent has to "spy" on them until the truth is revealed. Afterwards, he must stop the crime from actually happening. It's simple, formulaic, and boring. Not to mention the characters are cutThe plot idea itself is quite interesting, but the execution not so much. The two get the social security number of someone who will become the victim or perpetrator of a future crime, and then the CIA Agent has to "spy" on them until the truth is revealed. Afterwards, he must stop the crime from actually happening. It's simple, formulaic, and boring. Not to mention the characters are cut and dry, adding nothing to the boring atmosphere. Expand
  69. Apr 15, 2014
    3
    I honestly don't understand where all the 10 ratings come from... Is it people that have switched over from reality TV? Is it the CSI crew who like the twist it adds to the mystery / murder of the week genre? I honestly wanted to like the show. Two of my favorite actors from shows / movies past and I bought into the hype. Bought the first two seasons and I gutted it out through the firstI honestly don't understand where all the 10 ratings come from... Is it people that have switched over from reality TV? Is it the CSI crew who like the twist it adds to the mystery / murder of the week genre? I honestly wanted to like the show. Two of my favorite actors from shows / movies past and I bought into the hype. Bought the first two seasons and I gutted it out through the first 10 episodes... If you like CSI, I'm betting you would like this show. For me... I need a longer / more complex story arc that's more committed to character development and the unraveling of a riddle, wrapped in a mystery, inside an enigma (favorite Churchill quote). This show is bland and formulaic. It simply doesn't hold my interest enough to sit through an entire episode... Expand
  70. hbo
    Oct 13, 2011
    1
    This show was a surprise for me. After all the hype and the talk, I was expecting something that would blow me away, instead I got something that bored me silly. I had to force myself to sit through a whole episode and when i finally finished, I promised myself never again. I guess what I'm saying is....This person, has no interest!
  71. Feb 10, 2015
    1
    My wife and I have finally given up on this show.It used to be very good and very interesting,but killing off the good characters,trivializing the interesting ones and concentrating on ones who should have been killed off years ago has just driven the show in a ridiculous direction. I guess the writers just wanted to" go where no one has ever gone before" but they just killed it forMy wife and I have finally given up on this show.It used to be very good and very interesting,but killing off the good characters,trivializing the interesting ones and concentrating on ones who should have been killed off years ago has just driven the show in a ridiculous direction. I guess the writers just wanted to" go where no one has ever gone before" but they just killed it for us.Putting someone like Root in the drivers seat was totally stupid. Expand
  72. Sep 22, 2011
    0
    I'm pretty tolerant, but we really don't need a revenge fantasy masquerading as moral nobility. I was going to take off 2 points for unrelenting grimness, but had to take off 8 more for its sense of right and wrong. Even if it is TV.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. So far, though, it has mostly kept its ambition in check, preferring to follow the playbook of a typical crime procedural, with a little more darkness and a little less energy.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 29, 2011
    75
    This could grow into a show of more than ordinary interest. [28 Nov 2011, p.57]
  3. Reviewed by: David Eckstein
    Sep 22, 2011
    50
    The characters aren't terribly deep and the dialog doesn't take advantage of Emerson's and Caviezel's acting chops.