• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 307 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Amy Acker, Taraji Henson, Sarah Shahi
  • Summary: Reese (Jim Caviezel) is a former CIA agent presumed dead who is recruited by Finch (Michael Emerson), a mysterious billionaire, to help stop crime before it happens with the help of Finch's software.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
  • Creator: Jonathan Nolan
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: Nov 24, 2011
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 22, 2011
    100
    Person of Interest separates itself from the gimmick pack, not only because of superbly nuanced characterization and writing but also because of how it engages a post-9/11 sense of paranoia in its viewers.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 21, 2011
    83
    A gritty, almost plausible winner, and distant reflection of Stephen Spielberg's "Minority Report."
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 22, 2011
    80
    This is the rare crime drama that revels in actual mystery, its dark, paranoid tone embodied by two damaged heroes.
  4. So far, though, it has mostly kept its ambition in check, preferring to follow the playbook of a typical crime procedural, with a little more darkness and a little less energy.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Sep 21, 2011
    58
    Despite the presence of Nolan (who's co-written most of his brother Christopher's films, including "Memento" and "The Prestige") and producer J.J. Abrams, this is very much a CBS crime procedural, one that could fit comfortably alongside "The Mentalist," et al. But it would help an awful lot if Caviezel had a few Red Bulls first.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 22, 2011
    50
    Ultimately, Person Of Interest is built on too cockamamie of a premise to be taken seriously.
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Sep 16, 2011
    25
    There isn't a single interesting person in CBS's dud-on-arrival Person of Interest; at best, there's only a single interesting idea.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 68
  2. Negative: 4 out of 68
  1. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    Great, Great, Great Show! A mix of science fiction, drama, action, espionage, etc., etc. I'm sorry for those of you who don't get it. ThereGreat, Great, Great Show! A mix of science fiction, drama, action, espionage, etc., etc. I'm sorry for those of you who don't get it. There are no show like this one. Basically you have "at least" one imperfect person helping others. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Great Show! Now let's rate the critic:

    Slant Magazine Aaron Riccio; is a r-tard!!!!! He has not even watched an episode with a review like
    Great Show! Now let's rate the critic:

    Slant Magazine
    Aaron Riccio; is a r-tard!!!!! He has not even watched an episode with a review like his.

    Wow, look at the title of his magazine - Slant? looks like he is paid to write with a slant in favor of the ones paying. Gotcha!
    Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    A bit slow to start with but the more the serie go the more it becomes very interesting !
    The only problem is that every episodes must be
    A bit slow to start with but the more the serie go the more it becomes very interesting !
    The only problem is that every episodes must be watched understand the show. As everyone of them show a piece of the past of the two main characters.
    Jim Caviezel and Michael Emerson are both really good. None of them are boring to watch.
    Very entertaining, keep up the good job !
    Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    I LOVE this show. It's a change from all the cop shows and CSI shows. Jim Caviezel is such a sexy guy I could just watch this show for himI LOVE this show. It's a change from all the cop shows and CSI shows. Jim Caviezel is such a sexy guy I could just watch this show for him but that aside the show is just very cool and Finch is such a different character. I love the whole concept of this show. Expand
  5. May 30, 2012
    9
    This show started quite slow. It didn't offer anything special, but for some reason I kept coming back, and now it's one of my favorite shows.This show started quite slow. It didn't offer anything special, but for some reason I kept coming back, and now it's one of my favorite shows. It is a very simple concept, but they really do make the most out of it. Characters grow on you, the storyline is well respected, and the direction is top notch. This show is not exceptional by any means, but very well written and directed. Conclusion: very entertaining Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    I've watched two so far and am definitely liking this. Wasn't sure if the premise was something that would interest me, but the show isI've watched two so far and am definitely liking this. Wasn't sure if the premise was something that would interest me, but the show is compelling. I'm not a comic book aficionado, but even I can tell that this show has all the ingredients of a great comic book - interesting, quirky good guys; a bad cop; a good cop that gets the benefit of the work of the "superheros;" mysterious pasts for the main characters. Satisfying episodes - good story telling. Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2011
    0
    I'm pretty tolerant, but we really don't need a revenge fantasy masquerading as moral nobility. I was going to take off 2 points forI'm pretty tolerant, but we really don't need a revenge fantasy masquerading as moral nobility. I was going to take off 2 points for unrelenting grimness, but had to take off 8 more for its sense of right and wrong. Even if it is TV. Expand

See all 68 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.