Person of Interest : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Person of Interest Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 413 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Reese (Jim Caviezel) is a former CIA agent presumed dead who is recruited by Finch (Michael Emerson), a mysterious billionaire, to help stop crime before it happens with the help of Finch's software.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 22, 2011
    100
    Person of Interest separates itself from the gimmick pack, not only because of superbly nuanced characterization and writing but also because of how it engages a post-9/11 sense of paranoia in its viewers.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 21, 2011
    83
    A gritty, almost plausible winner, and distant reflection of Stephen Spielberg's "Minority Report."
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 22, 2011
    80
    This is the rare crime drama that revels in actual mystery, its dark, paranoid tone embodied by two damaged heroes.
  4. So far, though, it has mostly kept its ambition in check, preferring to follow the playbook of a typical crime procedural, with a little more darkness and a little less energy.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Sep 21, 2011
    58
    Despite the presence of Nolan (who's co-written most of his brother Christopher's films, including "Memento" and "The Prestige") and producer J.J. Abrams, this is very much a CBS crime procedural, one that could fit comfortably alongside "The Mentalist," et al. But it would help an awful lot if Caviezel had a few Red Bulls first.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 22, 2011
    50
    Ultimately, Person Of Interest is built on too cockamamie of a premise to be taken seriously.
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Sep 16, 2011
    25
    There isn't a single interesting person in CBS's dud-on-arrival Person of Interest; at best, there's only a single interesting idea.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 80
  2. Negative: 6 out of 80
  1. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    Great, Great, Great Show! A mix of science fiction, drama, action, espionage, etc., etc. I'm sorry for those of you who don't get it. ThereGreat, Great, Great Show! A mix of science fiction, drama, action, espionage, etc., etc. I'm sorry for those of you who don't get it. There are no show like this one. Basically you have "at least" one imperfect person helping others. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    At first i wasn't to excited about the show promised my self to give it another chance and i did, i love it and kept me hooked and I'm stillAt first i wasn't to excited about the show promised my self to give it another chance and i did, i love it and kept me hooked and I'm still not bored! .... its different and we all needed a little change from the reality trash that's out there now. Expand
  3. May 6, 2012
    10
    Great show, one of the BEST show today.

    The story and the idea itself is quite interesting as well as the act well done ! Keep up the good
    Great show, one of the BEST show today.

    The story and the idea itself is quite interesting as well as the act well done !

    Keep up the good work.

    C.
    Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Has quickly become my favorite tv show - great acting, suspense, and surprises. It keeps your interest through the whole show. Nice changeHas quickly become my favorite tv show - great acting, suspense, and surprises. It keeps your interest through the whole show. Nice change from all the standard mystery shows. Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2015
    9
    A refreshing and thought-provoking commentary on government surveillance and privacy, Person of Interest started out as a pseudo-CSIA refreshing and thought-provoking commentary on government surveillance and privacy, Person of Interest started out as a pseudo-CSI procedural and has slowly turned into an exciting cyber-thriller with a great central storyline. It's got some great actors (Jim Caviezel, Micheal Emerson) and writers (John Nolan), and has easily become the best show on network television. If you haven't seen this in a while, or were turned off when you first saw it three or four years ago, you should definitely try this show again. It's totally worth it. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    I've watched two so far and am definitely liking this. Wasn't sure if the premise was something that would interest me, but the show isI've watched two so far and am definitely liking this. Wasn't sure if the premise was something that would interest me, but the show is compelling. I'm not a comic book aficionado, but even I can tell that this show has all the ingredients of a great comic book - interesting, quirky good guys; a bad cop; a good cop that gets the benefit of the work of the "superheros;" mysterious pasts for the main characters. Satisfying episodes - good story telling. Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2011
    0
    I'm pretty tolerant, but we really don't need a revenge fantasy masquerading as moral nobility. I was going to take off 2 points forI'm pretty tolerant, but we really don't need a revenge fantasy masquerading as moral nobility. I was going to take off 2 points for unrelenting grimness, but had to take off 8 more for its sense of right and wrong. Even if it is TV. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.