Person of Interest : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Person of Interest Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 422 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Reese (Jim Caviezel) is a former CIA agent presumed dead who is recruited by Finch (Michael Emerson), a mysterious billionaire, to help stop crime before it happens with the help of Finch's software.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 22, 2011
    100
    Person of Interest separates itself from the gimmick pack, not only because of superbly nuanced characterization and writing but also because of how it engages a post-9/11 sense of paranoia in its viewers.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 21, 2011
    83
    A gritty, almost plausible winner, and distant reflection of Stephen Spielberg's "Minority Report."
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 22, 2011
    80
    This is the rare crime drama that revels in actual mystery, its dark, paranoid tone embodied by two damaged heroes.
  4. So far, though, it has mostly kept its ambition in check, preferring to follow the playbook of a typical crime procedural, with a little more darkness and a little less energy.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Sep 21, 2011
    58
    Despite the presence of Nolan (who's co-written most of his brother Christopher's films, including "Memento" and "The Prestige") and producer J.J. Abrams, this is very much a CBS crime procedural, one that could fit comfortably alongside "The Mentalist," et al. But it would help an awful lot if Caviezel had a few Red Bulls first.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 22, 2011
    50
    Ultimately, Person Of Interest is built on too cockamamie of a premise to be taken seriously.
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Sep 16, 2011
    25
    There isn't a single interesting person in CBS's dud-on-arrival Person of Interest; at best, there's only a single interesting idea.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 80
  2. Negative: 6 out of 80
  1. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    Great, Great, Great Show! A mix of science fiction, drama, action, espionage, etc., etc. I'm sorry for those of you who don't get it. ThereGreat, Great, Great Show! A mix of science fiction, drama, action, espionage, etc., etc. I'm sorry for those of you who don't get it. There are no show like this one. Basically you have "at least" one imperfect person helping others. Expand
  2. May 27, 2012
    10
    SIMPLY THE BEST TV SHOW SINCE PRISON BREAK..... i'm amazed by the tiny (almost zero) amount of shallow things that we watch today in thisSIMPLY THE BEST TV SHOW SINCE PRISON BREAK..... i'm amazed by the tiny (almost zero) amount of shallow things that we watch today in this ocean of silly-shallow-not funny-not interesting-crappy show that is going on in TV nowadays...

    I'm truly sad for people that can't see the magic in this show, in the DIALOGUES!!!!

    I recommend to EVERYONE I can ALWAYS, friends who watch TV Series... but it's difficult to get people to understand things like this... people are accommodate with silly/shallow stuff... and they enjoy crap...

    This is the kind of show that makes me LAUGH in the INSPIRING WAY... like, laughing when the plot unrolls... and lots of times with the interesting dialogues...

    AMAZING!!!
    Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    A bit slow to start with but the more the serie go the more it becomes very interesting !
    The only problem is that every episodes must be
    A bit slow to start with but the more the serie go the more it becomes very interesting !
    The only problem is that every episodes must be watched understand the show. As everyone of them show a piece of the past of the two main characters.
    Jim Caviezel and Michael Emerson are both really good. None of them are boring to watch.
    Very entertaining, keep up the good job !
    Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Firstly, take MetaCritic's rating of this show with a grain of salt! 'Person of Interest' is the BEST show this Season 2011. Why? The WritingFirstly, take MetaCritic's rating of this show with a grain of salt! 'Person of Interest' is the BEST show this Season 2011. Why? The Writing is BRILLIANT! The Casting is EXCEPTIONAL! It is UNCONVENTIONAL! It pisses-me-off when Websites such as Metacritic are PAID to tilt the scale in the direction of 'Homeland' which is just another BORING show on TV; 'bin der dun dat' type show. 'Person of Interest' ROCKS and ROCKS seismicly = 10! Congratulations to the entire 'Person of Interest team; you are PHENOMENAL! Expand
  5. May 30, 2012
    9
    This show started quite slow. It didn't offer anything special, but for some reason I kept coming back, and now it's one of my favorite shows.This show started quite slow. It didn't offer anything special, but for some reason I kept coming back, and now it's one of my favorite shows. It is a very simple concept, but they really do make the most out of it. Characters grow on you, the storyline is well respected, and the direction is top notch. This show is not exceptional by any means, but very well written and directed. Conclusion: very entertaining Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    An excellent premise that spins into unpredictable storylines and a couple of top-flight lead actors make this a winner. Check out the pilot,An excellent premise that spins into unpredictable storylines and a couple of top-flight lead actors make this a winner. Check out the pilot, which provides excellent character background and motivation. Target audience is anyone who enjoys action-heavy thrillers like ''24'' and ''The Bourne'' movies. Each week a massive Big Brother-like computer grid spits out a Social Security number of someone who is likely to be involved in a violent crime. But are they the victim? The criminal? Something else? An investigation follows, then a Star Chamber-style decision is made to try and stop the crime before it happens. Exciting and well executed. Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2011
    0
    I'm pretty tolerant, but we really don't need a revenge fantasy masquerading as moral nobility. I was going to take off 2 points forI'm pretty tolerant, but we really don't need a revenge fantasy masquerading as moral nobility. I was going to take off 2 points for unrelenting grimness, but had to take off 8 more for its sense of right and wrong. Even if it is TV. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.