• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 351 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Reese (Jim Caviezel) is a former CIA agent presumed dead who is recruited by Finch (Michael Emerson), a mysterious billionaire, to help stop crime before it happens with the help of Finch's software.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 22, 2011
    100
    Person of Interest separates itself from the gimmick pack, not only because of superbly nuanced characterization and writing but also because of how it engages a post-9/11 sense of paranoia in its viewers.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Sep 21, 2011
    83
    A gritty, almost plausible winner, and distant reflection of Stephen Spielberg's "Minority Report."
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 22, 2011
    80
    This is the rare crime drama that revels in actual mystery, its dark, paranoid tone embodied by two damaged heroes.
  4. So far, though, it has mostly kept its ambition in check, preferring to follow the playbook of a typical crime procedural, with a little more darkness and a little less energy.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Sep 21, 2011
    58
    Despite the presence of Nolan (who's co-written most of his brother Christopher's films, including "Memento" and "The Prestige") and producer J.J. Abrams, this is very much a CBS crime procedural, one that could fit comfortably alongside "The Mentalist," et al. But it would help an awful lot if Caviezel had a few Red Bulls first.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 22, 2011
    50
    Ultimately, Person Of Interest is built on too cockamamie of a premise to be taken seriously.
  7. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Sep 16, 2011
    25
    There isn't a single interesting person in CBS's dud-on-arrival Person of Interest; at best, there's only a single interesting idea.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 73
  2. Negative: 5 out of 73
  1. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    Great, Great, Great Show! A mix of science fiction, drama, action, espionage, etc., etc. I'm sorry for those of you who don't get it. ThereGreat, Great, Great Show! A mix of science fiction, drama, action, espionage, etc., etc. I'm sorry for those of you who don't get it. There are no show like this one. Basically you have "at least" one imperfect person helping others. Collapse
  2. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Has quickly become my favorite tv show - great acting, suspense, and surprises. It keeps your interest through the whole show. Nice changeHas quickly become my favorite tv show - great acting, suspense, and surprises. It keeps your interest through the whole show. Nice change from all the standard mystery shows. Expand
  3. May 6, 2012
    10
    Great show, one of the BEST show today.

    The story and the idea itself is quite interesting as well as the act well done ! Keep up the good
    Great show, one of the BEST show today.

    The story and the idea itself is quite interesting as well as the act well done !

    Keep up the good work.

    C.
    Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    I LOVE this show. It's a change from all the cop shows and CSI shows. Jim Caviezel is such a sexy guy I could just watch this show for himI LOVE this show. It's a change from all the cop shows and CSI shows. Jim Caviezel is such a sexy guy I could just watch this show for him but that aside the show is just very cool and Finch is such a different character. I love the whole concept of this show. Expand
  5. Sep 24, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing , Awesome , Wow ..... This is what the Nolan brothers are about ! they know exactly how to shock you ! Person of Interest is really a Show of Interest ! & undoubtedly the best Pilot of 2011-2012 season !The writing , acting , action awesome ! Expand
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    I think this show has been perfectly cast. Jim Caviezel does very well playing the brawn while Michael Emerson is clearly one of the bestI think this show has been perfectly cast. Jim Caviezel does very well playing the brawn while Michael Emerson is clearly one of the best cerebral actors around at the moment. Each episode is separate and only the back story carries over from one to the next, but i'm sure it could be adapted easily to make it more serial if need be (without it just being an extra long episode spit up). Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2011
    0
    I'm pretty tolerant, but we really don't need a revenge fantasy masquerading as moral nobility. I was going to take off 2 points forI'm pretty tolerant, but we really don't need a revenge fantasy masquerading as moral nobility. I was going to take off 2 points for unrelenting grimness, but had to take off 8 more for its sense of right and wrong. Even if it is TV. Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.