• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Mar 21, 2013
    90
    To watch Mr. Pacino's Spector pull himself back from the edge to shout, bitterly, that of course he knows this is only a rehearsal--he'll go on, awkwardly, to assure the shaken defense team that they've done well--is to feel the full force of the intelligence behind this drama.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Mar 21, 2013
    90
    It is surely is Mamet’s strongest drama in ages, and a seductive, devious essay on the tortured celebrity soul.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 21, 2013
    100
    Mamet is very much on his game in Phil Spector, but so is every member of his cast, including Al Pacino as Spector and Helen Mirren as attorney Linda Kenny Baden: Watching these two titans of acting work is half the fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 21, 2013
    83
    In the end, Phil Spector succeeds on the strength of its two marquee thespians. Mirren is wonderful throughout, Pacino scores in double figures and they have enough scenes together to make it all well worth your while.
  5. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Mar 20, 2013
    88
    Mamet and his actors have created a fascinating character study that puts our notions of prejudice, celebrity, media and justice in the spotlight.
  6. From Spector's verbal bluster, to all the chatter about ballistics and forensics, it's a very talkie 90 minutes, occasionally punctuated by a haunting soundtrack. But the high-caliber performers, as well as Mamet's sparkling dialogue, keep things compelling.
  7. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 20, 2013
    100
    Mirren and Pacino are fantastic, and Tambor rightfully underplays the larger-than-life Cutler, who rivals Spector himself.
  8. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Mar 15, 2013
    83
    The film costars an on-form Helen Mirren as Linda Kenney Baden, one of Spector's real-life defense attorneys.... Pacino too is excellent. [22 Mar 2013, p.58]
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Mar 18, 2014
    10
    Pacino and Mirren are absolutely fantastic in this! And Mamet wonderfully captures Spector's tortured soul and Linda's determination, which is just as strong as her (Mirren's) performance. Full Review »
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    Nothing about this film pops out. It seems like any other HBO show. Sure it features big names but they give dull performances rarely even shaping a character. The story is plain and would have been the same difference as a documentary. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    0
    Regardless of what people may say about this poorly researched movie or what they may say about Al Pacino, he nailed my father in his acting. But, as an author of another article stated regarding the movie as a whole "What's the point?". I certainly was not entertained by a movie that used misinformation to prove reasonable doubt. This movie was not only disrespectful to Lana Clarkson (whom I never met), it mischaracterized George C. Brand (the "bodyguard" that Al Pacino took the gun from in the studio). George (was my guardian and like a father to me and my brothers), would never have allowed my father to take his gun, especially since my father would have had his own.

    This movie was very disrespectful to even the Spector family by not at least acknowledging he had a wife (as bad as she was), at the time of the trial, in favor of a story more about LKB than my father.

    This movie is definitely NOT worth watching.
    Full Review »