Pillars of the Earth

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 23, 2010
Pillars of the Earth Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Set in twelfth century England, Pillars of the Earth is a tale about love, war and religious strife during the building of the Kingsbridge Cathedral.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. 88
    Ken Follett's 1989 historical novel had a resurgence in popularity as a 2007 Book Club selection, and should finally achieve world domination with this adaptation. Who knew the Middle Ages were so soap-operatically . . . dark?
  2. This requires commitment, it requires paying attention and it has few cartoonish interludes to give the audience a breather. It also reminds us the value and satisfaction we can find in a complex production executed well.
  3. 80
    The abundance of material plays out naturally, in a nicely arranged script by John Pielmeier that leans heavily on the R-rated soap side of things. You'll probably get lost in the high melodrama while watching this massive chess game, where the pawns are as prominent as the bishops, the king, and the queen.
  4. 75
    While Pillars can seem a bit comic, it isn't camp. The characters and their beliefs are treated seriously and with respect, and no one is without some virtue or some sin.
  5. Things get pretty wacky by the end--actually, they get wacky well before the end--but however unlikely, the proceedings are kept watchable by a cast that notably includes Ian McShane, Donald Sutherland, Rufus Sewell, and Eddie Redmayne.
  6. 63
    Yes, there's enough here to keep you tuning in. Just don't reach for the stars. They're out to lunch.
  7. 12
    Nothing about the slipshod writing or frenetic direction makes these people compelling, and some of them come across as downright cartoonish.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    Very faithful to the book, this miniseries succeeds in every way. The acting is as good as it gets and the scenery is beautiful. Very goodVery faithful to the book, this miniseries succeeds in every way. The acting is as good as it gets and the scenery is beautiful. Very good job! I'm eagerly awaiting the miniseries for a World Without End! Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    I never read the book but this mini-series brought me much, very much knowledge on the building of a cathedral, I think it was very well doneI never read the book but this mini-series brought me much, very much knowledge on the building of a cathedral, I think it was very well done and the last scene was just breathtaking I clearly adore this mini-series and I recommend anyone to watch it Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2010
    8
    Starz's new historical fiction mini-series, The Pillars of the Earth, about medieval England sets the desires of good men and women againstStarz's new historical fiction mini-series, The Pillars of the Earth, about medieval England sets the desires of good men and women against the desires of bad ones.

    The characters constantly struggle with the question of when it is better to acquiesce or stake their life on things that they want the most.

    They are forced to pick their battles wisely as each fight could mean the death of their life and legacy. For some that legacy is the thrown of England. For others it is building a masterpiece cathedral.

    The internal and external nature of these struggles add a certain amount of grandeur to the show's scope of storytelling and accentuates the central historical conflicts of the time.

    Pillars starts as King Henry I loses his only legitimate son, and heir to the thrown, to a shipwreck. Without an heir, those around him start angling to fill the power vacuum that would be created if the King should die.

    Battle lines are drawn between the King's daughter, the young Princess Maude, and his nephew Stephen. When King Henry meets his end, Stephen is handed the crown with the backing of the church.

    But Princess Maude, a new mother to a son and potential heir, resists. She raises an army with the help of those loyal to the late King. What follows is a time in England's history referred to as â
    Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2013
    4
    thought this series to be very weak, having read the book aswell. i put the responsibility on folletts inability to write realistic 3thought this series to be very weak, having read the book aswell. i put the responsibility on folletts inability to write realistic 3 dimensional characters.the good elements from the book, the dark potrayal of a hard time period is not conveyed to the screen. for example the whole cast look like they just had a hot shower and a good meal. if i go camping for just one night i look like rubbish compared to any one of these characters. to me the novel was quite average, but the tv series went a couple of steps in the wrong direction. either lose any attempt at medievel realism and make it a fantasy. or lose folletts childish characters and replace them with interesting downtrodden morally ambiguous people that reflect the setting Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2016
    2
    Well... this TV Serie or Movie or whatever that it is..it's just bad... the sceneries and the decoration it's just bad, sometimes there'sWell... this TV Serie or Movie or whatever that it is..it's just bad... the sceneries and the decoration it's just bad, sometimes there's unnecessary scenes... and plot too.
    Please don't watch this Serie or you are gonna just get bored..
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2010
    2
    Plodding and just rubbish, has some very odd editing, McShane in a bizarre performance and Matthew (Spooks) McFaden (?) has an accent thatPlodding and just rubbish, has some very odd editing, McShane in a bizarre performance and Matthew (Spooks) McFaden (?) has an accent that defies logic and geography in equal measure. Gave up during Episode Two and thought well...hope the Cathedral gets built and who cares Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2010
    0
    Horrible horrible horrible!! Loved loved loved the book. This movie is absolutely nothing like the book. They edit out the best parts of theHorrible horrible horrible!! Loved loved loved the book. This movie is absolutely nothing like the book. They edit out the best parts of the book, and add a bunch of crap to it. These people should be ashamed for making such a pile of crap. I bet they never even read the book Collapse

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers