Playing House : Season 1

  • Network: USA
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 29, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 28, 2014
    75
    They’ve basically taken that premise [of NBC's “Best Friends Forever”], switched up some of the details and reinvented that show for a new network, which isn’t a bad thing because the original concept was pretty humorous, and Parham and St. Clair play great besties.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 28, 2014
    75
    This little sitcom reminds you how rare female friendship is on prime time TV--and just how much fun it can be.
  3. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Apr 28, 2014
    75
    The pair has recast the concept and their chemistry into a suburban setting that feels fresher and friendlier, truly finding its footing at 10:30 with Sloane (and those gnomes).
  4. Reviewed by: Molly Eichel
    Apr 28, 2014
    75
    While that loving relationship between these two women is Playing House’s strength, to unlock its potential, and go beyond delightful sitcom, it needs to be about more than that, and there’s certainly potential for that growth.
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 25, 2014
    75
    The show is light with sharp baby kicks of meanness. [5 May 2014, p.46]
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Apr 29, 2014
    70
    When the material is overly familiar--Emma running into her high school boyfriend, the predictably quirky characters who populate a small town--their timing lifts it up a few notches.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 29, 2014
    70
    As at the Friars, the humor gets low at times, but the characters themselves do not; which is not to say that they keep their dignity. The conversation is long on riffing and syntactically comical constructions.
  8. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 29, 2014
    70
    In its first two episodes, Playing House does a nice job slowly building out its world and introducing an assortment of amusing, oddball characters.
  9. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 29, 2014
    70
    Expectations couldn't be lower for this unrequested reunion, which is why it comes as such a nice surprise that Playing House, while hardly anything new, provides a much happier showcase for these gals' effortlessly snarky chemistry.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Jun 14, 2014
    0
    Had a very difficult time watching the entire thing. Just kept thinking it was going to get better, sadly it did not. I was veryHad a very difficult time watching the entire thing. Just kept thinking it was going to get better, sadly it did not. I was very disappointed, not funny at all. Full Review »
  2. Aug 8, 2015
    0
    There has not been so much overacting since the Silent Films era. Almost funny.......
    These 2 women are not Lucy and Ethel nor even Shirley
    There has not been so much overacting since the Silent Films era. Almost funny.......
    These 2 women are not Lucy and Ethel nor even Shirley and Laverne.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 25, 2015
    1
    I liked the overall premise of the series. However, after watching a few episodes, I became disappointed. What thirty-something women speakI liked the overall premise of the series. However, after watching a few episodes, I became disappointed. What thirty-something women speak like they do? "Totes Kewl"? "Adorbs"? "Body be bangin'"? There was actually a recent commercial showcasing these idiotic sayings. Seriously, I've never heard anyone over the age of 15 speak like that. Humor can be achieved without immature catchphrases. I guess I'm not the right audience for this type of show. Full Review »