• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 29, 2014
Season #: 1, 2
Playing House Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After discovering Maggie Caruso's (Lennon Parham) marriage was ending, Emma Crawford (Jessica St. Clair) gives up her career in China to return to her hometown to help her preganant best friend raise her baby.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 28, 2014
    75
    They’ve basically taken that premise [of NBC's “Best Friends Forever”], switched up some of the details and reinvented that show for a new network, which isn’t a bad thing because the original concept was pretty humorous, and Parham and St. Clair play great besties.
  2. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Apr 28, 2014
    75
    The pair has recast the concept and their chemistry into a suburban setting that feels fresher and friendlier, truly finding its footing at 10:30 with Sloane (and those gnomes).
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 28, 2014
    75
    This little sitcom reminds you how rare female friendship is on prime time TV--and just how much fun it can be.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 29, 2014
    70
    Expectations couldn't be lower for this unrequested reunion, which is why it comes as such a nice surprise that Playing House, while hardly anything new, provides a much happier showcase for these gals' effortlessly snarky chemistry.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Apr 29, 2014
    70
    As at the Friars, the humor gets low at times, but the characters themselves do not; which is not to say that they keep their dignity. The conversation is long on riffing and syntactically comical constructions.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 29, 2014
    70
    In its first two episodes, Playing House does a nice job slowly building out its world and introducing an assortment of amusing, oddball characters.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Apr 28, 2014
    40
    Maybe the writers will eventually stop making Maggie and Emma sound like high school ditzes and start giving them grown-up dialogue that matches their grown-up situation. Until that happens, the main attraction here is Keegan-Michael Key of the delicious Comedy Central show “Key & Peele.”

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Dec 8, 2014
    10
    this show has so much heart and is fast paced wit that keeps you going. Very unexpected funny too. Needs to be renewed. best of the best ofthis show has so much heart and is fast paced wit that keeps you going. Very unexpected funny too. Needs to be renewed. best of the best of shows. I hope I can see season 2 soon Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    These women have a Rudolph/Wiig chemistry I can't get enough of. Their conversations are believable, and I find myself laughing at not justThese women have a Rudolph/Wiig chemistry I can't get enough of. Their conversations are believable, and I find myself laughing at not just the punchlines, but the whole set up. I sincerely hope this show gets a decent chance at survival. I'm still mourning the loss of Happy Endings, and this would certainly help me move along! Expand
  3. May 12, 2014
    10
    Love this show! USA network has the best shows and this one is no exception. The banter between the two women is so much fun. I look forwardLove this show! USA network has the best shows and this one is no exception. The banter between the two women is so much fun. I look forward to watching more. Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    BEST SHOW I'VE SEEN IN YEARS!!!!! You have to renew it. i watch the episodes over and over with friends. The characters are funny but notBEST SHOW I'VE SEEN IN YEARS!!!!! You have to renew it. i watch the episodes over and over with friends. The characters are funny but not corny and i can relate to them in real life. amazing show!!!!!!!! Expand
  5. May 23, 2014
    9
    What a nice show, the actresses have a really great chemistry, it's quirky and very charming. It's perfect after a long day at work, veryWhat a nice show, the actresses have a really great chemistry, it's quirky and very charming. It's perfect after a long day at work, very relaxing and nice to see female characters which aren't walking stereotypes. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    Parham and St. Claire have a natural chemistry. The show is funny (Parham's Bocephus impersonation is hilarious) without being forced. JaneParham and St. Claire have a natural chemistry. The show is funny (Parham's Bocephus impersonation is hilarious) without being forced. Jane Kaczmarek is a hoot as the mother who publicly avoids her daughter. One of the summer's best comedies. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2014
    0
    Had a very difficult time watching the entire thing. Just kept thinking it was going to get better, sadly it did not. I was veryHad a very difficult time watching the entire thing. Just kept thinking it was going to get better, sadly it did not. I was very disappointed, not funny at all. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews