• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 15, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Political Animals Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Divorced former First Lady and current Secretary of State Elaine Barrish (Sigourney Weaver) balances crises in politics and within her own family.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Aug 27, 2012
    100
    Fast-paced, darkly funny and scathingly sharp, Political Animals seamlessly blends family drama with real-world issues, including an early crisis in the Middle East.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 12, 2012
    80
    Political Animals verges right up to the edge of ludicrous with the right combination of salty-sweet and silly-smart.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jul 13, 2012
    80
    [Political Animals is] a high-class, relatively naturalistic, behind-closed-doors soap opera that plays in fairly obvious yet also fairly affecting ways with the space between public face and private pain and is made highly watchable by an excellent cast that finds the human among the hokum.
  4. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jul 12, 2012
    70
    Political Animals crams elements of conventional TV fare into a blender and makes something that is wildly different and kind of liberating.
  5. 60
    Too much of Political Animals feels like good-enough-for-government-work drama, and I can't help believing it would have been more compelling, maybe genuinely subversive, if it had replaced some of the scenes that attack the show's main themes head-on with pick-axes, and substituted ones that showed the female characters simply doing their jobs, commanding more than reluctant respect from men.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jul 12, 2012
    58
    Sunday's 90-minute premiere makes for an unintended hoot, both ridiculous and often ridiculously watchable.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jul 10, 2012
    25
    Wanting soap and dirt--a lot of dirt--he [creator Greg Berlanti] has fashioned something that's watchable only if you completely divorce it from the realm of credibility.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    i am so hooked on this show... its such a great story with amazing characters... and the actors chosen just woow they play their part withi am so hooked on this show... its such a great story with amazing characters... and the actors chosen just woow they play their part with such greatness.... i just wish there's more cause a few episodes aren't enough... Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    A powerhouse showcase for Weaver with the perfect ensemble cast. It's a slow build with the payoffs to make this worthy of a series 2. WhileA powerhouse showcase for Weaver with the perfect ensemble cast. It's a slow build with the payoffs to make this worthy of a series 2. While the exploration of the family is strong its when Weaver is dealing with matters of state rather than the state of her family that the series shines. Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Signorney was outstanding-writing quick and witty-I loved every second and can't wait for the next episode-definitely on my do-not-miss (orSignorney was outstanding-writing quick and witty-I loved every second and can't wait for the next episode-definitely on my do-not-miss (or do-DVR) list! Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    the acting and writing is top notch... however, they need to add more to the "extras" to make the show more believable. For example... theythe acting and writing is top notch... however, they need to add more to the "extras" to make the show more believable. For example... they cast only one bodyguard to protect the Secretary ? Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2012
    7
    Great writing and snappy dialog keep this from being the usual prime time bilge. The Clinton's should get residuals! Nice to see a gay guy whoGreat writing and snappy dialog keep this from being the usual prime time bilge. The Clinton's should get residuals! Nice to see a gay guy who is a lush and easy to dislike, I'm tired of stereotypes. This is like the "West Wing meets Smash" an intelligent soap. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2012
    2
    This has got to be one of the worst mini-series efforts in the history of TV. The writing is absolutely abysmal, and the dialogue is lacedThis has got to be one of the worst mini-series efforts in the history of TV. The writing is absolutely abysmal, and the dialogue is laced with the most gratuitous profanity I've ever witnessed. The ex-prez character who's a transparent parody of Bill Clinton is especially offensive and ludicrous, a buffoon who can't utter a sentence not laden with obscenities. A disaster. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    0
    We are very near the end of civilization as we know it. To think this dreck was greenlighted and that Sigourney Weaver consented to appear inWe are very near the end of civilization as we know it. To think this dreck was greenlighted and that Sigourney Weaver consented to appear in it is mind boggling. My wife and I found ourselves wishing an alien would suddenly pop out of her chest and change the direction of this assault on the intellect and three of the five senses. It was cartoonish, tawdry and lame. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews