Portlandia Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The comedy set in Portland, Oregon stars Fred Armisen and Sleater-Kinney's Carrie Brownstein.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 20, 2011
    100
    Brownstein and Armisen move so effortlessly between characters, then execute their riffs, tics, styles and voices with such skilled abandon that before long this doesn't seem like satire any longer but a fun house mirror reflection of intensely real people.
  2. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Mar 3, 2011
    88
    Knowing but not pretentious, snarky but not sneering, Portlandia succeeds both as farce and as faithful representation of a population for whom the dream--of the '90s or anything else, for that matter--is still alive.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 20, 2011
    80
    The series is a better-heeled, better-paced and, within the bounds of its own Portland-ish modesty, a more ambitious extension of the occasional videos that Armisen and Portland resident Brownstein have posted online over the past few years under the name ThunderAnt.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 18, 2011
    70
    Like any sketch comedy show, IFC's Portlandia has hit-and-miss sketches, but when they hit, they do so with a laughter-inducing amount of comedic force.
  5. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jan 21, 2011
    70
    While the first two episodes of Portlandia are hit-and-miss, its good-natured satire generally hits, as they say, pretty close to home.
  6. Reviewed by: Jon Caramanica
    Jan 20, 2011
    70
    Often Ms. Brownstein, wide-eyed and sincere, gets the best of Mr. Armisen, who's been exaggerating characters for so long on "Saturday Night Live" that it's tough for him to capture the understatement of these caricatures.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 20, 2011
    30
    Portlandia, a vanity project from "Saturday Night Live's" Fred Armisen that plays like an awful night at the Groundlings, or worse, a collection of the most uninspired sketches from "SNL's" final half-hour.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. soo good!knkjjj jkn kjn jn kjn kjn kj on jn ijn ijn ijn in in in n u ininin inijni inijnin injnj ybyby ybybyb ikk9 uunun unhnu ununun uniunin inini iuniuniun Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    This show isn't the funniest show, but the reason I give this show a 10 out of 10 is because of the great cast and the great humor of this show. Fred Armisen and Carrie Brownstein are a great duo! The first episode wasn't the best, but ever since, it's been building up steam.This Show is a definite must watch for indie comedy and any kind of comedy lovers out their! Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    Absolutely hilarious. If you are a fan of Two and Half Men or most CBS sitcoms, you probably won't care for this show. I have a new respect for Fred Armisen. One of the best shows since The Upright Citizens Brigade. Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2012
    8
    How could you not laugh at this! This is like Tim and Eric but reigned in just a tad and pointed towards everything that is great about Portland. I especially love the Women and Women First skits. I could see some of the material could get old but as long as they pump out fresh material I will continue to enjoy this show. Collapse
  5. Jul 28, 2013
    7
    A pretty addictive show but gets tiresome after a couple to few episodes of watching. Some skits are completely unfunny while others are entertaining. It's a hit-and-miss show but keeps you hooked with its entertainment factor. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    6
    If you are from Portland or have spent much time there, definitely watch this show. If you have no connection with Portland, eh, you can probably just skip it. By far the funniest thing for me are the myriad references to Portland culture, since I used to live there, this show is very nostalgic for me. But besides that, the laughs are sporadic. I love the fact a show was made based around Portland though, that makes me happy. Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2011
    2
    I was really looking forward to this series. I love Fred Armisen. However, the first of six episodes ended with a thud and not much promise. I shouldn't watch this much comedic talent in one show and not even crack a smile. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews