Power : Season 1

  • Network: Starz
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 7, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    Much of the real beauty of Power lies in the details, conversational and visual.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 5, 2014
    75
    The opening episode--already posted online--is a bit sluggish, but Power gets better in subsequent episodes. Starz, and Fitty, appear to have a winner.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 6, 2014
    67
    Hardwick might be the most jacked actor working on TV and has some nice moments with Loren as he tries to reconnect with a love that has only grown fonder over the years. But the dialogue, slathered with f-bombs, seems lazy, and there’s not much ur­gency to the plot.
  4. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jun 6, 2014
    70
    While the series is not exactly imaginative or subtle (stretch limos, Chivas Regal, call girls), it’s surprisingly enjoyable.
  5. 80
    Created by Courtney Kemp Agboh, the Emmy-nominated writer/producer of The Good Wife, and fueled by a powerful yet understated performance by Omari Hardwick, the series captures the spirit of Fitzgerald's novel while telling a story that's very much of our time.
  6. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Kyle Anderson
    May 30, 2014
    75
    The volatile combo of elements leads to occasionally sloppy storytelling, but the cast--particularly the icy Hardwick and the oft-nude Naughton--makes it a deeply bingeable guilty pleasure. [30 May 2014, p.115]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this show, i tune in with my girl every Saturday night so far and plan on continuing. Love the plot, the acting is great andI absolutely love this show, i tune in with my girl every Saturday night so far and plan on continuing. Love the plot, the acting is great and the music continuously surprises me... 50 did a great job in conjunction with all of the others who helped put this show together! Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    POWER is a GREAT show! With Courtney Kemp (Good Wife) and 50 Cent on board there is a lot of hype and pressure and the first episode delivers!POWER is a GREAT show! With Courtney Kemp (Good Wife) and 50 Cent on board there is a lot of hype and pressure and the first episode delivers! Great atmosphere, realism, suspense, mystery, and action make the first episode great. Omari Hardwicks's character GHOST is a drug dealer who has kids. This gives many story arcs and leaves him with something to lose. He is smart enough to see he cannot be a drug dealer forever but those around him can't. Theres conflicting love interests and amazing action and most of all SUSPENSE AND MYSTERY. This is a great show that will keep you hooked! Full Review »
  3. Jun 7, 2014
    10
    Loved it. Watched the preview last week and I am having withdrawal. The old girlfriend storyline is a bit predictable, but this show isLoved it. Watched the preview last week and I am having withdrawal. The old girlfriend storyline is a bit predictable, but this show is going to be my new summer favorite. I am hoping people give it a chance. Full Review »