• Network: ABC Family
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 8, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 143

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    As a teenager, I find it catchy and interesting. I think the fact that it has a mix of genres makes it different. Sure, it can be a little cliche and generally predictable but the subplots are basically unique. Let`s take the relationships as an example. I mean, most High school drama series nowadays make us believe that our relationships in high school are the "real" ones. It may not be for an adult crowd but a lot of us teenagers enjoy watching this show. Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    This is from a teen's perspective, but I really like this show. I am aware that it's not the most unique or has the best plot, but I thought it was perfect for teenagers who like drama. It annoyed my mom, but I know it's a show for 13-18 year olds specifically, and not for the adult crowd.
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    A story about teenage girls, pretty looking, popular and naughty. Sorry, haven't we seen something similar already on the market? No, we have not, even if it looks like we have. This series is something really special. It is about the thrust, friendship and of course, keeping secrets. Simple, isn't it. I would say so, but when you start watching this series you realise that it isn't. Life of a teenager, even if he/she looks handsome/pretty can be complicated and hard to live. That kind of life are tasting also four teenage girls who have lost a good friend last summer. They didn't really lost her, she disappeared and now they have finally found her body, she is dead. Is she, why are those four friends still getting text messages from her, signed -A ? Looks scary and complicated? I can only tell you that it will get worse. Other facts and things will you have to discover yourself by watching it. You won't be sorry for it. -A Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    I would have been missing out if it weren't for my friend. She told me to watch it because it's a good show. I thought the show has a recipe to be something completely trashy or something great. It takes great writing in order for a show to be watchable. Pretty Little Liars is not just another ABC Family show, it actually has some factors in every episode that would leave your mouth opens for the whole scene. Once you watch it, you'd never be able to stop. Guilty Pleasure! Collapse
  5. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Wow, What A Great Show! I Expected Bad But I Was WRONG!
    The Acting Is Great.. Plots Leave You Wanting To Know More! Holly Marie Combs Has A Great Comeback In The Show..
    Honestly The Best New Show For Teens/Adults!
  6. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I love Pretty Little Liars so much. Aria, Spencer, Emily and Hanna are so awesome. I love this show so much that i look forward to Tuesday's so much. All the episodes are amazing. Some are creepy, some are brilliant and some are both. Pretty Little Liars is my all time favorite show in the world.
  7. aev
    Jan 30, 2013
    10
    This show is so much fun. It always keeps you guessing and forming theories about what happened or what will happen!! There aren't that many shows that are as unpredictable as this one. Definitely would recommend it.
  8. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    Even though this show can lose its believability at some times I still can't take my eyes off of it. The romances are unparalleled and this show actually has extremely good acting given its demographic and general nature. This show will keep you guessing and wanting more the entire time.
  9. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I have watched all the episodes of PLL and I must say I really like this show. The storyline is dynamic, acting is great. You can't predict what is gonna happen or who is behind A. +Gorgeous actresses. This show is great for the whole family.
  10. May 31, 2012
    10
    The Best Show Currently Airing On TV!
    The Cast And Plot Is Amazing!
  11. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Pretty Little Liars is a frightening, yet satisfying source of entertainment for all ages! Based on the novels by Sara Shepard, this show consists of sweet suspense filled with drama, romance, action, and mystery! The four 16 year old girls reunite after the death of their friend and undergo a mission to discover who, or what, has brought them back together again. Their friendship revolves around their friend, Alison, and they face their challenges together, even though secrets are entitled to each individual alone. The mysterious mission to figure out who is watching their every move is sure to have viewers coming back for more! The show teaches a lesson, as well as provides fun entertainment. As the girls start to remember events from the night Alison went missing, it is up to them to tell somebody and risk their life, or keep is secret and obey the texts they receive from "A." When the girls meet new people and start to feel good about their lives, "A" makes sure that the feeling doesn't last by messaging another threat. The dark suspense of the mystery can be frightening, but it is worth watching! The actresses are definitely a strength of the show as their bond as characters is incredible! The only weakness is how they drag the series on and at times do not seem to accomplish much. Overall it is a fun tv show that provides entertainment despite the weakness of its length. The drama allows viewers to create their own perception of what should happen next and leaves room for imagination! I am still coming back for more after 40 episodes. The romance that occurs within the anticipation serves as a great relaxer for the viewers. The series is continuous but extremely unpredictable which is what sets it apart from other shows. If you like a good adrenaline rush from the penetrating suspensful drama, this show is perfect for you! Even though it sounds as if it is a show for women, that is definitely not the case! I got my younger brother hooked on watching it with me after one episode. The suspense, drama secrets, and action never get old and it is sure to only get better as a the series continues! Expand
  12. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    I am really drawn to the whole story of this series because it makes you want to know more about the murder and who has been sending these texts. All we know is that the person sending them these text messages is named
  13. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    The show is great! If the model-like actors/actresses and the somewhat goofy name are what is drawing you away from the show, take a chance and watch an episode anyways. I originally thought it would be ridiculous, but was pleasantly surprised to find it was quickly becoming one of my favorite shows. Aside from some corny dialogue, the show is very enjoyable, and, the corny dialogue is actually sort of funny in a "that was SO corny" way. The romance is also written very well, and they don't push the plot out of the way for the romance. Overall, definitely a recommended watching for anyone who enjoys thrilling and suspenseful drama. Expand
  14. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    One of my all time favorite shows on TV! Great acting, great story line, plenty of mystery, and constant twists and turns that keep you wanting more! The writers are brilliant and know how to answer your questions but give you more questions at the same time! It never gets dull or boring and keeps you guessing. You may think you know but you never really do!
  15. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    i really don't know why people imply so much with this tv serie, maybe it's because the serie talks about teenagers and some problems, and people don't understand that this serie is for teenagers! But really, this serie is really good, you can't judge this serie watching one or two episodes, if you see the others you can really surprise yourself! I love the way the serie retrates the bullying and the teenagers problems. The actors surprising in every episode!! But some times they wrap too much for discover who is the A, but you better watch before create a opinion about this serie Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. This is a series with no redemptive value. It barely qualifies as entertainment, but sexy summer trash will always find an audience. That's the inescapable truth at the heart of Pretty Little Liars.
  2. Reviewed by: LG
    16
    It hits every ''racy'' teentertainment mark so hard (everyone's hair is so full - of secrets!) that it feels like the only thing missing is a visit from the ghosts of Jennifer Love Hewitt and Freddie Prinze Jr.
  3. 75
    The ridiculously expensive wardrobes, the fabulous hair and makeup, plus a high school with not a single fatty is well, yes, the stuff of teen fantasy. And that is exactly what Pretty Little Liars is: a glamorous, spooky, adolescent fantasy.