• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 8, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Pretty Little Liars Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The series based on Sara Shepard's popular teen novels focuses on four teenaged girls who made a pact not to talk about what happened the night their friend disappeared a year ago.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. A new ABC Family series built around four teenage friends and an ominous hint of supernatural forces that mean no good, makes most popular vampire romances look anemic.
  2. 75
    The ridiculously expensive wardrobes, the fabulous hair and makeup, plus a high school with not a single fatty is well, yes, the stuff of teen fantasy. And that is exactly what Pretty Little Liars is: a glamorous, spooky, adolescent fantasy.
  3. What the show lacks in this kind of irreverence it makes up for in plain old addictive soapiness.
  4. Sure, there's a lot here that sustains more eye-rolling than interested stares, but a little patience might be warranted. Only with future episodes can Liars prove whether it's "Desperate Housewives" for tweens or just another trashy, pretty little error.
  5. 50
    Pretty Little Liars doesn't have the sense of humor -- or the wardrobe -- of "Gossip Girl." In fact, a surprising number of scenes call for bikinis. But the ongoing mystery (not to mention a secret referred only to "the Jenna thing") may prove irresistible to young people.
  6. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    40
    While no one beyond the show's target audience--teens in need of something to squeal over until Gossip Girl returns next season--would claim that Pretty Little Liars has a voluminous body, I must concede that it has a lustrous shine.
  7. Reviewed by: LG
    16
    It hits every ''racy'' teentertainment mark so hard (everyone's hair is so full - of secrets!) that it feels like the only thing missing is a visit from the ghosts of Jennifer Love Hewitt and Freddie Prinze Jr.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    One of my all time favorite shows on TV! Great acting, great story line, plenty of mystery, and constant twists and turns that keep you wanting more! The writers are brilliant and know how to answer your questions but give you more questions at the same time! It never gets dull or boring and keeps you guessing. You may think you know but you never really do! Expand
  2. aev
    Jan 30, 2013
    10
    This show is so much fun. It always keeps you guessing and forming theories about what happened or what will happen!! There aren't that many shows that are as unpredictable as this one. Definitely would recommend it. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    As a teenager, I find it catchy and interesting. I think the fact that it has a mix of genres makes it different. Sure, it can be a little cliche and generally predictable but the subplots are basically unique. Let`s take the relationships as an example. I mean, most High school drama series nowadays make us believe that our relationships in high school are the "real" ones. It may not be for an adult crowd but a lot of us teenagers enjoy watching this show. Expand
  4. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    Even though this show can lose its believability at some times I still can't take my eyes off of it. The romances are unparalleled and this show actually has extremely good acting given its demographic and general nature. This show will keep you guessing and wanting more the entire time. Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pretty Little Liars is actually a surprisingly good show... as long as you can appreciate the camp of it. It follows four teenagers as they attempt to discover who murdered their friend, as well as who is stalking them and sending them threatening messages. The show can be borderline disturbing at some points but only if you actually think about what's happening to these girls. It's much better than the book series that it's based on and the characters are likable and relatable. One of the surprising gems of the show is the character of Toby who starts out as a creepy, and somewhat unlikable force, but ends up being one of the most interesting, and sympathetic characters. The show is very campy and there are a lot of unintentionally hilarious moments, but that's part of the appeal. This show isn't House M.D or Dexter and it doesn't try to be. It's a fun show, that goes beyond the average summer programming to be surprisingly good. It's easy to get hooked on. The one aspect of this show that is actually not entertaining is the student/teacher relationship between Ezra and Aria. I watched the show online and found myself skipping their scene halfway through the season because they were so unbearable. Thankfully the writers show that they are able to write a decent romance plot when they bring to the forefront any one of Spencer's relationships but in particular her relationship with Toby which deserves recognition for being the most real on the show. All in all Pretty Little Liars is a show that I'd recommend to anybody for some unintentionally hilarious moments, but also for some surprisingly well written, and touching moments which bring this show out of guilty pleasure range to make it simply a good show Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2011
    6
    What Pretty Little Liars lacks in originality, it makes up for in how deliciously wicked it is... This guilty pleasure is just that and should be regarded as such. Pretty Little Liars, or Gossip Girl for the class of 2011-2013 is a fun show and is definitely the guilty pleasure of the summer. Not really innovative but there is something comforting about familiar territory. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    0
    I'm a 23 year old woman who enjoys this show greatly. When i choose a show to watch i look for qualities that i like. This show has those qualities. Mystery, sadness, secrets and good looking cast I'm not predigest against heavy people I'm not skinny but i like that they have a good looking cast. Honestly I'm not looking at this show by the are they hot factor but as a mystery you think you have it all figured out then they put a twist in it and they keep you guessing. I think that's the best part of the show they just have curve ball after curve ball and are able to play it out very well. I have a lot of friends that love this show ranging from 16 to 40 i got them hooked a lot of my friends are just starting this show on Netflix and they cant wait to see what happens. My last final words are just watch the show if you love a great mystery look past the drama if its not your things (personally i love it. ) but some don"t like drama but the mystery is worth it for sure. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews