Pretty Little Liars : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Pretty Little Liars Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 261 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The series based on Sara Shepard's popular teen novels focuses on four teenaged girls who made a pact not to talk about what happened the night their friend disappeared a year ago.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. A new ABC Family series built around four teenage friends and an ominous hint of supernatural forces that mean no good, makes most popular vampire romances look anemic.
  2. 75
    The ridiculously expensive wardrobes, the fabulous hair and makeup, plus a high school with not a single fatty is well, yes, the stuff of teen fantasy. And that is exactly what Pretty Little Liars is: a glamorous, spooky, adolescent fantasy.
  3. What the show lacks in this kind of irreverence it makes up for in plain old addictive soapiness.
  4. Sure, there's a lot here that sustains more eye-rolling than interested stares, but a little patience might be warranted. Only with future episodes can Liars prove whether it's "Desperate Housewives" for tweens or just another trashy, pretty little error.
  5. 50
    Pretty Little Liars doesn't have the sense of humor -- or the wardrobe -- of "Gossip Girl." In fact, a surprising number of scenes call for bikinis. But the ongoing mystery (not to mention a secret referred only to "the Jenna thing") may prove irresistible to young people.
  6. Pretty Little Liars is entitled to its version. If only it could have resisted some of the other cliches.
  7. 16
    It hits every ''racy'' teentertainment mark so hard (everyone's hair is so full - of secrets!) that it feels like the only thing missing is a visit from the ghosts of Jennifer Love Hewitt and Freddie Prinze Jr.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 45
  2. Negative: 4 out of 45
  1. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    As a teenager, I find it catchy and interesting. I think the fact that it has a mix of genres makes it different. Sure, it can be a littleAs a teenager, I find it catchy and interesting. I think the fact that it has a mix of genres makes it different. Sure, it can be a little cliche and generally predictable but the subplots are basically unique. Let`s take the relationships as an example. I mean, most High school drama series nowadays make us believe that our relationships in high school are the "real" ones. It may not be for an adult crowd but a lot of us teenagers enjoy watching this show. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    I end up watching eight-eleven episodes a day. Seriously, this show completes my everyday life. It has a different story, not just anotherI end up watching eight-eleven episodes a day. Seriously, this show completes my everyday life. It has a different story, not just another it's-getting-boring teen series. PLL gave me goosebumps ---- EVERY SCENE. And of course, as a girly-girl teenager, there fashion style is a 'must watch'. Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I love Pretty Little Liars so much. Aria, Spencer, Emily and Hanna are so awesome. I love this show so much that i look forward to Tuesday'sI love Pretty Little Liars so much. Aria, Spencer, Emily and Hanna are so awesome. I love this show so much that i look forward to Tuesday's so much. All the episodes are amazing. Some are creepy, some are brilliant and some are both. Pretty Little Liars is my all time favorite show in the world. Collapse
  4. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pretty Little Liars is actually a surprisingly good show... as long as you can appreciate the camp of it. It follows four teenagers as they attempt to discover who murdered their friend, as well as who is stalking them and sending them threatening messages. The show can be borderline disturbing at some points but only if you actually think about what's happening to these girls. It's much better than the book series that it's based on and the characters are likable and relatable. One of the surprising gems of the show is the character of Toby who starts out as a creepy, and somewhat unlikable force, but ends up being one of the most interesting, and sympathetic characters. The show is very campy and there are a lot of unintentionally hilarious moments, but that's part of the appeal. This show isn't House M.D or Dexter and it doesn't try to be. It's a fun show, that goes beyond the average summer programming to be surprisingly good. It's easy to get hooked on. The one aspect of this show that is actually not entertaining is the student/teacher relationship between Ezra and Aria. I watched the show online and found myself skipping their scene halfway through the season because they were so unbearable. Thankfully the writers show that they are able to write a decent romance plot when they bring to the forefront any one of Spencer's relationships but in particular her relationship with Toby which deserves recognition for being the most real on the show. All in all Pretty Little Liars is a show that I'd recommend to anybody for some unintentionally hilarious moments, but also for some surprisingly well written, and touching moments which bring this show out of guilty pleasure range to make it simply a good show Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. “Pretty Little Liars” is a current monument that stands tall in teen culture, and with its recent release on Netflix, its only going to continue to grow. The basis of the plotline surrounds a group of four friends: Hanna (Ashley Benson), Spencer (Troian Bellisario), Emily (Shay Mitchell) and Aria (Lucy Hale), who are the victims of a sinister stalker using the pseudonym of “A”, whom started targeting them after the disappearance of their former ring leader, Alison (Sasha Pieterse) – think Gossip Girl meets Mean Girls.
    Despite this plot line being targeted at teenage girls, after being tricked into watching one episode with my 16-year old sister, I a 20-year old male found myself hooked within the space of approximately 45 minutes. The main reason for my new found addiction was largely due to the mystery surrounding this “A” figure, and how a girl who is presumed to be dead, Alison, can continue to haunt her former friends’ lives. PLL has an enormous fan base, with the show attracting audiences of approximately over 2 million with each episode. Recently the show was released on Netflix, meaning it will now be available to even more teenage girls, and men, who are more than likely to find themselves addicted too.
    The four main characters in the show: Emily, Aria, Spencer and Hanna, are all extremely different to each other, but their bond is shown to be unbreakable. Emily (Shay Mitchell) is a gay character, which in the first series struggles to come to terms with this, and also has to try and tell her extremely judgemental mother that she is gay. Emily is actually my favourite character and I believe that she is too often overlooked. Shay Mitchell delivers an extremely well performance of Emily in every single episode, pushing me to pretty much fall in love with her. Emily is seen to be the weakest of the four girls, but as the series progresses, I believe she becomes the strongest, especially as she gets put through the worst of “A’s” sinister games.
    Aria (Lucy Hale) is more of the quirky character, at the start of series 1 she has just returned from a year in Iceland. She is shown to be more edgier than the rest of girls, but also very loyal. Aria’s main struggle throughout the series is the relationship in which she embarks upon with her English teacher, Ezra Fitz and preventing “A” from sharing the details of this relationship with the world. Aria is my least favourite of the girls; I found many of her decisions to be selfish and also immature – something that could be seen as playing with fire due to danger she is putting Ezra in, the poor chap is at risk of losing his livelihood and being sent to jail if found out to be engaging in what would be seen as an inappropriate relationship with a student.
    Spencer (Troian Bellisario) and Hanna (Ashley Benson) both are incredible characters, Spencer comes from a family of overachievers and is shown to struggle to try and move out of her older sister’s shadow and into the spot light. Troian’s performance of Spencer is exceptional, some of the scenes in series 3 would not have been as powerful as they were had someone else been portraying Spencer. Hanna is a character who was once overweight, the group’s former ringleader is shown in flashbacks to have made snide comments about Hanna’s weight, however in the present she has lost the weight and is seen as one of the most popular girls in school. Ashley Benson’s portrayal of Hannah earned her roles in box office hits such as Springbreakers, highlighting just how captivating it is. However one critique I have of this role is that Hanna is shown to have gained her popularity through losing weight – in a society where body image is a very difficult topic to address, I feel like this was a maybe a bad move by the writers of the show, but then again the show did premier a couple of years before social media became such a powerful force and Twitter wasn’t so popular.
    The Liars, as the group is referred to, all work together and try to figure out who “A” is and what happened to their friend Alison. Over the course of the show, despite the occasional falling out, the Liars are shown to build the bond they share into an unbreakable one – perhaps this is why the programme has managed to capture the hearts of teenage girls around the world: it portrays four beautiful girls who have a friendship that no one can break, not even a crazy stalker who impersonates their presumed dead friend.
    Another reason for the shows success is that it actually can be quite scary, many times over the past 7 days when I have been feeding this addiction I have actually felt like someone was watching me due to creepy scenes in the show. If its not scenes of the hooded figure playing with dolls in a room full of pictures of the four Liars, then it usually the creepy messages the stalker leaves once he has managed to break into one of the girl’s houses.
    Overall, PLL had me so addicted that I managed to watch series 1-4 within the space of 10 days.
    Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2011
    6
    What Pretty Little Liars lacks in originality, it makes up for in how deliciously wicked it is... This guilty pleasure is just that and shouldWhat Pretty Little Liars lacks in originality, it makes up for in how deliciously wicked it is... This guilty pleasure is just that and should be regarded as such. Pretty Little Liars, or Gossip Girl for the class of 2011-2013 is a fun show and is definitely the guilty pleasure of the summer. Not really innovative but there is something comforting about familiar territory. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    0
    I'm a 23 year old woman who enjoys this show greatly. When i choose a show to watch i look for qualities that i like. This show has thoseI'm a 23 year old woman who enjoys this show greatly. When i choose a show to watch i look for qualities that i like. This show has those qualities. Mystery, sadness, secrets and good looking cast I'm not predigest against heavy people I'm not skinny but i like that they have a good looking cast. Honestly I'm not looking at this show by the are they hot factor but as a mystery you think you have it all figured out then they put a twist in it and they keep you guessing. I think that's the best part of the show they just have curve ball after curve ball and are able to play it out very well. I have a lot of friends that love this show ranging from 16 to 40 i got them hooked a lot of my friends are just starting this show on Netflix and they cant wait to see what happens. My last final words are just watch the show if you love a great mystery look past the drama if its not your things (personally i love it. ) but some don"t like drama but the mystery is worth it for sure. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews

Trailers