Pretty Little Liars : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Pretty Little Liars Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 282 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The series based on Sara Shepard's popular teen novels focuses on four teenaged girls who made a pact not to talk about what happened the night their friend disappeared a year ago.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pretty Little Liars
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. A new ABC Family series built around four teenage friends and an ominous hint of supernatural forces that mean no good, makes most popular vampire romances look anemic.
  2. 75
    The ridiculously expensive wardrobes, the fabulous hair and makeup, plus a high school with not a single fatty is well, yes, the stuff of teen fantasy. And that is exactly what Pretty Little Liars is: a glamorous, spooky, adolescent fantasy.
  3. What the show lacks in this kind of irreverence it makes up for in plain old addictive soapiness.
  4. Sure, there's a lot here that sustains more eye-rolling than interested stares, but a little patience might be warranted. Only with future episodes can Liars prove whether it's "Desperate Housewives" for tweens or just another trashy, pretty little error.
  5. 50
    Pretty Little Liars doesn't have the sense of humor -- or the wardrobe -- of "Gossip Girl." In fact, a surprising number of scenes call for bikinis. But the ongoing mystery (not to mention a secret referred only to "the Jenna thing") may prove irresistible to young people.
  6. Pretty Little Liars is entitled to its version. If only it could have resisted some of the other cliches.
  7. 16
    It hits every ''racy'' teentertainment mark so hard (everyone's hair is so full - of secrets!) that it feels like the only thing missing is a visit from the ghosts of Jennifer Love Hewitt and Freddie Prinze Jr.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 49
  2. Negative: 5 out of 49
  1. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    I started watching pretty little liars in December and I can say that I don’t regret it. It’s a very good series. There is a good mix ofI started watching pretty little liars in December and I can say that I don’t regret it. It’s a very good series. There is a good mix of love, action and mystery. In my opinion the actors and actresses are also very good, they make it come alive. I have nothing but positive things to say about it! So I can really recommend, especially it if you like a little bit of drama now and then. Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    I would have been missing out if it weren't for my friend. She told me to watch it because it's a good show. I thought the show has a recipeI would have been missing out if it weren't for my friend. She told me to watch it because it's a good show. I thought the show has a recipe to be something completely trashy or something great. It takes great writing in order for a show to be watchable. Pretty Little Liars is not just another ABC Family show, it actually has some factors in every episode that would leave your mouth opens for the whole scene. Once you watch it, you'd never be able to stop. Guilty Pleasure! Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    As a teenager, I find it catchy and interesting. I think the fact that it has a mix of genres makes it different. Sure, it can be a littleAs a teenager, I find it catchy and interesting. I think the fact that it has a mix of genres makes it different. Sure, it can be a little cliche and generally predictable but the subplots are basically unique. Let`s take the relationships as an example. I mean, most High school drama series nowadays make us believe that our relationships in high school are the "real" ones. It may not be for an adult crowd but a lot of us teenagers enjoy watching this show. Expand
  4. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. “Pretty Little Liars” is a current monument that stands tall in teen culture, and with its recent release on Netflix, its only going to continue to grow. The basis of the plotline surrounds a group of four friends: Hanna (Ashley Benson), Spencer (Troian Bellisario), Emily (Shay Mitchell) and Aria (Lucy Hale), who are the victims of a sinister stalker using the pseudonym of “A”, whom started targeting them after the disappearance of their former ring leader, Alison (Sasha Pieterse) – think Gossip Girl meets Mean Girls.
    Despite this plot line being targeted at teenage girls, after being tricked into watching one episode with my 16-year old sister, I a 20-year old male found myself hooked within the space of approximately 45 minutes. The main reason for my new found addiction was largely due to the mystery surrounding this “A” figure, and how a girl who is presumed to be dead, Alison, can continue to haunt her former friends’ lives. PLL has an enormous fan base, with the show attracting audiences of approximately over 2 million with each episode. Recently the show was released on Netflix, meaning it will now be available to even more teenage girls, and men, who are more than likely to find themselves addicted too.
    The four main characters in the show: Emily, Aria, Spencer and Hanna, are all extremely different to each other, but their bond is shown to be unbreakable. Emily (Shay Mitchell) is a gay character, which in the first series struggles to come to terms with this, and also has to try and tell her extremely judgemental mother that she is gay. Emily is actually my favourite character and I believe that she is too often overlooked. Shay Mitchell delivers an extremely well performance of Emily in every single episode, pushing me to pretty much fall in love with her. Emily is seen to be the weakest of the four girls, but as the series progresses, I believe she becomes the strongest, especially as she gets put through the worst of “A’s” sinister games.
    Aria (Lucy Hale) is more of the quirky character, at the start of series 1 she has just returned from a year in Iceland. She is shown to be more edgier than the rest of girls, but also very loyal. Aria’s main struggle throughout the series is the relationship in which she embarks upon with her English teacher, Ezra Fitz and preventing “A” from sharing the details of this relationship with the world. Aria is my least favourite of the girls; I found many of her decisions to be selfish and also immature – something that could be seen as playing with fire due to danger she is putting Ezra in, the poor chap is at risk of losing his livelihood and being sent to jail if found out to be engaging in what would be seen as an inappropriate relationship with a student.
    Spencer (Troian Bellisario) and Hanna (Ashley Benson) both are incredible characters, Spencer comes from a family of overachievers and is shown to struggle to try and move out of her older sister’s shadow and into the spot light. Troian’s performance of Spencer is exceptional, some of the scenes in series 3 would not have been as powerful as they were had someone else been portraying Spencer. Hanna is a character who was once overweight, the group’s former ringleader is shown in flashbacks to have made snide comments about Hanna’s weight, however in the present she has lost the weight and is seen as one of the most popular girls in school. Ashley Benson’s portrayal of Hannah earned her roles in box office hits such as Springbreakers, highlighting just how captivating it is. However one critique I have of this role is that Hanna is shown to have gained her popularity through losing weight – in a society where body image is a very difficult topic to address, I feel like this was a maybe a bad move by the writers of the show, but then again the show did premier a couple of years before social media became such a powerful force and Twitter wasn’t so popular.
    The Liars, as the group is referred to, all work together and try to figure out who “A” is and what happened to their friend Alison. Over the course of the show, despite the occasional falling out, the Liars are shown to build the bond they share into an unbreakable one – perhaps this is why the programme has managed to capture the hearts of teenage girls around the world: it portrays four beautiful girls who have a friendship that no one can break, not even a crazy stalker who impersonates their presumed dead friend.
    Another reason for the shows success is that it actually can be quite scary, many times over the past 7 days when I have been feeding this addiction I have actually felt like someone was watching me due to creepy scenes in the show. If its not scenes of the hooded figure playing with dolls in a room full of pictures of the four Liars, then it usually the creepy messages the stalker leaves once he has managed to break into one of the girl’s houses.
    Overall, PLL had me so addicted that I managed to watch series 1-4 within the space of 10 days.
    Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2016
    7
    Apesar de ser uma cópia barata da serie de TV Twin Peaks (1990-1991), é cativante e tem um suspense de tirar o folego. O piloto não é as milApesar de ser uma cópia barata da serie de TV Twin Peaks (1990-1991), é cativante e tem um suspense de tirar o folego. O piloto não é as mil maravilhas, mas ao longo da temporada a história vai ganhando mais detalhes e fica impossível de não conferir as outras temporadas. Expand
  6. May 18, 2012
    5
    This show only serves to reinforce the most negative stereotypes about teenage girls in America. They have absolutely no intentions ofThis show only serves to reinforce the most negative stereotypes about teenage girls in America. They have absolutely no intentions of thinking about others before they act, and they admonish the use of (pardon my french) general **** to serve their own purposes. That said, the story is somewhat interesting (when I wasn't asleep, my girlfriend kept trying to explain it to me), but the characters fall short of being interesting or even remotely salvageable in character. If there is any kind of retribution and rebirth type of narrative in the coming seasons, I imagine it will fall short of being even slightly sincere. In brief, there are no likable characters, the narrative is spotty and confusing, however, the show serves its purpose in that it only relates any kind of interesting story or characterization to girls between the ages of 14 and 18. Collapse
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    0
    I'm a 23 year old woman who enjoys this show greatly. When i choose a show to watch i look for qualities that i like. This show has thoseI'm a 23 year old woman who enjoys this show greatly. When i choose a show to watch i look for qualities that i like. This show has those qualities. Mystery, sadness, secrets and good looking cast I'm not predigest against heavy people I'm not skinny but i like that they have a good looking cast. Honestly I'm not looking at this show by the are they hot factor but as a mystery you think you have it all figured out then they put a twist in it and they keep you guessing. I think that's the best part of the show they just have curve ball after curve ball and are able to play it out very well. I have a lot of friends that love this show ranging from 16 to 40 i got them hooked a lot of my friends are just starting this show on Netflix and they cant wait to see what happens. My last final words are just watch the show if you love a great mystery look past the drama if its not your things (personally i love it. ) but some don"t like drama but the mystery is worth it for sure. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews

Trailers