• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2011
  • Season #: 1
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 46
  2. Negative: 3 out of 46

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    The first network drama that's a worthy successor to "Cagney & Lacey." Finally. A female cop who's smart, tough, believable and thank god, not always likeable. NBC, please nurture this show. It's far superior to the boring "Good Wife" and has equal if not greater Emmy potential. Just get Whitney the hell away from it. And if NBC won't do the right thing and keep it, it would match up perfectly with Southland on TNT. Just saying. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    With so many cop shows around, it's hard to not be boring, but Prime Suspect is engrossing, clever and unique. Maria Bello is believably both hard and soft as the situation calls for. Her progress in winning over the "boys" in the homicide squad is one of the few parallels to the British show of the same name. But, this show is on the bubble and has been put on "hiatus" which probably means it's going to be reconfigured into something more PC but certainly less unique. Now, I like NCIS and Castle and CSI too, but this is the real deal and, if you weren't turned on on your first watch, watch it again and give it a chance. It deserves to be watched. Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This is the best show. Please do NoT cancel this series. Maria is the best actress. Captivating. With all the crap that's on TV with the reality TV junk, it's so great to have a quality option to look forward to each week.
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This is such a good show. It's always interesting and engrossing, not like the typical formula shows that are on TV now, ie: female lead (aging beauty), male sidekick with some sexual tension, stories that have no depth. You could interchange any of the actors in these shows and get the same result. Prime Suspect is different and so much better. Problem is, it was not given a chance, up against a tough lineup and preempted as well. Hope it gets picked up by a cable channel that lets it continue. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Not just the best cop show on network TV, the best show period. Maria Bello and the rest of the cast are fantastic, as is the writing. This is the most realistic police drama on network TV. Along with Southland, one of two police shows on TV that gets it.
  6. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    By far the best show of the season, prime suspect is so great and it's not all Maria bellos doing. The acting is phenomenal as well as the writing and it's really great seeing all these fabulous, even funny characters interact. I think the show got some negative feedback due to its weak pilot, which really pushed the whole sexist issue and featured a dull mystery. But I gave it a second chance, and I'm glad I did cause its really just an interesting cop show with creative angles used to solve crimes with an interesting cats of characters led by the wonderful bello..... It's really worth watching Collapse
  7. hbo
    Oct 13, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best cop shows I've seen in years. In a genre that has been burdened with cliche, Prime Suspect is a breath of fresh air. The only thing that would have been better would be if this jem ended up on a network that could let the script writers let loose (HBO. SHO...) Now we just have to sit back and pray that this excellent show doesn't get cancelled so they can make room for another boring three letter crime drama. Expand
  8. Oct 10, 2011
    0
    I could only spend 15 minutes on this before deciding I was wasting my time. Male cops are portrayed as uniformly incompetent, indifferent to the case, drinking on the job, blatantly hostile to women. The female lead is portrayed as brilliantly insightful. As male bashing, the show gets a 10. As a realistic representation of life, or as entertainment, a zero.
  9. Oct 7, 2011
    5
    The tragic thing about Prime Suspect isn't that it is a remake of a far superior British show, its that it puts so much effort into convincing the viewer that Maria Bello's Jane Timoney is a good detective, when she finally 'breaks' a case you feel as though she should have done it earlier. Prime Suspect doesn't seem able to fill out a 60 minute time slot with plots being dragged out be overly misogynistic side characters being little more than time traps. At least Bello is convincing as a career driven women, if not a heartless career driven woman. The pilot throws a few twists into the mix, letting Timoney lead her first case but it all seems like A to B storytelling with no overarching narrative or themes to think about. Its all a little bit mindless which is depressing because it had such pedigree to work with. Expand
  10. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    One of the better new shows, courtesy of Bello and some good writing. Don't even confuse it with the original Brit masterpiece starring Helen Mirren. I wasn't sure they wasted $ paying La Plante for the rights to use the title but I see she's a producer. If it's like the original the men will eventually respect their better, but until they do we get to see Bryan O'Byrne get to play an **** again as he did so well in "Brotherhood" although hopefully this time he's not a sociopath. The show does need to tighten it's police procedures; in the 2d episode we had at least 2 cops go hunting bad guys without a partner. Tsk, tsk. Expand
  11. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    The only thing that could make this show better for me would be to eliminate the shaky camera. It annoys me and I wasn't able to forget about it until half way through the show. Great story though!
  12. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    The BBC production is a bit too gritty and less watchable for me. But Marie Bello, the writers and other actors have already won me over. The story moves at a nice pace and there is more charm, humor and expressiveness to the characters than its BBC predecessor. I think Marie Bello is the perfect choice for a NY Detective and she is someone who can actually pull of a....Fedora.

    I want
    something interesting but not too intense. A good "go to" cop show. There is a natural feel, a balance of character and story line and neither are overriding the other. I hope they take their time in developing the characters as the work should be the main interest; the cops persona's can be developed by their actions working on the case not just digging into their personal lives. Slowly and carefully they should progress with their personal lives concerning family, dating, drinking, money and so on. Expand
  13. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    Great characters and great acting. I want it to move away from the conflict between the men and the female cop but not entirely. It seemed just this side of contrived but really was done well both script and acting wise. The show has made its female barrier point and I don't want it to be central but woven in an episode here and there. Conflicts in general do not go away overnight for everyone and with some never do.

    I am definitely going to watch every week.
    Expand
  14. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Excellent writing and acting. It has the feel of a real N.Y. police detective office. The show is gritty and graphic. The characters have their own personal issues and how these affect their work life is explored too. I hope the show is around for a long while.
  15. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    Finally, a police procedural that is more than just a police procedural. The plot seems more realistic, the story is more than just a crime, and the acting is great. The characters here seem humor, executing a exceptional script with decent dialogue. It's fictional people, but with real problems. While I do love "Law&Order" type crime series, it's nice to actually watch a show that offers something new. Expand
  16. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    As a brit, who has seen the original with Helen Mirren, this US remake follows the formula of solving crimes "one per episode" Bello does a commendable job here and I saw the correlations between the original including "ignoring her on the rotation roster".

    I look forward to more, If I had to criticise? her boyfriend in the show didn't seem a good fit with the character...I feel that
    Det Jane Timoney would have stronger partner, much like "The Closer"


    Otherwise great
    Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 27, 2011
    75
    [Bello's] sour, tough intelligence is right on the money. [3 Oct 2011, p.45]
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 23, 2011
    60
    You should at the very least check out Bello, who does fine work here.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Sep 22, 2011
    70
    Not great, but good, and promising.