Primeval Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Alexander Siddig, Laila Rouass, Ciarán McMenamin
  • Summary: After being contacted by the government to investigate strange happenings in the forest, a group of scientists discover that dinosaurs are coming to Earth.
  • Genre(s): Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Science Fiction
  • Creator: Adrian Hodges, Tim Haines
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Feb 10, 2007
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 80
    With its campy humor, poignant drama and potent scares, Primeval will appeal equally to adults and children.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    80
    Primeval mixes elements of "Jurassic Park” and "Stargate," rarely taking itself seriously while also warning of the consequences of not confronting these threats to mankind.
  3. It's a rollicking adventure with decent special effects and better stories and character development than, say, Sci Fi Channel's "Eureka."
  4. 80
    Though it’s kid-friendly, there are things for adults to enjoy. Henshall is a quietly appealing actor, the pace is crackling and the dialogue has its share of witty asides.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    The soapy elements are generally a rollicking snooze, and in the premiere, one worries that too many of the dinosaurs will resemble those in "Land of the Lost," stampeding around but never really doing much. Yet the investigation surrounding the anomalies--and Cutter's personal story--does thicken as the series progresses, and many of the computer-animated visuals are striking, especially given the TV budget.
  6. The camp factor churned out is fairly high, and with Primeval, a new series starting Saturday on BBC America, it climbs up Big Ben and right on over the top of the London Eye.
  7. Almost from the get-go there's far more galumphing than trotting going on, and not all of it done by prehistoric feet. Things pick up in the third episode and there are dodos in the fourth, but it's not enough, no, not nearly enough.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. BrianS
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    One of the best programs, just keeps getting better and better! The stories are compelling, the mystery is deeppening, and the effects are One of the best programs, just keeps getting better and better! The stories are compelling, the mystery is deeppening, and the effects are something you don't usually see in a TV show! Glad I started this one, and can't wait for the new episodes! Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2013
    10
    Primeval has to be my favourite sci-fi TV show of all time. It has funny relatable characters, awesome creatures, a plot that makes sense andPrimeval has to be my favourite sci-fi TV show of all time. It has funny relatable characters, awesome creatures, a plot that makes sense and an awesome cast. 10 OUT OF 10!!!! Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2012
    8
    Season 1 launches the series off strongly, with solid character development and a tidy, well-contained story. Some of the creatures areSeason 1 launches the series off strongly, with solid character development and a tidy, well-contained story. Some of the creatures are underwhelming (not even one dinosaur?), and the plot is more linear than the other seasons, but overall it makes for a fast, offbeat, funny, engaging, and all-around epic viewing experience. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just watched this for the very first time and I've loved each episode. The Dodo episode (Episode 4) was the best. I'm not usually one for sci-fi monster/dinosaur programs but this is an exception. I love it and can't wait to put the Series 2 discs in my DVD player and see what happens especially after that last episode in series one. Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    Having watched Series 1-5, I can say that Primeval is a really gripping show to watch. Rarely predictable, there are many twists and turns inHaving watched Series 1-5, I can say that Primeval is a really gripping show to watch. Rarely predictable, there are many twists and turns in the plot to keep the viewer satisfied. The special effects weren't too good in Series 1, but gradually got better, and Series 3 onwards all keep a satisfying level of visual effects. Hopefully, we'll get a Series 6, because I really want this to continue. Collapse
  6. JB
    Sep 7, 2008
    7
    It gets a better as it gets going, and a lot better in series 2. The blond wanders around in her skimpys most of this 1st series (you'll It gets a better as it gets going, and a lot better in series 2. The blond wanders around in her skimpys most of this 1st series (you'll soon see). Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2011
    0
    Having watched seasons 1-4, I decided to post a General Review on the beginning.

    This is perhaps a prime example of bad thinking - British
    Having watched seasons 1-4, I decided to post a General Review on the beginning.

    This is perhaps a prime example of bad thinking - British style! And I hate pointing this out, being British myself, but no one seems to either want to or to see it.

    Everything, from the writing, casting, development and production is flawed, in -oh so many ways. There are no genuine characters in this series, only 'character types' i.e. the angry and surly genius, the gun toting hotty, the token female sex kitten, the goofy oddball and the main character love interest. This kind of sloppy, ham-fisted way of writing is(unfortunately)a staple of British drama, with only a few things not tied to that horrible brush.

    While I will express interest and general enthusiasm in the visuals(the animals are all very well done, especially for a British TV budget)-I'm not willing or able to forgive the horrid thing that the visuals make up for. You watch a show, not for the graphics you get to see, but to watch the story unfold, to become interested in the characters and want them to succeed. If-as I am-you're a sci-fi lover, do not expect rational explanations for this, the flag of suspension of disbelief is flying high over this series from the get-go. While with time travel, you can use the flag, this series uses it unabashedly constantly and gives tenchobable answers that would make the crews of Voyager and the NX Enterprise turn and say 'Huh?'

    As the series progresses, you'd think that the writing would improve and the story would get going(we all can agree that it's a rarity that any series gets it all right on the first season)but you'd be wrong, as the series progresses, the rationalizations get more and more ludicrous, to such a level at the end of season three that I practically had to turn off my brain to get through it.

    I'm not expecting a great deal out of season five and I seriously hope that they don't do a season six, plug that money for something that has decent characters and story.

    All in all, the series was flawed from the beginning, with the creator of the documentary Walking with Dinosaurs coming up with the initial pitch idea-ideas for documentaries don't translate well into drama-EVER!
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews