• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 29, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 539 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 539

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ZackD
    Oct 6, 2005
    1
    Horrible! Did the writers to this show ever even take a tour of a prison? This show does nothing but propegate stereotypes and numb the senses.
  2. brandonb
    Oct 6, 2005
    2
    It's horrible. These actors are bad and the plot is even worse. If you have even a basic knowledge of how prisons are supposed to work, then you will see nothing here is even close to realistic. In the first episode they discuss how the main character's brother is the most dangerous inmate in the place - he hasn't a month to live and no reason to be on his best behavior - It's horrible. These actors are bad and the plot is even worse. If you have even a basic knowledge of how prisons are supposed to work, then you will see nothing here is even close to realistic. In the first episode they discuss how the main character's brother is the most dangerous inmate in the place - he hasn't a month to live and no reason to be on his best behavior - and, yet, a few scenes later you see him painting a wall with a couple other inmates (including his brother). Fox's only saving grace on this one (why I gave it a 2) is that I can't imagine how they're going to drag this out for 22 episodes. It's already been, what, 5 episodes and they're practically out. Not to mention the fact that the number of inmates finding out about the escape increases each week - do they all think they're getting out? Last, but not least, why is there an ongoing legal battle? How come they didn't come up with all of this evidence initially? And, what happens if they find enough evidence to prove him innocent and he actually gets out of prison? His brother will still be stuck in there because he actually held up a bank. This series was a case of a new and exciting idea that wasn't supported by new and exciting writing. Expand
  3. AndrewB
    Sep 5, 2006
    0
    Someone said on this website that Prison Break is a lot like superman. He said "You don't complain about how implausible it is for Superman to fly, you just accept it and enjoy it." Are you kidding? Superman is an alien from another planet. That's how he can fly, not to mention that Superman is science-fiction. Are you comparing Prison Break to sci-fi shows, because that's Someone said on this website that Prison Break is a lot like superman. He said "You don't complain about how implausible it is for Superman to fly, you just accept it and enjoy it." Are you kidding? Superman is an alien from another planet. That's how he can fly, not to mention that Superman is science-fiction. Are you comparing Prison Break to sci-fi shows, because that's insane. The show is supposed to be realistic, that's what every body wanted, but it's so stupid that these mornic guards can't even see the inmates trading razors. So unlike a real prison. And come one, when Michael laid back on that pipe and the guard didn't hear the sizzling? How pathetically stupid is that? Federal agent Jack Bauer was screaming when he was being tortured, and this engineer can somehow not scream when his skin and flesh is burning? Even if i'm supposed to accept this, how does it make the show more entertaining than dumb? And it's not just the shows stupidity, bad acting (other than Miller, he's good) and the writing for the cliffhangers are horrible. The vice prez's brother is killed. After watching Lost and 24, I easily suspected the vice prez on episode 3 or 4. The reason the president being the bad guy in 24 was so shocking was because that he was depicted as a cowardly bumbling fool. See, 24 has a little something called WRITING IN ADVANCE. why Prison Break revealed the vice-president twist on the 6th episode, I'll never know, and I'll never care. This show should be cancelled. Bring back Arrested Development., Expand
  4. JackM.
    Oct 17, 2007
    0
    This is lowbrow, poorly made and cheaply marketed trash.
  5. SarahB
    Apr 1, 2007
    1
    This show is just pure rubbish. What the **** is this plot? Acting???? ZERO. Plot is so absurd. Action? Thinks it's too cool. Overall a mediocrity for the mediocre, very low IQ people
  6. george
    Jan 14, 2006
    0
    If i remember correctly, maria, the golded days of Lost were but a year ago. Do viewers really forget so quickly? It's pathetic that uninventive crap like this is something that people actually watch, while the truly great shows, like Arrested Development and Firefly get canceled because the majority of viewers are of sub-par intelligence and don't have an attention span long If i remember correctly, maria, the golded days of Lost were but a year ago. Do viewers really forget so quickly? It's pathetic that uninventive crap like this is something that people actually watch, while the truly great shows, like Arrested Development and Firefly get canceled because the majority of viewers are of sub-par intelligence and don't have an attention span long enough to think about subversive humor and intricate plot twists! Expand
  7. miziel
    Oct 3, 2006
    2
    Up until last night - oct 2nd - great show..last one I will watch though..our family voted this to be taken off our have to tape if missed list.
  8. sajadM
    May 20, 2007
    0
    terrible, absolute awful.
  9. DKirkland
    Oct 18, 2006
    2
    Good premise, bad story progression, terrible acting and a lame, predictable script. I had heard good things about this show, but it's over-rated crap!
  10. NateG
    Aug 21, 2006
    1
    I hate this show. I hope they shoot the inmates in season two so the show will end. horrible with mostly terrible acting, and the writing is awful How can anyone like this show? I read all of the comments from people who gave it a 1o. they wrote "my fav TV shoe, best drama ever made, witty" It's pathetic. they write four words and give it a 10. I write 10 lines and give it a four. no I hate this show. I hope they shoot the inmates in season two so the show will end. horrible with mostly terrible acting, and the writing is awful How can anyone like this show? I read all of the comments from people who gave it a 1o. they wrote "my fav TV shoe, best drama ever made, witty" It's pathetic. they write four words and give it a 10. I write 10 lines and give it a four. no wait, a one. Expand
  11. AndrewH
    Aug 20, 2006
    0
    Come on. "Best series ever"? Who's gonna believe that? This show had a good concept, but it has bad acting, pathetic cliffhangers, and sloppy writing. I hated it after the fall finale with that pathetic ending. I mean, it was so boring! They ended up NOT escaping! Oh my god, that's so thrilling, NOT! What a terrible show. I mean, it was nominated for "best opening theme music". Come on. "Best series ever"? Who's gonna believe that? This show had a good concept, but it has bad acting, pathetic cliffhangers, and sloppy writing. I hated it after the fall finale with that pathetic ending. I mean, it was so boring! They ended up NOT escaping! Oh my god, that's so thrilling, NOT! What a terrible show. I mean, it was nominated for "best opening theme music". That's it! 24 was nominated for 12 awards, including best lead actor, best stunts, AND best drama series. What does prison break have, good music? That's it. If you earnestly believe that this is a good show, please watch 24. That's a REAL show. Collapse
  12. LicskoR
    Aug 31, 2006
    0
    Wildly implausible. What's that guy doing outside if he's on death row?
  13. DaPimp
    Aug 21, 2006
    0
    Da pimp gives dis show a 2 out of Den (I mean 10). Da Pimp hates dis show b cause it gots no jack bauer, or real-time feature. Or ridge racer.
  14. RalphGorgious
    Aug 26, 2006
    0
    Incredibly bad, that TV show really sucks, it has nothing to show so important, is horrible, who says this is good, man, you really dont know what you're talking about, even 24 is greater, Even Desperated Wifehouse is more enjoyable, well, try again Paul, mabe you do it better next time
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. 80
    If the show can stay as gripping as its premiere... it will be a welcome new prime-time puzzle.
  2. 80
    As with "24," the whole enterprise, however action-packed, would fall flat if viewers didn't care about the characters, and "Prison Break" doesn't disappoint.
  3. A riveting, suspenseful, briskly paced drama packed with intriguing performances.