• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 29, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Prison Break Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 445 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Rockmond Dunbar, Dominic Purcell, Wade Williams
  • Summary: This drama focuses on a prison designer who gets himself thrown into one of his own prisons to help his falsely accused brother escape death row. Described as in the vein of The Great Escape (and also compared to "24" due to its compressed time frame and season-length plotline), the series will unfold over 22 episodes, charting the course of a single break. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
  • Creator: Paul T. Scheuring
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Aug 29, 2005
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 08:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Prison Break has the dark social hierarchies of Oz and the clever inventions of Escape From Alcatraz.
  2. 80
    If the show can stay as gripping as its premiere... it will be a welcome new prime-time puzzle.
  3. 75
    Prison Break may not hold up as a weekly series; it's much too soon to tell. But by and large it works as a two-hour premiere special, one that grabs your attention from its first scene to its startling cliffhanger ending.
  4. Forget the preposterousness of the plot -- it's easy enough to do -- and enjoy the suspense, of which there's plenty.
  5. 63
    An entertaining big-narrative concept. [5 Sep 2005, p.41]
  6. “Prison Break” could be the fall’s breakout hit, but only if other actors can bail out Miller.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 203
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    The first season is the best! Too bad it had to end. The 2nd and 3rd season weren't as good as the first one. But, again the third one was brilliant. It might have been a little too much in the last season. But, still the series deserves a perfect 10. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    Watching this series I laugh when scofield laughs,I cry when he cries and all I wanted was to see those brothers happy.The plans they make and the way they execute keeps you on the edge of the seat. Expand
  3. May 20, 2012
    10
    Prison Break is the best tv series that I have ever seen. With a good mix of action, adventure, suspense, and emotion, I recommend this show to everyone. Once you start watching you wont be able to stop. It has been a while since it has aired but the show is available on Netflix. Again I recommend this show to everyone, you wont regret it. Expand
  4. May 25, 2013
    10
    There have been plenty prison break movies over the years but, to the best of my knowledge, nothing similar had ever been attempted on TV. Following the incarceration of his brother Michael Schofield holds up a bank so that he can enter Fox River as a prisoner and free his brother.

    Using blue prints tattooed all over his body Michael plans and attempts to execute a daring plan over the course of this 22 hour first series with edge of your seat moments every episode. Featuring a fantastic cast of well rounded characters and plethora of interesting subplots Prison Break (well this first season at least) is a unique television experience.
    Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    finished the entire season in just a week!
    this is dope guys..
    one of the best tv series ever made!
    The starting episode is awesome.. as
    well as the finale ..!
    must watch if you are a crime-suspense lover!
    Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    I love this show I've seen it two times and the first time I breezed through it not feeling any problems and thinking to myself this is a 10/10 show but after waiting awhile longer and watching it a second time I found myself becoming less attached to these characters obviously knowing what would happen would do that but that's not how it happened. How it happened was in the times that they weren't showing Miller/Michael, they were showing Dominic's/Lincolns ex investigating the case looking for answers this became boring as I found a pattern of Michael would do something cool then you would haft to watch 15 minutes of Lincolns ex about how and I quote "This is to dangerous" "I don't know if I can do this" I am sure everyone was saying shut up! At that point but overall good plot very enjoyable first viewing second viewing you will realize it's flaws but they are not TV killers just minor nitpicks. Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2011
    7
    The first season was Awesome ... ! I can't help myself ...i watched its last 3 episodes in a single run ....
    The protagonist "Wentworth
    Miller" ..done a great job Expand

See all 203 User Reviews