• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 15, 2007
Raines Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Jeff Goldblum stars as a homicide detective who solves cases through the usual grunt work... and the not-so-usual conversations with ghosts of the victims. (We assume they're only talking to him because Jennifer Love Hewitt was busy.)
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. "Raines" not only deserves an audience - with any luck at all, it deserves a renewal, and a firm spot on NBC's fall schedule.
  2. 75
    Intriguing and involving, if sometimes odd for oddness' sake alone, Raines is a novel twist on one of TV's oldest formats: the single, super-intuitive detective.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    70
    "Raines" is both thoroughly conventional and thoroughly unconventional; in fact, it often revels in its conventionality.
  4. All of this might seem silly if it weren't for Mr. Goldblum.
  5. 50
    It's a hallucinatory riff on an old noir tradition (is Raines being played for a sap by his own daydreams?), but the gimmick doesn't click. [19 Mar 2007, p.39]
  6. Nothing really wrong with Raines, but not much reason to watch, either.
  7. All this talent can't make the premise - a police detective talks to murder victims - work.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 54
  2. Negative: 3 out of 54
  1. pamh.
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    awesome show - intriguing - something unique! please please please renew it!
  2. BillL
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    hats off and cudos to writers, directors and the unbelievable Jeff Goldblum, for a great, cuttine edge tv suspense drama. acting very "now" hats off and cudos to writers, directors and the unbelievable Jeff Goldblum, for a great, cuttine edge tv suspense drama. acting very "now" and interesting. good work. Expand
  3. JulieA.
    May 12, 2007
    10
    I love the show because of the uniqueness. I find it fascinating, touching, amusing with an Einstein level of genius.
  4. CHRIST
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    One of the best shows i have seen in years please please please please make series 2!!!
  5. SusanL.
    Mar 1, 2008
    9
    "I see dead people." Crime victims, that is. Nobody does smart flakiness like Jeff Goldblum. I hope they bring it back.
  6. karyh
    Apr 29, 2007
    9
    whatever writing problems the show has are more than compensated for with Goldblum's performance. I hope we get a full season of this whatever writing problems the show has are more than compensated for with Goldblum's performance. I hope we get a full season of this entertaining show. Collapse
  7. EdM
    Mar 16, 2007
    1
    If this show tries, it could be mediocre. As it is, just another procedural with a protagonist who is "different'. Didn't this If this show tries, it could be mediocre. As it is, just another procedural with a protagonist who is "different'. Didn't this genre die with Ironsides? Watchin g Jeff Goldblum who exudes too brainy and diffident out of the screen> Watching him lead a raid is too great a suspension of disbelief. Light comedy, yes. Homocide cop, no. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews