• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 21, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 128

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2010
    7
    Lowbrow humor, but done pretty darned well - in the spirit of Married with Children. The cast is terrific, and the coming timing is solid. I'd bump my score up to an 8, but I generally reserve that number for a show that I will definitely keep watching. This one hasn't secured that status as of yet.
  2. Sep 24, 2010
    8
    This show didn't get a lot of pre-air hype so I almost missed it. Easily one of the best new sitcoms of the year.
  3. Feb 27, 2011
    8
    Really cute. All the actors do a great job. Each dysfunctional character is entertaining. That is one cute baby and I only hope she doesn't become a screwed up child star. They are a good family that can't help but do semi-bad things and are low-life in a sweet way. I think it is pleasant, funny and sometimes laugh out loud.
  4. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    I watched the first episode of the show and I didn't like it but I still gave it a second chance. And I'm really glad that I did. The show progressed brilliantly throughout every episode and I enjoyed it more and more.
  5. nbc
    Oct 27, 2010
    10
    I love this show. The whole cast is great and the show is very sweet. I especially love Shannon Woodward as the sarcastic but cute cashier. I enjoy everything about this show.
  6. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    This show should have received the same hype that Glee received. Not only is it a much better show that Glee, it is smarter, funnier, and better written with veteran actors and an amazing crew. I hope awareness of this show increases in the near future.
  7. Nov 6, 2010
    7
    The first episode wasn't that great, but every episode has gotten better from then on, making Raising Hope a funny, light hearted comedy that most people will probably enjoy.
  8. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Raising Hope basically defines smart and hilarious. The best new show of the season, and better than most returning shows. If you do not like Raising Hope, than you should see a doctor, because not only is it hilarious, it has a wonderful concept and near-perfect acting. I'm looking forward to this show being the new Malcolm In The Middle.
  9. Jun 13, 2011
    8
    After the cancellation of one of america's corkiest and greatest new generation sitcoms "My Name Is Earl." Creator Gregory Thomas Garcia fought hard to get the show on TBS but after talks fell threw he pitched an idea too Fox and created a new breed of amazing in "Raising Hope." To sum this film up in few words it is; Arrested Development meets My Name Is Earl and all the madness.
  10. Feb 15, 2014
    7
    Raising hope shows that a comedy does not have to be super raunchy to be good. I loved and enjoyed every episode so far, and intend to keep watching as it goes on.
  11. Sep 22, 2010
    3
    You'd think that in the 21st century, we could create a show with some decent dialogue and a story line not written by a group of 3rd graders. The entire show is based on a false premise that it's a comedy full of surprises. The story is flat and predictable. It revolves around a single father who is forced to grow up without the help from his parents, who are also idiots. And the worst part about bringing a baby into the first episode is that the producers will be unable to bring one in later to boost ratings. Expand
  12. Oct 17, 2011
    9
    This show is awesome! A great cast of characters, especially the lead, help make every episode a treat. I love the fact that they take jabs at themselves and shows like them. Unlike a typical sitcom, Jimmy, the main character, seems to grow with each episode. If you haven't seen this show and you're tired of stale sitcoms, watch this one.
  13. Sep 26, 2010
    5
    Disappointing. Good cast with Dellahunt and Plimpton. And a few really, really good comedic moments almost makes watching all the crud worthwhile, but there aren't enough of those good comedic momemts. It's not that much of the humour is low-brow, nothing wrong with that, it's that there is so little humour. Lots of quirkiness, great, but much of the quirkiness here isn't funny.
  14. Sep 23, 2010
    6
    A surprisingly decent new Comedy. I wasn't thinking much of it during the first couple of minutes, but as it progressed it became funnier. It's not comparable to Arrested Development, premise - or quality-wise. But it might make a good comedy on its own. Let's just see how it pans out.
  15. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    Funny, original, and pulls at the heart strings. Sets a pretty high bar for new sitcoms. Definitely the funniest sitcom in it's time slot so there is no reason not to give Raising Hope a try. Please Please Please watch.
  16. Nov 17, 2010
    7
    Sometimes hysterically funny and it is original-although sometimes over the top. "Raising Hope" (a baby whose actual name is "Hope Chance"--both of which I hope this show has). it's certainly something new in showing lives of the uneducated but surviving working poor, who really are in this case people with heart.. (Vague echoes of "Roseanne" as far as showing the working class, but there's less realism in "Raising Hope"). The single dad is so naive, sincere, and well-meaning that he makes my teeth hurt sometimes, but his educated and nicely snarky would-be girlfriend and brings him back to reality at times. His dad is a dimwit (but a funny one--played by an actor who more frequently played evil monsters--which shows that Garret Dillahunt has range). Martha Plimpton was an interesting choice to play the mother--uneducated but street smart and she really does care about her family. Unusual casting works here (although put on a bra, Cloris/Maw-Maw! once may have been funny, but it doesn't work as a running bit). This is funnier, more original, and has much more heart than the dismal and unfunny "Better with You" which is apparently getting better ratings for some unfathomable reasons. Expand
  17. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised by this season premier. I'm an old school Raising Arizona fan, so perhaps I'm just being sentimental, but the laughs came thick and fast and the quirkiness was riding high. The moment of the not strapped in car seat was genius, as was the flashback to the mom herself being equally unprepared were total highlights - don't fall through the hole! I think I'll be back next week to see if it can continue this momentum! Expand
  18. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    Truly lame show. There is nothing even remotely funny about this show... unless you like stupid, make that really stupid, type of humor. Waste of a good cast.
  19. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    I thought that the first episode was good fun and the baby was sooooo cute! I'm the father of a baby about the same age and the experiences that the young dad was going through were so real.
  20. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    Genuinely endearing in its mixture of well-meaning innocence (the young father), absurdist incompetence (his at least mentally not much older parents) and baby cuteness (well, the baby), this show came something as a surprise. It felt like there is a whole lot more Arrested Development in this show than Running Wilde hasn't been able to deliver. Looking forward to the next installment.
  21. Oct 4, 2010
    0
    I love this show! I don't think it is getting as much publicity and attention as it should. I loved My Name is Earl, so I decided to watch Raising Hope and I fell in love. This dysfunctional family makes me smile and laugh out loud! The characters and actors are amazing. I have recommended this to a lot of people because of the relentless humor, and everyone has agreed and loved it. I hope I can some how help this show stay on the air! I give it a 10! Expand
  22. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    Raising Hope is more than your average, everyday, run of the mill sitcom. Instead it adds a little more love and meaning to the simple things in life. It is definitely one of the best new sitcoms of the year and I am looking forward to every new episode. It reminds us that you can make the best out of what you are given in life! Its great and heart warming, while still making its audiences smile and laugh out loud. Expand
  23. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    Thumbs way down. Unbelievable that the original test group passed this. Change the language to slovakian and peddle it overseas. Say it's a true view of American life and it might sell!!!
    In the meanwhile replace it with darts or lawn bowling !!!
  24. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    This is one of the funniest comedies I have seen in a long time. It is hilariously funny, but can be enormously touching with a few truths the next moment. The writing is excellent and the cast are brilliant. There hasn't been a single episode where I've not laughed out loud - this is a must-see.
  25. May 11, 2011
    10
    This show is hilarious! My wife and I watch it together and we die of laughter every single episode and go around quoting it all the time! This is definitely one of the funniest shows on TV right now!
  26. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    Martha Plimpton steals the show in this sitcom, although Garrett Dillahunt does a great job also.
    You know it's a really great show when they don't use a laugh track to tell what's supposed to be funny. Greg Garcia is terrific at making us feel like these people are a part of our family.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Heather Havrilesky
    Oct 22, 2010
    70
    Martha Plimpton and Garret Dillahunt as the dumb dad's parents really make this one impossible to ignore completely. And even though we've already got "Oh no the ugly chick likes me" jokes and "You're right, the baby's limbs could get amputated this way" jokes and other material that might make you smile but never laugh, there's also a slightly disturbed tone here that's hard to match on sitcoms about yuppies having bad hair days.
  2. The show's astringent tone, its excursions into low comedy--scenes like the one where everybody trying to diaper the baby ends up throwing up on her, and similarly stomach-churning fun--all work to counter the sentimentality of themes like this one. They work only in part here, and in this case that's all to the good. The show is meant to be a comedy, and it is--a smart and witty one--but there's no missing, either, under all that grotesquerie, its hard-core sweetness.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    60
    There are at least the slivers of promise that the show could get better. Neff is amiably charming, Dillahunt and Plimpton give their characters a realism that belies the pilot's often-contemptuous jokes, and maybe 20% of the first episode shows a sweet-heartedness that rises above the easy white-trash humor.