• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 21, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. 100
    Raising Hope already has a little place in my heart. There's something about the downwardly mobile family unit (see: "Malcolm in the Middle," "The Middle," "Raising Arizona") that's just funnier and sweeter than anything else on TV.
  2. A serial killer, a state execution, slapstick involving a baby--Fox's new Raising Hope is deliciously demented and easily the funniest new show of fall.
  3. 90
    There may be a smaller number of top-notch newbies this season, but Raising Hope, a celebration of parenthood and childhood, of small joys and big struggles, is certainly one of them.
  4. Overall, Hope feels like a very new take on an old, old story.
  5. Raising Hope works on two levels, the absurdist gags about dysfunctional families and lower-class values that populated "Earl," and the never-too-saccharine sweetness that Jimmy brings to the world. If Garcia can keep up this mix, Fox may have itself a non-animated comedy hit.
  6. The show's astringent tone, its excursions into low comedy--scenes like the one where everybody trying to diaper the baby ends up throwing up on her, and similarly stomach-churning fun--all work to counter the sentimentality of themes like this one. They work only in part here, and in this case that's all to the good. The show is meant to be a comedy, and it is--a smart and witty one--but there's no missing, either, under all that grotesquerie, its hard-core sweetness.
  7. The tacked-on attempt to give the show some heart ("See, they're just crazy, mixed-up regular folks with good intentions!") was so disappointingly cynical and contrived. It was a transparent attempt to give depth to something that had so vociferously lacked it.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Raising Hope basically defines smart and hilarious. The best new show of the season, and better than most returning shows. If you do not likeRaising Hope basically defines smart and hilarious. The best new show of the season, and better than most returning shows. If you do not like Raising Hope, than you should see a doctor, because not only is it hilarious, it has a wonderful concept and near-perfect acting. I'm looking forward to this show being the new Malcolm In The Middle. Expand
  2. nbc
    Oct 27, 2010
    10
    I love this show. The whole cast is great and the show is very sweet. I especially love Shannon Woodward as the sarcastic but cute cashier. II love this show. The whole cast is great and the show is very sweet. I especially love Shannon Woodward as the sarcastic but cute cashier. I enjoy everything about this show. Expand
  3. May 11, 2011
    10
    This show is hilarious! My wife and I watch it together and we die of laughter every single episode and go around quoting it all the time!This show is hilarious! My wife and I watch it together and we die of laughter every single episode and go around quoting it all the time! This is definitely one of the funniest shows on TV right now! Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    I was pleasantly surprised by this season premier. I'm an old school Raising Arizona fan, so perhaps I'm just being sentimental, but theI was pleasantly surprised by this season premier. I'm an old school Raising Arizona fan, so perhaps I'm just being sentimental, but the laughs came thick and fast and the quirkiness was riding high. The moment of the not strapped in car seat was genius, as was the flashback to the mom herself being equally unprepared were total highlights - don't fall through the hole! I think I'll be back next week to see if it can continue this momentum! Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    I watched the first episode of the show and I didn't like it but I still gave it a second chance. And I'm really glad that I did. The showI watched the first episode of the show and I didn't like it but I still gave it a second chance. And I'm really glad that I did. The show progressed brilliantly throughout every episode and I enjoyed it more and more. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2010
    7
    Sometimes hysterically funny and it is original-although sometimes over the top. "Raising Hope" (a baby whose actual name is "HopeSometimes hysterically funny and it is original-although sometimes over the top. "Raising Hope" (a baby whose actual name is "Hope Chance"--both of which I hope this show has). it's certainly something new in showing lives of the uneducated but surviving working poor, who really are in this case people with heart.. (Vague echoes of "Roseanne" as far as showing the working class, but there's less realism in "Raising Hope"). The single dad is so naive, sincere, and well-meaning that he makes my teeth hurt sometimes, but his educated and nicely snarky would-be girlfriend and brings him back to reality at times. His dad is a dimwit (but a funny one--played by an actor who more frequently played evil monsters--which shows that Garret Dillahunt has range). Martha Plimpton was an interesting choice to play the mother--uneducated but street smart and she really does care about her family. Unusual casting works here (although put on a bra, Cloris/Maw-Maw! once may have been funny, but it doesn't work as a running bit). This is funnier, more original, and has much more heart than the dismal and unfunny "Better with You" which is apparently getting better ratings for some unfathomable reasons. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2010
    0
    I love this show! I don't think it is getting as much publicity and attention as it should. I loved My Name is Earl, so I decided to watchI love this show! I don't think it is getting as much publicity and attention as it should. I loved My Name is Earl, so I decided to watch Raising Hope and I fell in love. This dysfunctional family makes me smile and laugh out loud! The characters and actors are amazing. I have recommended this to a lot of people because of the relentless humor, and everyone has agreed and loved it. I hope I can some how help this show stay on the air! I give it a 10! Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  2. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.