• Network: ABC Family
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 22, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Ray Rahman
    Oct 17, 2013
    75
    Borrowing from the best (scary shower scene, humiliated school-dance queen splattered in red liquid), the horror-mystery series sets the table for solid YA thrills. [25 Oct/1 Nov 2013, p.94]
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 22, 2013
    60
    Where “Pretty Little Liars” has set the standard for teen mystery/soap-opera TV, Ravenswood comes on more like a horror flick.
  3. 50
    Ravenswood will in all likelihood be a functioning teen horror series, but those looking for a radical antiracist message or a lasting parable about the dangers of concentrated power will be disappointed.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 21, 2013
    40
    It's all cheesy and silly with minimally adequate performances but, eh, what do you expect from a show in this genre.
  5. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 21, 2013
    50
    There’s enough spooky and goofy stuff going on here to placate the Pretty Little Liars faithful, but it seems unlikely to win any new converts.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    0
    It's just awful. The show is very sensationalist, they try to scare you but it's just funny. It should be considered a comedy show, it's so ridiculous it makes me laugh. Ravenswood is just like a very bad "horror" movie. Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2013
    1
    Oh my god. This was horrible. As i was watching the pilot i kept whispering awful, awful, and awful. You call this a pretty little liars spin-off? I dont remember pretty little liars being a fantasy or horror in that case. Ravenswood fails to show us what the whole show is about, it does raise mystery which is why i gave it a one but aside from that, it delivered a horrible pilot. gossip girl meets american horror story.. and these 2 could never work together.. just AWFUL. Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2013
    3
    thriller mystery +horror Are you kidding me I will give 4/10 You call this a pretty little liars spin-off? Horrible pilot Watched the first 2 episodes...bad show..bad production..bad stories.. just not interesting. This is not a reboot it's a retread with a hole in it. It's off my viewing schedule. Full Review »