• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 22, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Ravenswood Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Steven Cabral, Nicole Anderson, Tyler Blackburn
  • Summary: This spin-off from Pretty Little Liars is set in neighboring Ravenswood, Pennsylvania, where a mysterious and deadly curse has plagued the town generations. The show will focus on five strangers brought together by the curse.
  • Genre(s): Drama
  • Creator: Joseph Dougherty, Oliver Goldstick, I. Marlene King
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Oct 22, 2013
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Ray Rahman
    Oct 17, 2013
    75
    Borrowing from the best (scary shower scene, humiliated school-dance queen splattered in red liquid), the horror-mystery series sets the table for solid YA thrills. [25 Oct/1 Nov 2013, p.94]
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 22, 2013
    60
    Where “Pretty Little Liars” has set the standard for teen mystery/soap-opera TV, Ravenswood comes on more like a horror flick.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 21, 2013
    50
    There’s enough spooky and goofy stuff going on here to placate the Pretty Little Liars faithful, but it seems unlikely to win any new converts.
  4. 50
    Ravenswood will in all likelihood be a functioning teen horror series, but those looking for a radical antiracist message or a lasting parable about the dangers of concentrated power will be disappointed.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 21, 2013
    40
    It's all cheesy and silly with minimally adequate performances but, eh, what do you expect from a show in this genre.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    way better then pretty little liars! i like the way it's made, the way the actors play, the story. i think this has a lot of potential. i amway better then pretty little liars! i like the way it's made, the way the actors play, the story. i think this has a lot of potential. i am looking forward to season 2 Expand
  2. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    I love this show, the plots and characters are so interesting, and the i love the spooky element! I started watching over the holiday andI love this show, the plots and characters are so interesting, and the i love the spooky element! I started watching over the holiday and contrary to a lot of reviews, I actually didn't mind the first few episodes. I think the problem that a lot of ppl have with this show is that they labeled it a pretty little liars spinoff, but apart from a few of the same characters, the storyline has nothing to do with PLL and I'm glad for that. PLL has really become repetitive and boring, and Calebs become so much more interesting in Ravenswood, in PLL he was drab and boring. People just need to separate the two shows in their minds, because this show is more mature than PLL and chances are pretty good that Caleb will end up with Miranda, so a return to PLL is unlikely:-p

    PS.
    PLL fans just need to get over themselves and stop trolling Ravenswood boards.
    Collapse
  3. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    I saw the 10 episodes for season 1 in just half a day and oh! so far I love the series. I hope there will be another season. Please,I saw the 10 episodes for season 1 in just half a day and oh! so far I love the series. I hope there will be another season. Please, please..cant wait for the next episode. Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2013
    5
    I gave this a 10 because of the story that is very exciting and mind-boggling. But I also give it a 0 when it comes to other parts of theI gave this a 10 because of the story that is very exciting and mind-boggling. But I also give it a 0 when it comes to other parts of the series. Midpoint 5. The effects, the acting, the casting and the direction were all horrible. I hope people will not compare this with PLL. I don't feel like watching the second episode after watching the pilot. It's one of those series which you would say "duh" at the end. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    3
    thriller mystery +horror Are you kidding me I will give 4/10 You call this a pretty little liars spin-off? Horrible pilot Watched thethriller mystery +horror Are you kidding me I will give 4/10 You call this a pretty little liars spin-off? Horrible pilot Watched the first 2 episodes...bad show..bad production..bad stories.. just not interesting. This is not a reboot it's a retread with a hole in it. It's off my viewing schedule. Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Where to begin... First of all, what bugs me, is the amount of makeup caked on to the characters. Like, more than the PLL cast. And they are always caked. In the most recent episode, it was like 1 a.m., and Olivia was awake listening to her mom talk to Collins in the bathroom. I couldn't even pay attention to what was going on because I was distracted by the amount of makeup she and her mom were wearing at 1 a.m.! Secondly the acting is just..ugh. And did anyone else notice how much they sigh?! Listen closely to their dialogue, they're always heavily breathing and sighing when they speak and it's distracting. I so badly wanted to like this show, but week after week with each episode I'm just like, "c'mon, man, seriously?" The script is also so scripted. Like, when I watch something, I feel like the dialogue and plot should just go smoothly and blend effortlessly. With this, I can tell that they're actors reading from a script. It feels so robotic and rehearsed. Which, don't get me wrong, all tv and movies are. But I wanna be sucked into their worlds, not thinking about how it's a rehearsed production. There needs to be some more genuine feeling.
    It is all just so cheesy- the plot line, the events, and the acting. And I think the whole *spoiler alert* Caleb and Miranda being destined to be together is lame. Caleb should be with Hannah. It should just stay that way.
    I just want the show to end, find out what happens and get it over with. I only watch it because it IS entertaining (although really bad) nonetheless and because it's a filler to tie over my PLL addiction haha.
    Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2014
    0
    Lame. Enough said. Don't dare you call this a spin off from my favorite show, please. That's borring, the characters are stupids and thereLame. Enough said. Don't dare you call this a spin off from my favorite show, please. That's borring, the characters are stupids and there isn't a real plot! Omg, give us back our Caleb and stfu. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews