Ray Donovan : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 30, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Ray Donovan Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The problems and possible scandals of the rich and famous disappear when they hire Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber). However, the return of his ex-convict father (Jon Voight) brings unresolved issues Ray may not be able to fix.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 28, 2013
    100
    [A] superbly tawdry new crime series. [8 Jul 2013, p.35]
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 12, 2013
    100
    [Creator and writer Ann Biderman has] created the most testosterone, rough and intelligent drama in ages.... Early sneaks of Ray Donovan hinted that Showtime might have a real gem on its hands, but four episodes provides an absolute exclamation point.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 28, 2013
    90
    This could be the start of something great. In just a handful of episodes, it's already powerfully terrific.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 27, 2013
    80
    Viewers may find it takes some concentration to sort out the lineup and the dramas here. The payoff is worth the investment.
  5. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jul 1, 2013
    70
    The first four episodes supplied to critics are engaging, but especially in the aftermath of his passing, the shadow of James Gandolfini is, sadly, everywhere.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    Though I do not begrudge Ray Donovan its sense of momentum or tension, I was immediately struck by a desire to simply see more of Ray doing his job for a few episodes rather than seeing him deal with his brothers’ various problems.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jun 27, 2013
    30
    Much of the show simply feels disjointed, or tired, or both. Despite intermittent flashes of liveliness, the pacing of Ray Donovan is off, especially at first, when it feels as though the show is trying to cover too much ground and cram in too much backstory about the Donovans' troubled past in Boston.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 7 out of 35
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    The best new show this season. Has a feel like the early Sopranos but in a west coast setting. First two episodes caught and held ourThe best new show this season. Has a feel like the early Sopranos but in a west coast setting. First two episodes caught and held our attention---good guy "villain", rough upbringing, family tensions and believable cast. Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Since it's a new show, I'm guessing there are going to be some future episodes to explain more about the characters, and I'm looking forwardSince it's a new show, I'm guessing there are going to be some future episodes to explain more about the characters, and I'm looking forward to each one. My husband loved the Sopranos, and we see a very small resemblance; east vs. west coast, Italian mob vs. Irish 'fixer', but at its most basic, a family man trying to cope and balance work and home. James Gandolfini played his part so well, and I see Liev Schreiber doing the same in this roll. I hope it stays around for a few seasons! Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2013
    9
    It is a wonderful show. It has a great plot, magnificent acting, and the characters are great. Liev Schreiber is one of a kind. This show isIt is a wonderful show. It has a great plot, magnificent acting, and the characters are great. Liev Schreiber is one of a kind. This show is very promising so far. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    After a rocky start with the first episode, I found the first season of Ray Donovan fascinating and didn't want it to end. There are a lot ofAfter a rocky start with the first episode, I found the first season of Ray Donovan fascinating and didn't want it to end. There are a lot of threads to follow, but they are worth following. Jon Voight is brilliant of course, and there are other strong performances. Looking forward to the next season. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    This show certainly has a lot of potential, and is by far one of the best new shows out there. But there are a few tonal and plotThis show certainly has a lot of potential, and is by far one of the best new shows out there. But there are a few tonal and plot inconsistencies. That being said, they are problems that are normal for a brand new show, and will likely be resolved in the coming episodes. I'll give Ray Donovan a chance, for now. Expand
  6. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    I ended up watching the entire season but really, only the pilot episode really impressed me. Not often is the pilot better than the rest ofI ended up watching the entire season but really, only the pilot episode really impressed me. Not often is the pilot better than the rest of the season but it felt fresh and original. To me, it felt like a cross between a GTA game and the movie Get Shorty. As the season progressed though it became less interesting and more serious with less stories about celebrity mishaps and more family drama. Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2014
    1
    como se dice falta de investigacion y falta de creatividad aaaaaaaaaaaaaa Ray donovan y true detective gente que jamaz leyo ni una carilla nicomo se dice falta de investigacion y falta de creatividad aaaaaaaaaaaaaa Ray donovan y true detective gente que jamaz leyo ni una carilla ni vio una serie ni investigo psicologia una mierda de serie Expand

See all 35 User Reviews