• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 30, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Ray Donovan Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The problems and possible scandals of the rich and famous disappear when they hire Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber). However, the return of his ex-convict father (Jon Voight) brings unresolved issues Ray may not be able to fix.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 28, 2013
    100
    [A] superbly tawdry new crime series. [8 Jul 2013, p.35]
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 12, 2013
    100
    [Creator and writer Ann Biderman has] created the most testosterone, rough and intelligent drama in ages.... Early sneaks of Ray Donovan hinted that Showtime might have a real gem on its hands, but four episodes provides an absolute exclamation point.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jun 28, 2013
    90
    This could be the start of something great. In just a handful of episodes, it's already powerfully terrific.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 27, 2013
    80
    Viewers may find it takes some concentration to sort out the lineup and the dramas here. The payoff is worth the investment.
  5. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jul 1, 2013
    70
    The first four episodes supplied to critics are engaging, but especially in the aftermath of his passing, the shadow of James Gandolfini is, sadly, everywhere.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 28, 2013
    60
    Though I do not begrudge Ray Donovan its sense of momentum or tension, I was immediately struck by a desire to simply see more of Ray doing his job for a few episodes rather than seeing him deal with his brothers’ various problems.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jun 27, 2013
    30
    Much of the show simply feels disjointed, or tired, or both. Despite intermittent flashes of liveliness, the pacing of Ray Donovan is off, especially at first, when it feels as though the show is trying to cover too much ground and cram in too much backstory about the Donovans' troubled past in Boston.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    The best new show this season. Has a feel like the early Sopranos but in a west coast setting. First two episodes caught and held ourThe best new show this season. Has a feel like the early Sopranos but in a west coast setting. First two episodes caught and held our attention---good guy "villain", rough upbringing, family tensions and believable cast. Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Since it's a new show, I'm guessing there are going to be some future episodes to explain more about the characters, and I'm looking forwardSince it's a new show, I'm guessing there are going to be some future episodes to explain more about the characters, and I'm looking forward to each one. My husband loved the Sopranos, and we see a very small resemblance; east vs. west coast, Italian mob vs. Irish 'fixer', but at its most basic, a family man trying to cope and balance work and home. James Gandolfini played his part so well, and I see Liev Schreiber doing the same in this roll. I hope it stays around for a few seasons! Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    Liev Schreiber and Jon Voight are both absolutely amazing, their on screen chemistry is great. This show reminds me of a mix between theLiev Schreiber and Jon Voight are both absolutely amazing, their on screen chemistry is great. This show reminds me of a mix between the Sopranos and Entourage but in a great way. Very entertaining and a must watch. Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2013
    8
    Ray Donovan is off to fantastic start. After an extremely entertaining first season. The only problems are that there are several charactersRay Donovan is off to fantastic start. After an extremely entertaining first season. The only problems are that there are several characters that were introduced for a long period of time that seamed to disappear and the fact that their are some aspects that are very much like The Sopranos. The best aspect of this season was Voight's amazing performance as Mickey Donovan. I am certainly looking forward to seeing this show improve in its upcoming seasons. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    This show certainly has a lot of potential, and is by far one of the best new shows out there. But there are a few tonal and plotThis show certainly has a lot of potential, and is by far one of the best new shows out there. But there are a few tonal and plot inconsistencies. That being said, they are problems that are normal for a brand new show, and will likely be resolved in the coming episodes. I'll give Ray Donovan a chance, for now. Expand
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    5
    The show "Ray Donovan" commenced with some intrigue. It was an interesting look at a Hollywood problem solver. It was as if its audience wasThe show "Ray Donovan" commenced with some intrigue. It was an interesting look at a Hollywood problem solver. It was as if its audience was getting an inside-look at someone who Hollywood wants to keep as incognito as possible and pretend they don't exist. However, the show quickly started disintegrate, emphasizing way too much on the feud between Donovan and his dad as well as Donovan's dysfunctional household. And that's when the show began to lose its distinction and began to develop itself into just another hackneyed drama series Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2014
    1
    como se dice falta de investigacion y falta de creatividad aaaaaaaaaaaaaa Ray donovan y true detective gente que jamaz leyo ni una carilla nicomo se dice falta de investigacion y falta de creatividad aaaaaaaaaaaaaa Ray donovan y true detective gente que jamaz leyo ni una carilla ni vio una serie ni investigo psicologia una mierda de serie Collapse

See all 32 User Reviews