Rectify Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After 19 years in prison for the rape and murder of his girlfriend, Daniel Holden (Aden Young) is released due to DNA evidence. His return home brings new challenges including new family members and a divided community.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    100
    It’s a breathtaking work of immense beauty and a thought-provoking meditation on the nature of crime and punishment, of identity and solitude, of guilt and absolution. It is, quite simply, the best new show of 2013.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 22, 2013
    100
    There's not a bad performance to be had in Rectify, which even features Hal Holbrook as Holden's former lawyer. But it's Young, whose character veers from a deceptive lethargy to moments of dry humor, who carries every scene he's in as he finds ways to allow us glimpses of the man still imprisoned behind the mask.
  3. Reviewed by: Geoff Berkshire
    Apr 25, 2013
    90
    The good news is that this contemplative, utterly engrossing and frequently gorgeous character study achieves and then surpasses both of those goals [justify the network's foray into the field while living up to the Sundance brand] over the course of its initial six episode season.
  4. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Flawless production design and lush cinematography make Rectify visually stunning, but its simmering mystery and artfully depicted dysfunction make every scene hum with tension.
  5. 80
    It’s not rushing us to the next plot point. It’s content to be present. It breathes.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 3, 2013
    75
    [Rectify] feels damply airless--the tension might be ripped open at any moment by a thunderclap of revelation.... It's a disturbing, impressive performance [from Aden Young as Daniel]. [13 May 2013, p.49]
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Apr 22, 2013
    40
    For about an episode and a quarter, it’s very good television. But over the rest of its six-episode first season it resembles nothing so much as a bad indie film, the kind of slow and tepid bummer that used to fill Sundance’s late nights and afternoons when it was a full-time movie channel.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    This is a mesmerizing and engrossing story that captured me right from the first episode. It raises all kinds of questions and thoughts about someone missing 20 years on the outside. Very thought provoking; we need more of this kind of programming. Have seen 3 can't wait for the next 3. Bravo to the writers, producers, directors and fine cast. Expand
  2. May 11, 2013
    10
    This series has the quality and intensely personal nature as "The Killing" and "Breaking Bad", but so far, without the violence.

    It's
    incredibly well acted and gives us some time to know the characters, which is something I truly appreciate. It might not be action-packed enough for some viewers, but if you enjoy observing what each character is experiencing and reading between the lines a little, you'll quickly warm up to the unique premise of this series.

    Personally, I already feel very attached to the lead character and am feeling tremendous empathy for him. In my view, without emotional attachment to the characters, there is no show!

    I am greatly looking forward to this mystery unraveling and I find myself wondering, exactly how will JUSTICE be rectified...

    ....and who will rectify it???
    Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best shows of 2013. Great acting and the story is just perfect. This is just a gem and can stand out for great acting, great directing and a great script. It is quite interesting to see the inability to communicate of all the characters and at the same time the difficulty to realise what the actual problem is. In many ways, this show can be considered original and provoking. Expand
  4. May 3, 2013
    10
    Rectify is like one of those wonderful pieces of art that is arresting with its beauty, but filled with enough heart and depth that you'll find yourself staring inward as well. Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    With breaking bad and dexter over not to many shows to be excited about.. Rectify is on top of my list. Vary good vary beautiful show. It's slow moving but vary compelling Sucked me in Goat man episode hooked me to fanatic status I got high hopes for season 2. Don't know how long they can stretch premise but I will be glued to tv and find out. You will cry at least once watching this show. Closest thing to compare it to drama and emotion wise is Six Feet Under Collapse
  6. May 13, 2013
    9
    After three episodes, I'm hooked and will be watching the series.

    So far it's not without its flaws. The ages of the various actors all
    seem a little young in comparison with the established timeline. The whole father-son dynamic that would otherwise be key in a story like this is ducked via a pre-story heart attack and a decent stepfather that is strictly a background prop. Most of the male plot line directions and characters seem pat, stereotypical and expected, like the wicked stepbrother, the Jewish lawyer fish out of water, the bullying small-town sheriff or the sleazy Southern pol. The women in contrast all are a bit odd, with the vapid mother, driven non-conformist sister, repressed sister-in-law, the cheerful waitress who is in fact the dessert on her own menu.

    However, there is also a feeling of depth here that shows a great deal of thought and nuance on both the part of the writers and actors. This is a classic Southern Gothic story that revels in sunlight instead of shadows. The pacing is so languid that the show is a character study rather than a procedural. People are introduced almost as asides that will obviously come to be key players in unexpected and unanticipated ways as time goes on. As the end of the pilot shows, not all is as it seems and surprising, sudden pops can be expected.

    Most of all, the antihero lead is immediately sympathetic, interesting, and even mesmerizing. It is like watching a butterfly break free of its chrysalis. Seeing the overlooked mystery of our present through his eyes is worth admission alone. Following the unresolved mystery of his past with our eyes is worth staying for.
    Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2013
    0
    Guess I must be missing something based on the 9s and 10s showing up here. Me? I guess I was a little worn down by "Forrest Gump Leaves Prison." It's not that I'm unsympathetic to a man returning to society after two decades of what we are told is quite likely wrongful incarceration, but it was 20 years, not 200. Aden Young isn't "dazed and confused" as much as "dumb and dumber." My goodness, he was imprisoned in the 1990s, not the 1890s. Things haven't changed that much. Heck, there were even large volume soft drinks back then, but the idea of a 32 oz. cup seems to have confounded him at one point.

    But let's get to the characters. Can we get more cliched? I don't think so. The vengeful D.A. cum "Foghorn Leghorn"-type state senator. The equally vengeful and "what's-he-hiding?" current sheriff. The Henry Fonda-esque former sheriff (I think) who is morally conflicted by the fact that science (DNA) says not guilty while most town leaders see the release as BS. Oh, then there's the randy waitress trysting with the state senator, the jealous step-brother, the sympathetic wife of the jealous step-brother (she, of course, is conflicted and finds the newly released "innocent" almost irresistibly sympathetic), the noble sister, the cold mother and, last but certainly not least, the yin/yang inmates conveniently available for contrasting flashbacks. One is a redneck who torments the lead character while the other is open to the idea of reading W. Sumerset Maugham's "Of Human Bondage." Puh-leeze. What a collection of cliches!!

    I'm waiting for the scene when the newly freed character stops to take in the true meaning of a summer's shower and spots a small bird ruffling its feathers in the rain. Ah, freedom!

    Ah, wake me when it's over.
    Expand

See all 38 User Reviews