• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 3, 2013
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Mar 4, 2013
    80
    It’s entertaining and engrossing.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 4, 2013
    70
    Mitchell’s coolly understated performance makes it all slightly more believable and worth a few episodes to see where it leads.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Mar 1, 2013
    70
    In the light of Monday morning, a lot of what goes on in Red Widow is probably going to seem pretty silly. But shows like this are all about the chemistry, and the chemistry between Mitchell and Visnjic is everything you'd want in an essentially unequal relationship between a recent widow and the megalomaniacal drug dealer who can end her life at any moment.
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Mar 1, 2013
    67
    The thriller elements are mostly nonstarters, but the show does offer some genuine pleasures, thanks to the overqualified cast. [8 Mar 2013, p.73]
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 1, 2013
    63
    Only Visnjic, immaculately groomed and vaguely continental, seems to understand that this over-the-top story requires not only a constant flame to boil the plot but a flirtatious sense of fun. [11 Mar 2013, p.45]
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 8 out of 41
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This is one of those shows I was afraid to watch, assuming it was all but canceled before even premiering, but ended up getting drawn inThis is one of those shows I was afraid to watch, assuming it was all but canceled before even premiering, but ended up getting drawn in anyway. Compared to a lot of what networks are throwing out there these days, I really think Red Widow is a winner, and wish people would give it more of a chance. Most of the negative critical reviews had to do with the opener, which tried to do a lot and set up a lot with mixed results, but the show has been steadily getting better with each episode. We need more shows like this. Full Review »
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I love that there is now a drama that has it all! (money, drugs, family and sexual tension). I haven't been this excited for a show in year's.I love that there is now a drama that has it all! (money, drugs, family and sexual tension). I haven't been this excited for a show in year's. I can't stand all the superficial reality tv that has become the popular genre. I like watching actors do just that act. Praying ABC gives it a chance. Full Review »
  3. Dec 4, 2015
    8
    This is a great series. This is the "Breaking Bad' before CBS ever wanted to create something from this 'crime' genre. Lee Tergesen, GoranThis is a great series. This is the "Breaking Bad' before CBS ever wanted to create something from this 'crime' genre. Lee Tergesen, Goran Visnjic and Jaime Ray Newman are maybe the perfect actors for this kind of tension. I'm not gonna go through spoilers here but I am giving it a downgraded rating only because it is based on another crime drama, a Dutch one. I have one more complaint, because I believe that they could have executed it better. That's all Full Review »