• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 3, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 7 out of 37

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    I LOVED THIS SHOW! I have the episode saved to my DVR because I work on Sundays and I was very annoyed to hear yet another good drama has been cancelled. Please reconsider this show is definitely a 10. Another one of my favorites was 666 park ave. I just don't understand why all the drama and suspenseful shows get booted!!
  2. May 13, 2013
    10
    I love Red Widow, alot of drama ,deception, and sexual tention........................I pray they have a second season............................ badly.
  3. May 4, 2013
    9
    Great show!
    The pilot was boring and I decided not to watch it. Then I saw another episode and was hooked.
    Hope they don't cancel this show.
    I just got attached to the three kids.
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    This show is amazing has a intriguing plot and is full of drama! Abc has really captivated me with its characters and the extent the must go too stay alive! This how has all the drama a mother of 3 needs because this woman does anything for her family to ensure their safety. On that note she's not afraid to get dirty to make sure she is not threatened and that's what keeps me watching plus theirs a little romance to it which is exciting! Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    1
    While Breaking Bad excelled at portraying the precarious balancing act between the Criminal and Domestic life for it's protagonist, Red Widow fails spectacularly. With a dreadful delivery of a potentially rewarding plot, Marta continually bemoans her situation and lack of a viable means of escape while ignoring every potential way out offered to her by those who would gladly help remove her from her predicament. The only saving grace of Red Widow is the standout performances of Visnjic, Goss, Newman and Šerbedžija, who bring an air of depth to the otherwise bland and uninteresting collection of characters. Collapse
  6. Apr 21, 2013
    10
    Love this show. Please do not cancel! Really Love this show Red Widow. Red Widow is truly a winner. I too give a 10! Lots of drama, money, family superficial reality that makes a good show! Try it, promise you'll like it.
  7. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    Based on the Dutch series Penoza, Marta Walraven (Radha Mitchell), steps into big shoes boldly with a small budget to back her up. While the pilot throws everything at you, it's possible that with patience, this series could develop into an addictive drama better than Mob Doctor, and reaching high for the sophistication of its Dutch counterparts. Not since Stieg Larsson's trilogy, "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo", and the beloved character and toast of Europe, Detective Sara Lund (Forbrydelsen/The Killing), or even Borgen, have we seen such a rush to rewrite these filmmakers in our own image. Red Widow has all the right elements including an unusual love interest, two sons who, with development, will tug at our heartstrings, and the lead who almost favors Sharon Stone in Basic Instinct, filmed in Marin County near San Francisco where Red Widow is also filmed. I'm extremely hopeful. Expand
  8. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I love that there is now a drama that has it all! (money, drugs, family and sexual tension). I haven't been this excited for a show in year's. I can't stand all the superficial reality tv that has become the popular genre. I like watching actors do just that act. Praying ABC gives it a chance.
  9. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This is one of those shows I was afraid to watch, assuming it was all but canceled before even premiering, but ended up getting drawn in anyway. Compared to a lot of what networks are throwing out there these days, I really think Red Widow is a winner, and wish people would give it more of a chance. Most of the negative critical reviews had to do with the opener, which tried to do a lot and set up a lot with mixed results, but the show has been steadily getting better with each episode. We need more shows like this. Expand
  10. Mar 29, 2013
    2
    The pilot is a tragic wreck of some housewives serial against weeds and breaking bad, with no survivors, only pale and feeble zombies. Best of the show: that Anson Mount from Hells on Wheels. He dies, but after playing the part with dignity.
  11. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Giving this a 10 considering this is one of the best shows I've seen on ABC in years. Cable quality show with solid cast. Only thing missing is more action but looks like its building up to that. Cool show.
  12. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    At first I wasn't too sure about this show but smart writing and great cast got me hooked. I can't wait to see more. Radha Mitchell was good choice for the role. everyone else too. this just seems so different for network TV and ABC did good for producing a little edgier program. I sure hope ABC doesn't cancel it should be good after revenge
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 4, 2013
    70
    Mitchell’s coolly understated performance makes it all slightly more believable and worth a few episodes to see where it leads.
  2. 60
    Visnjic's smooth and mysterious turn in just a handful of scenes instantly emerges as the best thing Red Widow has going for it. That's either the sign of a series with fundamental flaws, or the roots of a show that will only get better as it goes.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 4, 2013
    42
    Red Widow might leave you feeling blue over the waste of time and talent.