• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Reign (2013) Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Set in the 16th century, this costume drama follows the (highly fictionalized) teenage years of Mary, Queen of Scots, played by Teen Wolf's Adelaide Kane.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Oct 11, 2013
    83
    It's Pretty Little Liars meets Sofia Coppola's Marie Antoinette, and it's good, frothy fun. [18 Oct 2013, p.59]
  2. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Oct 16, 2013
    75
    The script by Laurie McCarthy and Stephanie SenGupta never finds a wholly convincing Venn diagram intersection between period piece and teen soap, but it also doesn’t bother trying, hoping it can turn insane tonal shifts into a virtue by stepping on the gas. That this approach mostly works is thanks to their script being unafraid to unleash the crazy and the surprisingly beautiful direction from Brad Silberling, who makes the most of an Irish location shoot the rest of the series won’t have the advantage of.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 17, 2013
    70
    Soapy and silly this all may be, but immersion in the intrigue of Reign has its pleasures, not all of them from laughing at its absurdities.
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 15, 2013
    50
    Reign isn't half bad at times with its marvelous costumes, palace intrigues and Follows' delicious take on Catherine. But the minute you start getting into fantasy, you're yanked right out by the contemporary music and other oddities—like a montage of giggling gals putting on makeup.
  5. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Oct 16, 2013
    50
    Not that I think The CW has any grasp of the mental mojo that made its WB network predecessor such a pop-culture kick. Really? This twaddle? Every single week?
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 17, 2013
    40
    All told, the series--handsomely shot in Ireland--represents what amounts to a sleight-of-hand act--an attempt by CW to look like it’s trying something different while really just churning out more of the same, albeit with more splendid settings and ornate costumes.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 15, 2013
    10
    What The CW is doing here (and Kane perpetuates with her take on teenage girls and their intelligence) is approaching television with the perspective that the target audience is profoundly idiotic.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Best show on the CW and best new show of the fall. It's getting overlooked because it is pretty much the only thing on the CW that is notBest show on the CW and best new show of the fall. It's getting overlooked because it is pretty much the only thing on the CW that is not based on popular YA books and doesn't have vampires. REIGN is mysterious, thrilling, dramatic, romantic and dark, and it should be at the top of your DVR. The cast is pretty spectacular as well, especially Adalaide Kane as Mary and Megan Follows as Catherine de Medici.

    This show is the less R-rated (yet nowhere near PG) version of Game of Thrones, and I haven't seen a network drama go for it as hard as this one. Props to the writing staff and the network for doing something bold and original in the bland world that is broadcast television.
    Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    If you're tired of hate-watching shows on the CW and want something on the network that you can actually enjoy, you have to watch REIGN. It'sIf you're tired of hate-watching shows on the CW and want something on the network that you can actually enjoy, you have to watch REIGN. It's not just good for the CW's standards, it's good period. Dark with twists and turns, I get the feeling that we are only at the tip of the ice berg. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2015
    10
    BEST SHOW EVER. I am obsessed. Its so different than anything you ha
    ve ever watched and I love it. If this show gets canceled it will be a
    BEST SHOW EVER. I am obsessed. Its so different than anything you ha
    ve ever watched and I love it. If this show gets canceled it will be a sad day....
    Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    I absolutely love this show! The show is one of the best new series on the CW! Its very entertaining and I hope we have plenty more seasons to come!!!
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    I'm really enjoying this show as a 20-something female I can completely see the appeal, even if aimed at a slightly younger market. Its aI'm really enjoying this show as a 20-something female I can completely see the appeal, even if aimed at a slightly younger market. Its a great mix of dark and light. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2014
    8
    I love the show , but having the king acting like a loony tunes does nothing positive for the show.
    So, it's a little disappointing in that
    I love the show , but having the king acting like a loony tunes does nothing positive for the show.
    So, it's a little disappointing in that area. I feel there is a lack of action and suspense should be upped a notch. Otherwise the show is entertaining. Yes, I will continue to watch in the hopes it gets better.
    Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2015
    0
    Horrible, such a let down as a period piece the costumes are nothing more than prom dresses mixed with claire's accessories and the accentsHorrible, such a let down as a period piece the costumes are nothing more than prom dresses mixed with claire's accessories and the accents horrible, they didn't even try. I tried to watch this but half way through the first episode they started dancing shoeless in the middle of a wedding ceremony as if dancing around a maypole. Ridiculous and the score is absurd any moments that you can become lost and begin to absorb the scenery and the cast is off put but some horrible distraction of noise pollution. The writers need to watch and TAKE NOTES the Borgias, Tudors, Elizabeth **** even Braveheart. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews