Rescue Me : Season 2

  • Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 21, 2004
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Jan 22, 2014
    100
    Last summer's best series was FX's Rescue Me, a daring comedy-drama about New York City firefighters. It's a good bet this imaginative, adult show will repeat as the top series this summer. In its second season, which begins Tuesday, the program has lost none of its nerve or verve.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 22, 2014
    100
    But this is what a great TV series does -- it mines difficult emotional ground. It's willfully complex, putting popularity at risk. It avoids convention and takes irregular dramatic steps. With that in mind, watch Rescue Me at your own risk.
  3. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 22, 2014
    100
    Amazing. [20 June 2005, p.B7]
  4. St. Louis Post-Dispatch
    Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Jan 22, 2014
    100
    Riveting. [21 June 2005, p.E1]
  5. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Charlie McCollum
    Jan 22, 2014
    100
    Put together, all these elements make Rescue Me one of the television's top dramas, on a par with the likes of "Deadwood" and "The Shield." It is that rare TV series that offers insight, generates heartfelt emotion and challenges the viewer to consider the darker corners of the soul. [21 June 2005, p.2D]
  6. Arizona Republic
    Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jan 22, 2014
    100
    Its second season begins tonight and is just as flat-out brilliant as its first, as funny as it is uncomfortable, as entertaining as it is haunting. [21 June 2005, p.1E]
  7. Reviewed by: Gillian Flynn
    Jun 18, 2013
    100
    It's not a nice show, but it's so damn good. ...Leary has invented simply one of the best characters on TV.
  8. Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Jan 22, 2014
    88
    Rescue Me is one of the darker dramas on television, and also one of the darker comedies: Its humor is as brittle and brutal as its intense scenes, and, like everything here else, is memorably credible.
  9. Jun 28, 2013
    88
    Thanks to the nimble Leary, ever riveting as TV's most nuanced antihero (sorry, Tony Soprano), Tommy's tenuous struggle for sobriety is even more rewarding than last season's harrowing downfall.
  10. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 22, 2014
    80
    Rescue Me is not a show for the easily offended. Profanity is rampant along with sexual innuendo and references to sex acts. It can be profane in the extreme, however, and it rings true to the characters and their situations. [19 June 2005, p.TV-5]
  11. Seattle Post-Intelligencer
    Reviewed by: Melanie McFarland
    Jan 22, 2014
    80
    Leary has emerged as a creative force to be reckoned with; he writes the show with co-creator Peter Tolan in addition to starring in it. His rapid-fire wit and comedic cadence permeate the wiry, combative dialogue that serves the series so well. [21 June 2005, p.E1]
  12. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 22, 2014
    80
    If there's a problem with Rescue Me, it's that FX's law-enforcement series, "The Shield," has set the bar so high in the one-hour drama realm. "Rescue Me" story lines occasionally veer into superficiality and repetitiveness, and Gavin's boorishness and selfishness can be a little predictable and tiresome. [21 June 2005, p.C1]
  13. Deseret News
    Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    Jan 22, 2014
    80
    Rescue Me is by no stretch of the imagination a documentary, but a lot of what happens in this series comes from the real lives of real New York firefighters, which is sort of a mixed blessing, given that the behavior of the fictional FDNYers includes drinking, smoking, swearing, womanizing, bigotry and even the occasional bit of thievery. [21 June 2005]
  14. Boston Herald
    Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 22, 2014
    50
    There's still heat to Rescue Me - it just needs something to stoke the drama. [19 June 2005, p.A03]

Awards & Rankings

There are no user reviews yet.