• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 21, 2004
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Duffy
    Jan 28, 2014
    100
    At heart, it's a funny, raucous, bittersweet and vividly entertaining chronicle of the spontaneous emotional combustion that goes on in the lives of one soulful, eclectic assortment of firehouse characters. OK, 62 Truck, time to go back to work...Crank up the sirens. Rescue Me has arrived to rescue prime time from the hazy, lazy days of summer. [11 June 2007, p.1]
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Jan 28, 2014
    100
    No drama mixes the profoundly painful with the profanely funny more expertly than Rescue Me, Denis Leary's FX series about New York City firefighters. As laughter wraps itself around anguish on this Manhattan landscape, you wonder if what's unfolding is an epic American tragedy or a raunchy workplace comedy. [12 June 2007, p.E1]
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jan 28, 2014
    100
    Funny, shocking and purposely incorrect, this testosterone-drenched series from Denis Leary and Peter Tolan returns to reclaim its spot as basic cable's best show, bar none. [13 June 2007, p.10D]
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 28, 2014
    100
    Rescue Me may ask a lot of its viewers, but it's always a leap worth taking, and well rewarded. [13 June 2007, p.E1]
  5. 100
    But don't call it a dramedy. No, the great trick of Rescue Me is that it's the saddest drama on television at which you possibly will laugh at. Some also would call it the best. [13 June 2007, p.C1]
  6. Reviewed by: Doug Elfman
    Jan 28, 2014
    100
    Based on the first three new episodes, I can continue to put Rescue Me on my list as one of the best 20 shows that have ever been on TV. [13 June 2007, p.51]
  7. Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Jan 28, 2014
    100
    For its first three seasons, Rescue Me, starring Denis Leary as a haunted New York firefighter, was one of the funniest dramas on television. This season begins with a slight shift: It's now one of the most dramatic comedies. [13 June 2007, p.75]
  8. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Jan 28, 2014
    90
    Clearly, Rescue Me isn't for everyone, but the fearless, funny series is don't-miss viewing for its legions of fans. [13 June 2007, p.L15]
  9. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jan 28, 2014
    75
    The show's still a hoot to watch. Besides which, the actors are almost as cute as real NYC firefighters. Almost. [12 June 2007, p.97]
  10. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 28, 2014
    70
    Outside of McGee, the new season suggests that Rescue Me has gone as far as it can go as a comedy/drama hybrid. Almost all of the best scenes are the funny ones - or the ones that start dark, then turn funny, like Tommy brainstorming with Mike (Mike Lombardi) on the best way to euthanize his ailing mother.[12 June 2007, p.41]
  11. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 28, 2014
    60
    For all their macho posturing, you've got to wonder sometimes whether Leary and Tolan didn't spend their younger days watching soaps. [13 June 2007, p.43]
  12. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 28, 2014
    58
    Judging from the first two episodes of the new season, Rescue Me is taking a gentler, if dopier tone. [13 June 2007, p.39]
  13. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 28, 2014
    50
    What's missing most from Rescue Me's first couple of episodes, at least, are scenes of firehouse camaraderie among Gavin and his fellow firefighters. [13 June 2007, p.12]

There are no user reviews yet.