• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 21, 2004
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 4, 2011
    100
    Denis Leary's superb comedy-drama about New York City firefighters, will end its seven-year run a few days before the 10th anniversary of 9/11. [15 Aug 2011, p.34]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Jul 13, 2011
    88
    Leary is working with a fabulous cast, which is why he and co-creator Peter Tolan can dance so nimbly between realism and surrealism, drama and comedy.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Thomas
    Jul 13, 2011
    88
    As FX's hit series Rescue Me begins its seventh and final season tonight, the melding of comedy and drama is as deft as ever.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jul 13, 2011
    80
    Rescue Me is going into its twilight fully locked and loaded.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 11, 2011
    80
    The reason to watch anyway is that it can also be rewarding on levels you rarely find in television drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 6, 2011
    75
    The end result is funny in spots, overly gross in others and upbeat in Rescue Me's typically offbeat fashion.
  7. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 13, 2011
    70
    When I come back it's not because Rescue Me can be insanely funny--though it can be, particularly when it sticks close to the firehouse--but because I still believe that buried under layers and layers of Leary's nonsense, there's an actual story that's dying to get out.
  8. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jul 12, 2011
    67
    Middling start, but we've stuck with Rescue Me this long, and no point in bailing now.
  9. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jul 12, 2011
    67
    On its last call, Rescue Me has saved a few treats in its fire truck.
  10. Reviewed by: Aaron Riccio
    Jul 15, 2011
    25
    Apart from a few dry, ashy chuckles conjured up by memories of what Rescue Me once was, this final season is about as useful as a lighter in a vacuum: Forget fresh air, there's no air left on which to cast a spark.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The final show is simply fantastic. I was all ready for Tommy, et al to be dead and when Lou is giving a fantastic eulogy, I am still assuming that is the case. This show does not pull the tears (except when laughing so hard you can't breathe). Some of the scenes are simply hilarious -- the scene with the ashes in the car (and replacing them with cake mix!!!!) just had me almost on the floor laughing. What a great way to end a great show! Full Review »
  2. Jul 21, 2011
    7
    Thus Far for season 7, we are right back to the same witty comedy as previous seasons. The only knock I have on this series this and lastThus Far for season 7, we are right back to the same witty comedy as previous seasons. The only knock I have on this series this and last season, is there is far less heavy emotional segments as previous seasons. I think the comedy is definitely there, we just would like to see more low points in the story. It seems too light-hearted as of recently. Still love the show though! Full Review »