User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed this a good deal; I think it was well-plotted, and I'm always a sucker for the 1930s and 40s. But I was hugely bothered by the impossibility of Hayley Atwell becoming Charlotte Rampling not only because their characters seem so radically different in style and tone, but because Charlotte Rampling has piercing, pale eyes, and Hayley Attwell has deep brown eyes. How could aI enjoyed this a good deal; I think it was well-plotted, and I'm always a sucker for the 1930s and 40s. But I was hugely bothered by the impossibility of Hayley Atwell becoming Charlotte Rampling not only because their characters seem so radically different in style and tone, but because Charlotte Rampling has piercing, pale eyes, and Hayley Attwell has deep brown eyes. How could a director overlook such a prominent detail? There are any number of close-ups; this just seemed to underscore the disconnect between the young Eva and the older Eva. What an error in directorial judgment! Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    2
    Although the actors try, their efforts are undermined by improbable plot twists and plodding script that is far below the standards of British Television. (See State of Play, The Hour, MI-5.) The premise that an elderly spy would still be pursued thirty or so years after WWII is tenuous. Moreover, the story lacks relevance for our time. Those craving 1940's ambiance would be better offAlthough the actors try, their efforts are undermined by improbable plot twists and plodding script that is far below the standards of British Television. (See State of Play, The Hour, MI-5.) The premise that an elderly spy would still be pursued thirty or so years after WWII is tenuous. Moreover, the story lacks relevance for our time. Those craving 1940's ambiance would be better off watching the Third Man, Maltese Falcon, etc. for a second, third or fourth time rather than wasting their time on Restless. If you hanker after British spy craft, then watch MI-5 (Spooks in the UK) or see the latest Bond flick. Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2013
    3
    Restless is a tedious and dull spy drama that outstays its three hour running time by a considerable margin. Red herrings abound, but it is obvious very early on who the villain is. That in itself is fine, but the screenplay is so confused and lacking in credibility that one loses interest very quickly. Spy dramas can be excellent (Think 'Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy' which was rewardinglyRestless is a tedious and dull spy drama that outstays its three hour running time by a considerable margin. Red herrings abound, but it is obvious very early on who the villain is. That in itself is fine, but the screenplay is so confused and lacking in credibility that one loses interest very quickly. Spy dramas can be excellent (Think 'Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy' which was rewardingly complex) but they need to make sense and keep one guessing, or at least be engaged. This does neither. A few sequences ignite with some promised tension, but the film feels a bit like being on a roller coaster where it takes ages to get to the top only to have the exciting drop over in seconds. It is to the credit of Charlotte Rampling that her performance is actually very good and survives its setting. Collapse
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Okay so the plot and the acting are a little corny but honestly anything from the 1920s gets me riled up. Everything about the timescale of this show is just great. If you're only into sci fi and fantasy and crap like that (the good stuff) this is pretty much the opposite of what you want.
  5. Dec 9, 2012
    6
    I'm not sure why Sundance channel picked this up, or commissioned it, as it's oh so retro. It's alll very Bulldog Drummondy. I know that puts me in a rare group of folks who remember. The script is poor and follows an adolescent fantasy of "spy world" when the Brits ruled that world before John Le Carre came along and made spying out to be cereberal and not "adventure." Plucky young thingI'm not sure why Sundance channel picked this up, or commissioned it, as it's oh so retro. It's alll very Bulldog Drummondy. I know that puts me in a rare group of folks who remember. The script is poor and follows an adolescent fantasy of "spy world" when the Brits ruled that world before John Le Carre came along and made spying out to be cereberal and not "adventure." Plucky young thing with various accents who falls in love with her spy master (and, I'm guessing, sires his daughter) and 30 years later is pursued by fascist baddies (they do make such good Whipley Snidelash types). Sewell and Rampling must have needed the money. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Dec 7, 2012
    50
    The background music works muscularly to pump up interest, but the story's pacing is ponderous.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 7, 2012
    80
    In both time frames, the period is richly evoked, and the performances are universally fine.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 7, 2012
    80
    As the plot simmers and thickens, Restless keeps its focus on the core story, avoiding the temptation to become a war epic. This serves viewers well. Call it December's best-bet sleeper.