• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 9, 2014
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 76
  2. Negative: 10 out of 76

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    0
    This show is a ripoff of the French series "The Returned"... The acting is flat, pacing is terrible and it looks like it was all shot in model homes. Don't waste your time. I'd rather shovel snow than watch this piece of crap
  2. Mar 13, 2014
    3
    All premise and no soul, this is nothing but a weak, shameless ripoff of France's The Returned - which is on Netflix, BTW. Resurrection is an hour of talented yet obviously bored actors reciting the laziest script imaginable; they're not given anything challenging or even remotely interesting to do. As a result you have characters who all seem to be going through the same personality disorder, namely, the lack of a personality. Equally annoying is how these people do little more than take turns giving us explanations of everything that's recently happened on screen, lest the audience ever feel confused or intrigued for more than 15 seconds. This is only enjoyable in the way that Tommy Wiseau's The Room was. Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The plot is paper thin and numerous oddities detract from the story, such as why isn't the kid freaked out that his parents are 30+ years older, why can he instantly use a smartphone even though he died 30+ years ago, why is he still wearing the same clothes when they bring him back to the US? Getting out of the shadow of the "The Returned" (with basically the same premise) would be difficult but it seems that the writers didn't even try. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2014
    3
    I really wanted to see this show and now I couldn't care less. what are they aliens, clones, demons, I can't make out what is going on, you would think homeland security would be there in force instead they have one immigration agent? huh. people coming back from the dead, nobody cares, give me a break. If it was real life the press would be all over the town. A bit like the dome, I can't remember what happened in the end of that dull series either. Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2014
    0
    I am in awe how bad this show is. I cannot figure out what the other reviewers were watching. The dialogue is laughable at times and the acting worse. The ONLY good thing about it was that it got me to find and watch The Returned from French CANAL network and Sundance. For that reason, i gave it one star. It would be easy to say that Resurrection pales in comparison to the Returned -- every real critic seems to agree. But comparisons aside, Resurrection is lifeless, boring and without soul. All the characters seem to be on mild sedatives - while rehearsing for a high school drama. I struggled to get through episode 4 hoping it would go somewhere. Its not. It is NO Lost, but is hopelessly lost. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    67
    Resurrection is the tamer American version [of "The Returned"].
  2. Reviewed by: Kevin Fallon
    Mar 10, 2014
    30
    The dialogue doubles as patronizing directives of what we’re supposed to be thinking, carefully dictating Resurrection’s themes.
  3. Reviewed by: Lesley Smith
    Mar 10, 2014
    30
    On the evidence of the first two episodes, Resurrection seems just one more twist on an American obsession with investigating what lies beneath the surfaces of rural or suburban idylls. As a device to tell the same old stories about illicit love affairs, family estrangement, hidden crimes, and the secrets parents keep from children and visa versa, the arbitrary resurrection of the dead seems pretty extreme, and, frankly, a wasted opportunity.