• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 9, 2014
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Resurrection Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The drama series based on the Jason Mott novel The Returned (not to be confused with the French series of the same name that aired on Sundance or A&E's upcoming adaption of the French show) follows the impact on the families in Arcadia, Missouri after an 8-year boy who supposedly drowned 30 years ago is found unchanged. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. It's not as atmospheric and artful, nor does it exude the same visceral sense of place [as French series "Les Revenants"]. But taken on its own, it is an absorbing, well-paced, thoughtfully rendered production with a quality cast that ranks as one of the better new winter shows.
  2. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    Feb 28, 2014
    75
    If less spookily atmospheric than SundanceTV's not-dissimilar The Returned, Resurrection handsomely frames its "What the hell?" premise. [7 Mar 2014, p.62]
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Mar 10, 2014
    75
    Yes, this is all very familiar--Sundance's "The Returned" was better, by the way--but there are still solid hints of an engaging series.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Mar 7, 2014
    63
    When Resurrection focuses on Jacob and his family, the actors and the concept carry it. But hours must be filled, and the more the show expands to include other Arcadians, most of whom are tiresome, the weaker it becomes.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Mar 6, 2014
    60
    Looking long term, Resurrection may be one typical TV dark secret that takes a while to unravel, and maybe that's good enough for most. But it's cutting enough corners here in the beginning to be worrisome. And if you were lucky enough to see The Returned (or will be streaming it asap), then Resurrection won't be for you.
  6. 50
    For a series with an out-there premise, Resurrection feels awfully ordinary.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 5, 2014
    25
    Nothing could bring this show life.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Aug 10, 2014
    10
    I just love this series, its the closest they've come up to the x-files yet. Every episode starts good and gets better towards the end. No boring comedy or acting here. I just finished watching the end of season one...and cant wait for September to watch season 2, I just hope they don't cancel with a cliffhanger then...keep it up ABC! Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    FOR ANYONE INTERESTED IN WATCHING! This show is great and based on the novel "The Returned" by Jason Mott. This show has no correlation to the French show all the critics may claim. The only possible correlation is the Jason Mott was inspired by it, that is it. This will be and is a great series so far. I recommend watching it unless you have lost someone, since that will bring up too many memories. Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    A great show with an interesting premise.The acting, writing, and directing is pretty good, especially for a network tv drama, where the writing is cheesy (ex. NCIS). I can't wait for more! Expand
  4. May 8, 2014
    9
    coolmmodemceomvevejvneijvnienvekmckdjmclsdamclasmlsdakmcldasmk m emvodfmcoemcoemcoemqocmoqemcoeqmcoeocmedmceocmoe emcoemcoefmomcoem Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2014
    8
    A very good show. Not great, but very good. You should watch it, you won't be disappointed. It wasvery interesting, and worh watching! I'm sure you'll enjoy Ressuraction…… Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    5
    No tan buena, creo que su mayor problema es que vivirá en la sombra de Les Revenants, lo que no hace mas que dañarla aún porque está lejos de llegar siquiera a tocarle los talones.
    Para mi el principal problema es que el actor que interpreta al niño no es para nada creíble, menos mal que tiene pocas lineas porque si no dejaría mas en evidencia lo grande que el queda el papel.
    Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2014
    0
    I am in awe how bad this show is. I cannot figure out what the other reviewers were watching. The dialogue is laughable at times and the acting worse. The ONLY good thing about it was that it got me to find and watch The Returned from French CANAL network and Sundance. For that reason, i gave it one star. It would be easy to say that Resurrection pales in comparison to the Returned -- every real critic seems to agree. But comparisons aside, Resurrection is lifeless, boring and without soul. All the characters seem to be on mild sedatives - while rehearsing for a high school drama. I struggled to get through episode 4 hoping it would go somewhere. Its not. It is NO Lost, but is hopelessly lost. Collapse

See all 22 User Reviews