Revenge : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 21, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Sep 22, 2011
    60
    Revenge might sound enjoyably soapy in the abstract, but its execution is problematic.
  2. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 21, 2011
    60
    Way over the top but potentially a guilty pleasure for those with the time to pursue it.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 21, 2011
    60
    The show is asking viewers, then, to invest some time and not expect a clean resolution of some black-and-white drama each week. That's a gamble and a risk. Revenge seems confident it can be taken and won.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 19, 2011
    60
    If Revenge can curb its more outlandish tendencies, this soap could become a welcome guilty pleasure.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 19, 2011
    60
    Even if there are traces of "Desperate Housewives" in "Revenge's" DNA, ABC's latest serial feels oh-so-last decade, which, particularly in the Hamptons, is about as thematically stylish as wearing white after Labor Day.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 21, 2011
    58
    There are guilty pleasures and then there are ones for which you just feel guilty about sacrificing your valuable time. Revenge is the latter.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 20, 2011
    58
    Sometimes you just want a single serving, with the table cleared by episode's end. This one keeps passing its spinning plates while re-stating the obvious.
  8. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 21, 2011
    50
    It seems like it could be a fun, if cheesy, soap opera about skulduggery and backstabbing in high society. But Revenge makes the fatal mistakes of wanting to be taken seriously and yet not making its characters worthy of any kind of serious consideration.
  9. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Sep 21, 2011
    50
    As is often the case with melodrama, I find Revenge essentially unconvincing and also quite likable.
  10. Reviewed by: Brent McKnight
    Sep 21, 2011
    40
    The story is silly, but not trashy enough to make it your latest guilty pleasure.
  11. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 21, 2011
    40
    Some are embracing this as a juicy guilty pleasure, a return to Dynasty times by way of The Count of Monte Cristo. I found it all a bit predictable and thick, like I was choking on Crisco.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 322 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Best new show on TV! Every episode gets you more and more intrigued in its characters and in the story. Stowe and VanCamp are amazing!Best new show on TV! Every episode gets you more and more intrigued in its characters and in the story. Stowe and VanCamp are amazing! Wends nights do not come fast enough for me. REVENGE!!!! Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    My new guilty pleasure. Emily Van Camp at her finest with a killer script that keeps you on your toes. This is quickly becoming my favoriteMy new guilty pleasure. Emily Van Camp at her finest with a killer script that keeps you on your toes. This is quickly becoming my favorite new fall show. Full Review »
  3. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Best new show of the season! Emily VanCamp and Madeleine Stowe doing a great job! I hope that this will be a hit show. All characters are wellBest new show of the season! Emily VanCamp and Madeleine Stowe doing a great job! I hope that this will be a hit show. All characters are well written and great story to go on for several seasons. Full Review »