Revenge : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 21, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mikey O'Connell
    Sep 21, 2011
    90
    The ABC drama is one of the best new series to hit TV this fall.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Sep 19, 2011
    83
    Until we find out what happened long ago, we'll just enjoy watching all the beautiful, golden-tanned people say awesomely ridiculous things like: "These guys really put the suck in seersucker."
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 16, 2011
    83
    This is a classic guilty pleasure, with campy twists and a fabulously diva-esque performance by Stowe.
  4. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 14, 2011
    80
    The arrival of one pure and unadulterated drama about a passion as old as man is something to celebrate. That's particularly true when that drama is as spellbinding in its satisfyingly gaudy way, as Revenge turns out to be.
  5. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 21, 2011
    80
    It's a stylish, elegantly plotted tale of a young woman's sociopathic thirst for vengeance.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 21, 2011
    80
    Intriguing and genuinely fun.
  7. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Sep 21, 2011
    75
    They say Revenge is a dish best served cold, and here it's downright delicious.
  8. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 20, 2011
    75
    Revenge has enough meaty characters and plot possibilities to keep it going for years. And it just may last long enough to explore them all.
  9. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 16, 2011
    75
    VanCamp goes about her business with a purse-lipped Jodie Foster earnestness that makes her hard to root for. But Stowe coos, scowls, flirts and thunders. She roils Revenge. [26 sep 2011, p.56]
  10. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Dec 8, 2011
    70
    Revenge is too juicy to write off as junk. It's got strong performances, from actors who don't condescend to their flamboyant dialogue.
  11. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 21, 2011
    70
    What gives Revenge the potential to last as an ongoing series (after all, doesn't Emily have to run out of victims?) is the well-drawn characters and the sense that Emily does have a conscience beyond the desire for payback.
  12. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 20, 2011
    70
    It's Gossip Girl tailored to this economy, with just enough campy suspense to be enjoyable.
  13. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 16, 2011
    67
    A solid prime-time soap with a burnt-crisp soul.
  14. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 21, 2011
    63
    For fans of soaps, there is reason for hope. The show looks great, and it often sounds good, particularly when Emily is delivering a line we know is nasty but her victim doesn't.
  15. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 21, 2011
    63
    There's plenty of guilty pleasure to be had in watching she-wolves in Chanel and their sugar daddies go down week after week. But be prepared to put up with cheesy dialogue and spotty acting along the way.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 71
  2. Negative: 4 out of 71
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Best new show on TV! Every episode gets you more and more intrigued in its characters and in the story. Stowe and VanCamp are amazing!Best new show on TV! Every episode gets you more and more intrigued in its characters and in the story. Stowe and VanCamp are amazing! Wends nights do not come fast enough for me. REVENGE!!!! Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    My new guilty pleasure. Emily Van Camp at her finest with a killer script that keeps you on your toes. This is quickly becoming my favoriteMy new guilty pleasure. Emily Van Camp at her finest with a killer script that keeps you on your toes. This is quickly becoming my favorite new fall show. Full Review »
  3. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Best new show of the season! Emily VanCamp and Madeleine Stowe doing a great job! I hope that this will be a hit show. All characters are wellBest new show of the season! Emily VanCamp and Madeleine Stowe doing a great job! I hope that this will be a hit show. All characters are well written and great story to go on for several seasons. Full Review »