Revenge : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 21, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 307 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 307

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    got bored before seaso 1 finale, it doesnt feel at all like a revenge story. the show had some cool ideas, but started to drag things way too much, seems to me like emily could take revenge many times but she had to hang on it to make the show go on.
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    5
    Its got a very good storyline, and the main characters portray it very well, but I realize with some of the cast, they mumble their lines especially in Season 2. It has become more noticeable. I am a fan, and therefore can put up with it. Also some of the episodes don't satisfy me than others. They usually drag out the purpose, therefore making the idea of "Revenge" boring.
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    6
    This show is just ok for me. At times it can seem really slow and boring. Some of the acting is laughable especially the actor who plays nolan. What really bothers me is the fake ocean backgrounds. Isn't this show filmed in CA? Honestly they couldn't find an actual beach to film at?! Come on! I only watch this show because I wanted to start another series on hulu. Ill try to keep watchingThis show is just ok for me. At times it can seem really slow and boring. Some of the acting is laughable especially the actor who plays nolan. What really bothers me is the fake ocean backgrounds. Isn't this show filmed in CA? Honestly they couldn't find an actual beach to film at?! Come on! I only watch this show because I wanted to start another series on hulu. Ill try to keep watching until the end of the season and hope that Emily can kick some much needed ass! Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2012
    5
    Love this show! I was thrilled when the show was confirmed for a second season. Hopefully there will be many seasons to come to see what Emily Thorne has up here sleeve.
  5. Jul 12, 2012
    5
    At first, I liked Revenge. A lot. I mean, I thought it was one of the best shows of the season for the first couple episodes. But it turns out that Revenge is only really amazing when Emily VanCamp's Amanda Clarke is ACTUALLY getting revenge. Quickly, the tone shifts to a soapy show about her love life. I quit 11 episodes in.
  6. Jun 22, 2012
    5
    At first I thought I liked this show. Its like a cross between Desperate Housewives and Harper's Island, which sounds soapy and boring, but the first few episodes seemed to have promise. I was expecting the plot to really get going and get more interesting but it continued to be very soapy and I got bored of waiting for it to all kick off. Maybe if it was on showtime it could be moreAt first I thought I liked this show. Its like a cross between Desperate Housewives and Harper's Island, which sounds soapy and boring, but the first few episodes seemed to have promise. I was expecting the plot to really get going and get more interesting but it continued to be very soapy and I got bored of waiting for it to all kick off. Maybe if it was on showtime it could be more focused on the actual revenge and better. Ringer was this years other soapy crime show and it was more focused on the crime and overall better. Basically, Revenge is a woman's show. Collapse
  7. Feb 20, 2012
    5
    "The Count of Monte Cristo" it ain't, but "Revenge" has its virtues. First, TV hasn't yet exhausted its theme, though AMC's new "Hell on Wheels" and the current season of "Spartacus" also turn on vengeance. Second, "Revenge" plays on our love-hate relationship with great wealth, as characters with vast new fortunes take down characters with vast old fortunes. Third, the show announces a"The Count of Monte Cristo" it ain't, but "Revenge" has its virtues. First, TV hasn't yet exhausted its theme, though AMC's new "Hell on Wheels" and the current season of "Spartacus" also turn on vengeance. Second, "Revenge" plays on our love-hate relationship with great wealth, as characters with vast new fortunes take down characters with vast old fortunes. Third, the show announces a serious moral purpose right up front (Confucius say "dig two graves") then treats it like the surgeon general's warning on a pack of cigarettes. The assurance of righteousness without pesky ethical nuisances! "Hamlet" without soliloquies! So why isn't "Revenge" a 10? First, every character is a caricature. From the dissolute scion to the geeky bazillionaire who can't buy a friend, each is familiar and flat, a chess (make that a checker) piece, not a human being. For another, our avenger has the affect of a tree stump. When she topples a mark--which she does far too easily--she exhibits the satisfaction most people do after successfully boiling water. Yes, I know: she must conceal her smoldering rage, but, even when completely alone, she rarely does more than smirk (for more detail, see lunafromage's excellent description). This is the sort of woman who draws horns, scars, and eye-patches on pictures of her enemies, not the sort who masterminds the fall of giants, even the one-dimensional giants on this show. UPDATE: The first season is almost over, and America loves "Revenge," as witnessed here on Metacritic, where my review was labeled "not helpful" by 6 of 8 users. Woo hoo! Given that the most "helpful" review says, "um . . . like I can't hardly think why, but . . . um . . . like, I really, really l-u-u-u-r-v-e this show," I'm happy to be considered "unhelpful." Anyway, after 14 episodes, the series remains a bit of a head-scratcher. Much has happened in a short time, yet most of the characters seem oddly untouched, as though their souls, like their faces, were subject to regular injections of botox. Despite success beyond the wildest dreams of Edmond Dantès, as well as some shocking collateral damage, our avenger cannot manage to summon an emotion or arrange her features to simulate one. And it's not as though she lacks opportunity. At least five times an episode, she embraces her fiance and the camera zooms in for a close-up of her face. Her head lies against his neck, so he can't see her expression; nor can anyone else, as the couple is alone. Now is the time for Emily-Amanda's mask to slip, just for a moment. Does she loathe the man who holds her so tightly, or is she falling for him despite her carefully-laid plans? Is her vengeance driven by sorrow or rage or perhaps guilt that she, too, believed her father a traitor? Surely, her face will give us a hint. But, no, Emily VanCamp's expression is just mildly puzzled, as though she is wondering whether the groundhog will see its shadow this year or whether to order the low-fat vegetable stroganoff for lunch. The Golden Lab who plays "Sam" has ten times the range of expression, as do one or two other cast members. Madeleine Stowe clearly relishes playing the show's dragon lady and has mastered the menacing purr of the society psychopath. Even she, however, is two-dimensional, so far unconvincing as a woman Emily-Amanda's paragon of a father could have loved. But perhaps she'll get there; the show certainly looks as though it will be around for a long, long time. Expand
  8. Jan 19, 2012
    6
    If your mind is on cruise control and you can't venture beyond the schlock that's typically on Fox, ABC, NBC and CBS, this show's for you. The critics are spot on when it comes to Revenge, it deserves a medicore 6.6. The user rating is peculiar, it's definitely not in the same league as the higher metacritic rated shows. This show harkiens me back to shows like Dynasty, Dallas, FlamingoIf your mind is on cruise control and you can't venture beyond the schlock that's typically on Fox, ABC, NBC and CBS, this show's for you. The critics are spot on when it comes to Revenge, it deserves a medicore 6.6. The user rating is peculiar, it's definitely not in the same league as the higher metacritic rated shows. This show harkiens me back to shows like Dynasty, Dallas, Flamingo Road and Falcon's Crest, and I don't mean that in a good way. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Dec 8, 2011
    70
    Revenge is too juicy to write off as junk. It's got strong performances, from actors who don't condescend to their flamboyant dialogue.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 14, 2011
    80
    The arrival of one pure and unadulterated drama about a passion as old as man is something to celebrate. That's particularly true when that drama is as spellbinding in its satisfyingly gaudy way, as Revenge turns out to be.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Sep 22, 2011
    60
    Revenge might sound enjoyably soapy in the abstract, but its execution is problematic.