Revenge : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 21, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Revenge Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 320 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Mikey O'Connell
    Sep 21, 2011
    90
    The ABC drama is one of the best new series to hit TV this fall.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 14, 2011
    80
    The arrival of one pure and unadulterated drama about a passion as old as man is something to celebrate. That's particularly true when that drama is as spellbinding in its satisfyingly gaudy way, as Revenge turns out to be.
  3. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Sep 21, 2011
    75
    They say Revenge is a dish best served cold, and here it's downright delicious.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 21, 2011
    63
    For fans of soaps, there is reason for hope. The show looks great, and it often sounds good, particularly when Emily is delivering a line we know is nasty but her victim doesn't.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 21, 2011
    60
    Way over the top but potentially a guilty pleasure for those with the time to pursue it.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 19, 2011
    60
    Even if there are traces of "Desperate Housewives" in "Revenge's" DNA, ABC's latest serial feels oh-so-last decade, which, particularly in the Hamptons, is about as thematically stylish as wearing white after Labor Day.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 21, 2011
    40
    Some are embracing this as a juicy guilty pleasure, a return to Dynasty times by way of The Count of Monte Cristo. I found it all a bit predictable and thick, like I was choking on Crisco.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 72
  2. Negative: 4 out of 72
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Best new show on TV! Every episode gets you more and more intrigued in its characters and in the story. Stowe and VanCamp are amazing!Best new show on TV! Every episode gets you more and more intrigued in its characters and in the story. Stowe and VanCamp are amazing! Wends nights do not come fast enough for me. REVENGE!!!! Collapse
  2. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best new show of the season! Madeleine Stowe does an amazing job of playing Victoria and I find the character of NolanI think this is the best new show of the season! Madeleine Stowe does an amazing job of playing Victoria and I find the character of Nolan really interesting. I hope they go more into depth in his character. My favorite character is of course Amanda Clarke (Emily VanCamp). The show is written perfectly and the entire cast should be proud. Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    The show is clever and interesting, full of twists and turns that no viewer could predict. If the second season is as great as the first,The show is clever and interesting, full of twists and turns that no viewer could predict. If the second season is as great as the first, we're in for a treat. The acting is impeccable and every detail from costumes to scenery alludes the viewer to be deeply immersed in the world if Revenge Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    The best new show of the season! (it's absured that my review must be 150 characters when 32 characters says exactly what IThe best new show of the season! (it's absured that my review must be 150 characters when 32 characters says exactly what I want...............................) Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    Though Homeland is probably the best new show this season by normal standards, Revenge is definitely my favorite new show this season. It mayThough Homeland is probably the best new show this season by normal standards, Revenge is definitely my favorite new show this season. It may not be something critics will praise, but if you like semi-campy soapy TV, Revenge is the cream of the crop. It is as though someone put a lot of time and effort into crafting a well-written soap. Those two things are rarely found in the same television show, but Revenge pulls it off flawlessly. Highly recommended. Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2011
    8
    Revenge isn't an original concept (its based on The Count of Monte Cristo) but its a well built little show with a decent premise, a likeableRevenge isn't an original concept (its based on The Count of Monte Cristo) but its a well built little show with a decent premise, a likeable cast that clicks with the audience and a great misunderstood villain in Madeleine Stowe. The only true shame of the show is that Emily Vancamp is so thoroughly boring as Emily Thorne/Amanda Clarke). A great new show, just a shame about the choice of lead. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2015
    1
    Ugh! This show has gotten so bad and is now reaching. What began as an interesting premise of intrigue and revenge is now a Peyton place andUgh! This show has gotten so bad and is now reaching. What began as an interesting premise of intrigue and revenge is now a Peyton place and night time soap opera. Whoever thinks that the crazy drug and liquor induced lifestyle of the rich and infamous is interesting? And the plots just keep raveling as opposed to unraveling and becoming even more confusing. It is a head ache! If the writers don't get their act together son I see the series ending very quickly. They have lost the focus totally. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  2. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.