• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Revolution Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world faces a much larger danger and new alliances are made.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 25, 2013
    50
    Revolution is too convoluted for its own good. Streamlining would have been a better option for a show being thrown to the Wednesday wolves.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    A lot of people don't understand that this TV Show is not about the science fiction it has. I know the acting of some cast is bad but no one has the right to bash the series down unless they've seen the season finale of Season 1. Good Lord. This show has it all. The struggles, the fight scenes, the gore, the love-and-hate characters, and the fan base. No one likes Charlie nor Tracy Spiridakos but all the fans keep coming back. If you don't watch it with full attention, you are not part of this show's journey. You'd rather not watch it at all. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    Revolution has gotten much better since last season already. It seems to finally have a direct path and if it can stay on point and keep going with this new direction it may be able to redeem itself. All it needs is a more assertive storyline. Expand
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    This show has totally reversed since last season. It seems to have much more time and devotion put in by the cast this time it is worth a second chance. I give it a 10 because as of 2013, this show may be my favorite. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    This show has really improved since season one the acting is slowly getting better but the story is really good right now even if it's kind of ripping off fallout with the whole patriots thug but still it's done well enough that I'm fine with it Collapse
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    Revolution reinvented itself going into season 2: storylines are much more coherent, annoying characters (looking at you, Charlie) are much more likable, while the Patriots (this season's "big bad") are compelling villains. The producers clearly heard the endless bashing of season 1 and it shocked me how much things have improved. This is the kind of turnaround that Fringe had, and I'm really hoping this last beyond season 2. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (Edited)
    This show has some of the best production values on network TV. The second season storyline is current and relevant since it touches on blind patriotism and the morality of atheism. Having said that, I'm not sure the producers realize that people have a certain degree of tolerance for bad decision-making from protagonists and that they crossed the line in the Nov. 20 episode (Everyone Says I Love You).

    Three of the main characters walk into the enemy HQ. All the enemy soldiers who have been trying to kill them and have tortured their friends are unconscious. Yet they walk by them, leaving them armed instead of putting a bullet on each only to have them predictably wake up and restart their pursuit (keeping the father of one of them imprisoned, as far as she knows). I realize that killing off a lot of the enemy is dramatically problematic, but it's even worse to have stupid protagonists in a drama about the dangers of science and fanaticism.

    The main characters have never been as smart as their backgrounds would suggest they should be, particularly Rachel and Aaron. But, one would expect at least some level of strategic capacity from a former general and a former defense contractor.

    This show used to be a 7-8. Now it's a 5.
    Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    I was hoping they would cancel that show. But it even gets worse this season. Bad acting, unbelievably stupid science, totally boring stories. I can barely think of any worse show currently on tv. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Second Look: Revolution (NBC)

    Fall TV Second Look: Revolution (NBC) Image
    Published: October 9, 2012
    Throughout the next month, we'll be taking a second look at select new fall television shows to see how critics' opinions are evolving. We start today with a re-evaluation of NBC's hit "Revolution."
  2. 2012 Fall TV Preview: Our Night-by-Night Guide

    2012 Fall TV Preview: Our Night-by-Night Guide Image
    Published: August 28, 2012
    Our massive preview has details on the most promising new shows and your favorite returning series arriving during the coming months, from "Last Resort" and "Revolution" to "American Horror Story" and "The Walking Dead." You'll also find schedules for each night of the week, and a look at what the networks have planned for midseason.