• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Revolution Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 326 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a post-apocalyptic America, where all technology had ceased to work 15 years ago, people are living under the control of militias and warlords. Charlotte "Charlie" Matheson (Tracy Spiridakos) seeks out her uncle (Billy Burke) and kidnapped brother along with answers to how everything changed.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 17, 2012
    83
    The pilot, directed by co--executive producer Jon Favreau ("Iron Man"), poses numerous questions, and to the credit of everyone involved, delivers some surprising payoffs that other shows would hold for weeks, if not seasons.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    80
    The mind reels with possibility, and even hope, which is why we keep coming back to stories like these.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 17, 2012
    70
    Ambitious setups like this don't always hold up, but Revolution has the potential to be a more disciplined "Lost"--not necessarily more plausible but with any luck less preposterous and pretentious.
  4. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 13, 2012
    60
    The clash between the callow and the compelling set off an ongoing debate between the hopeful part of my brain, which wants to like a sci-fi-ish show dreamed up by executive producers J.J. Abrams and Eric Kripke, and the scarred part of my brain, which has been burned dozens of times by genre-flavoroed shows that had interesting elements or cast members but also disappointing executions and annoying younger characters.
  5. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Sep 17, 2012
    60
    A cool premise can only take a show so far, and there's some work to do on the character front to make the show worthy of using all available technology not to miss.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 17, 2012
    60
    Revolution is just all right, no better, no worse.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Sep 18, 2012
    40
    On the bright side, no one is in danger of having to watch this inert action show.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 118
  2. Negative: 56 out of 118
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Acting needs to improve but there's too much talent working on this show for it not to be good. I'm predicting it'll become a solid show by episode five. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    I honestly, really don't know what to do with this show. They keep hitting us with plot twists and MIND-BLOWING storylines that make you yell out "Oh My God that did not just happen" at each ending of a weekly episode. It's storyline is rich, it's pinch of sense of humor is a charm, and I believe the acting could be better by Elizabeth, Tracy, Zak. Well because you never get through a scene without seeing Elizabeth crying. You never get through a scene where Zak doesn't have that "what on earth is going on?" look. And Tracy is just so ambitious which is one day going to make her fans hate her, however I really praise Billy Burke. Hands down, best NEW show of the season. Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    The plot potential is there. Unfortunately the acting and overall nuances are a little less Lost and a little more Terra Nova. But hey, it's a pilot... and this show can potentially be what we Lost lover's have been waiting to see again. Collapse
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    4
    Seriously the storyline goes back to some 90 's RPG, just heading towards somewhere aimlessly. Though it's Sci-Fi it looks like some middle-school daydreams. Also I'm bored with a bright idiot heroine. Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. “The show started out amazing. Technology is gone, refrigerators, computers, cars with onboard computers, etc. The typical EM pulse effect. ------------

    Then the show featured other technology not working, like anything without an integrated circuit such as just about any car before the mid sixties (roughly), older tube radios, and so on.----------

    You figure out before the enormous break in programming between December and March that the whole crisis was manmade. What would affect things not normally taken out by a EM pulse, or maintain that effect I and many others I talked to were growing more and more curious. Not so much a scientific "Hmmm" but more of a "Ok, there had better be a good explanation for this!" And even in the story the computer geek even alludes to how the older technology SHOULD be working.----------

    So in the meantime mankind spend their time civil war re-enacting. No seriously! The American taxpayer (and other countries) have spent trillions to stockpile the support for a military support for several hundred thousand soldiers, but apparently warehouses and warehouses full of military surplus is nothing compared to Civil War era tents and equipment.--------

    Of course semi-automatic weapons are seen to be available. Even a Helicopter that they later get working. Some have theorized giving the soldiers black powder guns is to keep some of the better tech from falling into rebellion hands. That is plausible.--------

    They got a train working. That was cool. In that episode they also showed a working printing press. To matter the fact they show a working town, and at the end of the train ride, a working train station. Later we see a family in a comfy house with candles. If they had really thought about it they would have had music playing on a record player that was purely mechanical.--------

    And this part of the story I'm good with. LIFE WOULD GO ON WITHOUT ELECTRICITY. Peocomplain about new clothes, about the people looking like they are bathed but I believe fifteen years later commerce would resume. All we would need to do is go into a library (written published books on paper) and there is enormous information on how to do everyday life activities without electricity. Soap can be easily made, and textiles and sewing machines operated on steam or hand crank for a lot longer than they have with electricity.--------

    And here is another thing, government collapsing is the wishful thinking of those that are deeply in debt. "Oh life sucks, but when the zombie apocalypse happens..." Not that simple. I saw the attitude at Y2K, and other times since. What do I believe? Government would find a way to operate. One thing is for sure, just like in colonial times they would start with the capital and work to get information out from there. Might take a while to get lines of communication open from the east to west coast, but it would happen.--------

    What did we have before electricity and computers? Paper and manual typewriters. Would telegraph be tool complex in this crisis? Don't know. Failing that, pony express? Train? We have a railway system that feeds all of America and I know other countries have that as well.--------

    The whole concept of no ships continuing commerce across the Atlantic is a crock. More ships could be built. There are plenty of blueprints on how to build sailing ships. Again, life would go on. You would have commerce, you would have business, and people trying to make a buck in whatever currency existed.-------

    As you can see, I am fascinated by this show, but only gave this show a three? Yeh, sadly, I got tired of seeing the heroes LOOSE EVERY EPISODE. Billy Burk was the main saving throw in the Twilight Movies for me, and he is in this series as well. He knows what to do. The other characters counters what he knows he has to do, and I hate to say they have rarely been right.-------

    With every episode I would say to my wife with less and less enthusiasm "let's see how the heroes loose tonight."-------

    Then the show had their final episode in December. The bad guys, despite Burk's character ideas and every objection, got the medallion that negates the "B.S. Anti-Tech/Anti-Intelligence field". But we were given flashes that the good guys build this power too. But if both factions have the same power, aren't they back to where they were before? And the heroes were not doing too well before.-------

    However, as a consolation prize, the brother was rescued.-------

    Actually never mind, they came back in March, and the brother is killed. And the possible romantic interest for the blond also killed. AND SO THE HEROES CONTINUE TO LOOSE.-------

    Ugg... and that is where my wife and I got off this train.--------

    Someday I will do what I always do when I am curious about a movie or show but don't care to watch it. I'll read the spoilers on the internet later.
    Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    2
    Instant reactions: Commercials: wow this looks like it might be fantastic Pilot: disappointed Chained heat: underwhelmed Actors: The acting is simply below average. Am I supposed to feel the same emotions that the protagonists go through? With the episodes aired, I did not at any time sense any connection to any of the "good guys". In fact, I'm rooting for the antagonists because their character portrayals have been that much more convincing and genuine.

    Plot: Power goes out. 15 years later a group of rag tag people set out to fix it.

    Dialogue: Written by a high school graduate at best. I tried my hardest to enjoy all of the aired episodes, but wow it's terrible. The dialogue makes Harry Potter films seem like Shakespeare. Honestly, the one line that was supposed to be dramatic was so flat that I laughed. "You're going to help me... because we're family." Also, you'll hear this line more than once...

    Sets: Average. Expecting more out of those cool scenes from the commercials? I had high hopes in seeing the post-apocalyptic Wrigley Field... Only to realize that the commercials depicted exactly how the show did. Baseball stadium for less than 10 seconds, cut away to different scene. That was an insult to viewers... show 5 second clips to draw viewers/suckers in... show an extra 5 seconds in the actual episode.

    Costumes: Not convincing. Here are a few examples: perfectly oiled hunting boots, immaculately white garments. Really? So the power shuts down but dry cleaners and Cole Haan apparently have found a way to maintain their businesses? Enough said.

    Weapons: Guns, crossbows, knives, pitchforks all present. What more could you ask for?

    Closing comments: I honestly think more money was spent on marketing than an anything else in Revolution. They hooked us in with well-cut commercials. Acting was mostly flat, dialogue laughable, story awful, costumes and sets were average, but unconvincing. I will continue to watch for a few more episodes to see if it improves, but NBC should know that there's a long list of much more deserving TV shows that have been cancelled.
    Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2012
    0
    This show can be technically good but sometimes that's not enough, all the things happen again and again and (i think) that's cliche.Even Giancarlo Esposito couldn't save it. Expand

See all 118 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Second Look: Revolution (NBC)

    Fall TV Second Look: Revolution (NBC) Image
    Published: October 9, 2012
    Throughout the next month, we'll be taking a second look at select new fall television shows to see how critics' opinions are evolving. We start today with a re-evaluation of NBC's hit "Revolution."
  2. 2012 Fall TV Preview: Our Night-by-Night Guide

    2012 Fall TV Preview: Our Night-by-Night Guide Image
    Published: August 28, 2012
    Our massive preview has details on the most promising new shows and your favorite returning series arriving during the coming months, from "Last Resort" and "Revolution" to "American Horror Story" and "The Walking Dead." You'll also find schedules for each night of the week, and a look at what the networks have planned for midseason.